We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant”
Review of Peskesi

Peskesi
Ranked #9 of 555 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $44
Cuisines: Diner, Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Peskesi restaurant in Heraklion Crete, is an effort to discover the secrets and enjoy the benefits of the Cretan diet. Our cuisine is based on pure and natural products of the Cretan land and our aim is to highlight the traditional Cretan aromas and flavors that have been forgotten. Peskesi is open from morning till late and aims to provide an integrated experience based on the quality, the diversity and the value of the Cretan lifestyle. We brought the traditional "Cretan house" near you in the center of Heraklion, with modern aesthetics and functionality while retaining ancient traditional methods, such as food-gathering and meal preparations.
Reviewed May 24, 2019

The decoration is with taste, a well mix of green and stone. The serving staff speak good English. They are polite and efficient. There are quite a number of traditional dishes with meat: Grandma’s chicken with pasta, pork in honey sauce...The pork chop smoke in fine herbs is in big portion.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank CeliaSoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 236 of 4,455 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2019 via mobile

Great food tasty nice well design restaurant foukaki and Cretan salad fantastic gastronomic experience

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank matalla63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019

The food was average. It was not bad, but it was not a “good” meal.

We dined at Peskesi only a couple of weeks ago, and not one dish was memorable. For 5 people, we ordered multiple items on the menu, and the same dull and unexciting note was present in the vast majority of dishes. Crete is a foodies’ paradise but Peskesi puts forward an image that they do not deliver on, even if the ingredients are probably of good quality.

The service was pompous and inefficient. The servers need to be refocussed on the basics, as primary standards were not met during our visit. Very little courtesy or friendliness. Multiple restaurants in Heraklion will offer you a nicer meal, and a better experience.

The decor is nice.

We travel to Greece a couple of times per year and are always warmly welcomed, eat amazing food, and are often repeat customers. We will not give Peskesi a second chance, it does not deserve it.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Ad613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2019 via mobile

We have visited Peskesi in Heraklion in September 2018 and this place made a very good impression. We visit Heraklion from time to time and have never had a really tasty lunch or dinner there. Although there are a lot of restaurants in the city center, they are mostly touristic places with ordinary food. But Peskesi Restaurant that we accidentally found strolling through the city was located in a very cosy shadowy place, so we’ve decided to have lunch there. The place itself is located in a beautifully decorated yard. The waiters were polite and attentive, but not tiresome, so we had our privacy. It’s hard to believe, but all the dishes that we ordered, including bread, were just amazing and very delicious. In Peskesi I've also had the most fresh and juicy Greek salad in years! I have personally ordered a dish with cooked goat and baked potato, that I enjoyed very much.
I would recommend this place for lunch or dinner and would definitely visit it again!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

Good service, lovely attractive restaurant and very attentive staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here, would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank DavidCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peskesi also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Nea Alikarnassos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Peskesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing