We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Athinaikon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athinaikon Hotel
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A real gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

One of the best hotels I've stayed in (I'm a business traveller who spent over 200 nights in hotels around the world in 2012). The staffs were amazing. A special thanks goes to Miltos for all his help with finding good restaurants. I'd love to come back to his hotel at some other time. Thank you for such a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmonHaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    59
    56
    16
    7
See reviews for
24
80
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just a night, before our morning ferry to Santorini. It worked perfectly for us, being walking distance from the bus stop, the museum and the port! So we ended up saving on transport for all 3 :)
Fortunately we didn't really spend too much time in the room, it was pretty small, especially for 3 girls who had definitely overpacked! The bathroom was the smallest we'd had in our 2 weeks in Greece. We used up all the hand towels trying to keep the water out of the room. Our room had a small balcony / sit out, the view however wasn't anything to write home about... Residential buildings and their balconies :)
Nonetheless, it wasn't a bad stay. The staff was welcoming, there was no breakfast, or maybe we didn't book it, I can't recall. The room service was sillily though. We asked for hot water as there was no kettle in the room, and rather than have it sent to the room, they just left it in the elevator and asked us to collect it from there! Same for some cutlery.
Would recommend it if Heraklion is just a night or two's stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sherzabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
544 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is easy to find and a 10 minute walk from the port. It's also a 10 minute walk from the centre of town. Our room and bathroom were basic and small but adequate. The toilet plumbing was a bit dodgy. Breakfast was quite good and the reception staff reasonably helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel a few days ago on arriving in Crete. We arrived late at night and receptionist on duty welcomed us quickly checked us in.

Rooms are good and foyer area seems to have been recently refurbished - its very nicely done and cosy.

Free wifi is also available in the rooms and buffet breakfast was also good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for the night before catching our ferry to Santorini. I wish I could remember the name of the man that was on duty when we got there because he was awesome. So friendly and helpful and he even helped us order dinner which was delivered to the hotel - amazing! The food was great and the hugest portions. We got two keys for the room which meant we could leave the air-con on,which was much needed in the heat! Yes the rooms might have been on the small side,but we thought they were fine,and there was a fridge in the room which was helpful. The hotel was a short walk down to the port in the morning so this was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car0_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was good because we could park outside and yet were within walking distance of the centre of town. The plumbing wasn't so good - adequate for us but the shower didn't work properly in one room. Overall I think we had good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back and away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Perfect location for a one night stop over in Heraklion before island hopping getting a flight.
Near to airport, near to port.
Hotel staff are super friendly and will answer many questions. Gave us a map showed us where we where and where to go out for food, to collect boat tickets, how to get to the port etc.
Shower was ok but broken off the wall
Bed were very comfortable and plenty of pillows, bedding and towels provided

Room Tip: Perfect location for a one night stop over in Heraklion before getting on a boat to another island o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.5 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#40 of 58 in Heraklion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iraklion Hotel
Iraklion Hotel
#17 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castello City Hotel
Castello City Hotel
#16 of 58 in Heraklion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lena
Hotel Lena
#30 of 58 in Heraklion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#42 of 58 in Heraklion
2.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#12 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athinaikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athinaikon Hotel

Property: Athinaikon Hotel
Address: 89 Ethnikis Antistassis Street, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athinaikon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“ATHINAIKON” hotel is located in a short distance from the center and the sight seen of the town. Our renovated rooms have central heating, A/C, TV, Fridge, WiFi, Safe Box, telephone, private W/C and balcony with view of the town. Hotel “ATHINAIKON” with the family and hospitality atmosphere guaranties to you for all the year a comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athinaikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athinaikon Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing