We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a few days”
Review of Athinaikon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athinaikon Hotel
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good choice for a few days”
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed with our one year old baby and the hotel staff tried to be as helpful as possible to cater to all our needs on arrival. A bit short on staff due to November being off season, but still no efforts were spared to make us comfortable. Bathrooms have no tubs but have handshowers. 24 hrs hot water. Rooms have balcony with chair n table. Its also just 10 minutes away by car from palace of Knossos.
Breakfast was basic but good and both the receptionists were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pluexim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    62
    58
    16
    7
See reviews for
25
86
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We spent two nights at the Athinaiko which we found to be basic but clean and centrally located. It's within walking distance of the port and the archeological museum. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very good value for 50 Euros per night. The rooms are large with fridge, AC and lots of hot water. It's right on a main street so the traffic noise may bother some light sleepers. Our room also had a balcony with two chairs and a small table. Wireless internet access was a bit spotty at times.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The hotel is good enough, we chose it for a one-night stay for its location and reasonable price. It's really very close to the port (walking distance) and not far from airport. Good for those who needs stay between plane and ferry to Santorini as we did.
The staff was very helpful and friendly, clean room, good breakfast and Internet access included what was extremely good for us to find some info for our further trip! Cozy shady place near the hotel for a small rest. We liked very much the design of breakfast room for its nice sideboard with family photos and kitchenware! A little bit noisy from the street but with closed balcony it's not a problem.
So I would say - no frills and all necessary for its value. Nice place :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishcream_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Good location..quiet but short walk to town centre. rooms nice n spotless. Good value. Very nice man at reception..v helpful and polte.
Dislikes - twin beds instead of double. Also, not worth going for the breakfast

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinmanlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Upon arrival, after a very long night on the boat from Xania, I met a very suspicious receptionist, who was very upset when my son wanted to carry my bags to the room. He didn't intend to stay and it should have been enough for me to make reservations for a single room. After having lunch when he was dropping me off at the hotel she blatantly and very unpolitely suggested again that we were lying at that he was going to stay.I have never been treated this way in a hotel and we were very upset by it.

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Multi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heraklion hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.7 mi away
Iraklion Hotel
Iraklion Hotel
#17 of 58 in Heraklion
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#44 of 58 in Heraklion
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#41 of 58 in Heraklion
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Life Boutique Hotel
Life Boutique Hotel
#35 of 58 in Heraklion
82 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#11 of 58 in Heraklion
510 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castello City Hotel
Castello City Hotel
#14 of 58 in Heraklion
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athinaikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athinaikon Hotel

Property: Athinaikon Hotel
Address: Ethnikis Antistasseos Avenue 89, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athinaikon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“ATHINAIKON” hotel is located in a short distance from the center and the sight seen of the town. Our renovated rooms have central heating, A/C, TV, Fridge, WiFi, Safe Box, telephone, private W/C and balcony with view of the town. Hotel “ATHINAIKON” with the family and hospitality atmosphere guaranties to you for all the year a comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Athinaikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athinaikon Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing