We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value; Very helpful staff”
Review of Marin Dream Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marin Dream Hotel
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great value; Very helpful staff”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

This is a small, well appointed hotel near the harbor and the main bus station. The staff was very helpful and recommended day trips for us. The breakfast was exceptional and was served on the top floor of the hotel with great views of the harbor and the Venetian fort. The hotel is about six blocks from the old city center. There was a computer in the lobby available to guests free of charge.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwesterner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    271
    110
    22
    12
See reviews for
77
309
40
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens/Greece
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Very fine hotel centrally located with spectacular vue of the sea/port, very fine service and the breakfast indeed exceptional. The Manager called Manolis Kalaitzakis very very helpful and polite.Would strongly recommend this fine hotel to future visitors in Crete.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiotisAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Cordoba, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We were in Crete in early October as part of our honeymoon.
Heraklion did not seem an attractive tourist destination. Chania is prettier.
The hotel is very near the port, you can walk even with luggage.
Also the bus station is nearby for easy travel to other parts of the island. But no airport buses leave from this station.
The hotel is very comfortable and clean. The balcony has views across the harbor.
One night we ate at the restaurant, and was good. The breakfast is very good.
The staff is friendly and helped us with our airline reservations. In the lobby there is free internet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcel036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
são paulo brazil
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

I arrived by car in Heraklion and immediatly had the best impression of the hotel: gentle staff, great location, a small and friendly hotel. The best for us!
Then I met Manolis Kalaitzakis, the manager, who keeps everything running perfetly.
The hotel is nice, the best location, good clean and clear rooms, very good breakfast (don´t ever miss the greek Yogurt!) with a breathtaking view over the harbor from the top floor.
But the best part was Manolis, who sit paciently with me and my friend, invited us for a cup of delicious greek coffee and homemade cake, explained everything about the island (we we´re starting a trip by car), gave us precious tips, tell us all the island history (also about his Grandgradgrandpa King Mino!!!!), so without him our trip wouldn´t be the same: one of the best trips we ever had. Unforgetable Crete.
One of Manolis` tips: drink delicious Raki with fruits or with cucumber!!! You will never get dizzy... That´s what HE tells!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veraSãoPauloBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

This hotel is in a great position with most rooms having lovely views of the Venetian Fortress of Heraklion.The reception staff couldnt have been more helpful--very good traffic controllers!!!Extensive buffet breakfast.
Close to several good restaurants & transport.
Request a port view room on the 5th floor.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaheiWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

The Marin Dream is a contemporary hotel near the Heraklion port and bus station. It was comfortable enough with nice furniture and amenities, but the rooms were small and cramped. The hotel has a free breakfast that was OK. There is also a free computer to use but it shut down a few times because of a reoccurring power surge. The staff was fairly helpful but their facts need some updating. We asked about the first bus to Chania and what they told us was a half hour off. Because we trusted them, our plans for the day were ruined. I suppose that's partially our fault for not doing more research. We enjoyed our visit to Crete - my advise for those planning a trip there is to rent a car. You will be able to see the island much easier and on your own schedule.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

just good location,sorry but nothing else! i mean i dont recomended for couples or people that want to spend time to a nice hotel and relax...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolieioak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.0 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,720 reviews
0.0 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
824 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kastro Hotel
Kastro Hotel
#7 of 58 in Heraklion
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#14 of 58 in Heraklion
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marin Dream Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Dream Hotel

Property: Marin Dream Hotel
Address: 46 Epimenidou, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marin Dream Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business and pleasure. Our hotel, fully renovated and refurnished, is ready to welcome and accommodate its guests. Located within short walking distance from the city centre of Heraklion, it is the ideal choice for business travelers as well as for tourists. The superb view to the harbor and to the Venetian fortress (Koule), the elegant though cozy atmosphere, the accessible prices throughout the year make the Marin Dream Hotel truly a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marin Dream Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marin Dream Heraklion
Hotel Marin Dream
Marin Dream Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing