We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel not far from city center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athinaikon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Athinaikon Hotel
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Heraklion
Malta
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good hotel not far from city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel a few days ago on arriving in Crete. We arrived late at night and receptionist on duty welcomed us quickly checked us in.

Rooms are good and foyer area seems to have been recently refurbished - its very nicely done and cosy.

Free wifi is also available in the rooms and buffet breakfast was also good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    58
    56
    16
    7
See reviews for
24
79
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for the night before catching our ferry to Santorini. I wish I could remember the name of the man that was on duty when we got there because he was awesome. So friendly and helpful and he even helped us order dinner which was delivered to the hotel - amazing! The food was great and the hugest portions. We got two keys for the room which meant we could leave the air-con on,which was much needed in the heat! Yes the rooms might have been on the small side,but we thought they were fine,and there was a fridge in the room which was helpful. The hotel was a short walk down to the port in the morning so this was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank car0_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was good because we could park outside and yet were within walking distance of the centre of town. The plumbing wasn't so good - adequate for us but the shower didn't work properly in one room. Overall I think we had good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back and away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Perfect location for a one night stop over in Heraklion before island hopping getting a flight.
Near to airport, near to port.
Hotel staff are super friendly and will answer many questions. Gave us a map showed us where we where and where to go out for food, to collect boat tickets, how to get to the port etc.
Shower was ok but broken off the wall
Bed were very comfortable and plenty of pillows, bedding and towels provided

Room Tip: Perfect location for a one night stop over in Heraklion before getting on a boat to another island o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is just outside of the area considered the town's center, but an enjoyable walk will take you to the bustling heart of Heraklion. And you can walk to the ferry port, and you can walk to the city bus stop that will take you to the airport, and you can walk to the KTEL bus station that serves all of western Crete. The staff is friendly, attentive to your needs, and full of helpful advice. This is a nice neighborhood but not one with many close by restaurants.

Room Tip: If you like a window open in springtime as I do, best not to have a room overlooking the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights during Greek Easter. The staff was very helpful and helped us find a restaurant (a lot of places were closed for the holidays!). The hotel is really close to the bus station and the port, making it easy to get around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We selected this hotel because of its proximity to the ferry and the bus for Knossos. Unfortunately they did not have a room that could accommodate our family of 5 so we had to obtain two rooms but were graciously given two side-by-side rooms at the end of the hallway. The rooms were clean but in need of renovation. One of the bathroom doors did not close and bathrooms are small. The breakfast was nothing special. It is about a 10 minute walk to get the bus to Knossos (don't forget to buy a large bottle of water in town as it is much cheaper!). Overall we got value for money for the one night's lodging.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank doulostoutheou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.6 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#41 of 57 in Heraklion
3.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#38 of 57 in Heraklion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#11 of 57 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirabello
Hotel Mirabello
#22 of 57 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Evans
Hotel Evans
#42 of 57 in Heraklion
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iraklion Hotel
Iraklion Hotel
#17 of 57 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athinaikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athinaikon Hotel

Property: Athinaikon Hotel
Address: 89 Ethnikis Antistassis Street, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athinaikon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“ATHINAIKON” hotel is located in a short distance from the center and the sight seen of the town. Our renovated rooms have central heating, A/C, TV, Fridge, WiFi, Safe Box, telephone, private W/C and balcony with view of the town. Hotel “ATHINAIKON” with the family and hospitality atmosphere guaranties to you for all the year a comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Athinaikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athinaikon Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing