We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and beautiful rooms!”
Review of Marin Dream Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marin Dream Hotel
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and beautiful rooms!”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was an excellent hotel and had the best service from the front doorman, Nantas. We highly recommend getting Room 502 which has a spectacular view and has the biggest balcony of the hotel. Great bathroom and comfortable bed. Restaurant on top of the hotel with a great view again. Good price as well! We will definitely be back there next time we are in Crete.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    261
    103
    22
    11
See reviews for
75
295
39
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful. No problems with the reservation. We were settled 10 min after our arrival. The roof garden "Gazebo" which is the hotel restaurant, has a magnificent view to the Venetian fortress at the port. This is the same place where you are having breakfast in the morning so you get the best view every day :) Cuisine - very good - traditional and western dishes offered. The breakfast was also great - although it was the same everyday (for the five days of our stay), you have a big variety of snacks to choose from, so it's easy to make a different menu every day. Our room was double standard - good enough - air conditioned - a necessity if you are visiting in mid summer. The bathroom is a bit small but you get used to it, otherwise - no problems with the hot water. The room also had a big terrace with two chairs and a table - again with a good view to the harbor and the venetian fortress (5th floor, maybe the rooms below 4th floor don't have such a view). The prices in the hotel restaurant are pretty much the same as in any other decent restaurant in the city. The location is just perfect - 2 min walk from the central bus station at Heraklion, 2 min walk from the archeological museum, 15 min walk from the Natural history museum, 10 min. walk from the History museum. One of the town's big shopping streets is just a minute walk away as it is the harbor and the marina. Last but not least, the airport is also 10 min drive by a taxi from the hotel and the price is fixed - 10 EUR. And yes - you can hear the buzz of the airplanes but I suspect nobody in Heraklion can avoid this. No WI-FI in the room, only in the lobby and roof garden. Overall, we think it is a great hotel to stay in Heraklion if you don't have a car because it is very near to every interesting place in the town, if not - you can always use the public transportation which one can use to travel almost anywhere on the island - there are buses at regular intervals and they are working on a very good schedule with very good prices.

Room Tip: As I already mentioned in the review, if you want a better view to the harbor, get a room which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivan1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I booked this hotel using points and was very disappointed when we arrived to our rooms. The beds were hard and the room was hot and the bathroom did not look very clean. We decided to lose our points and paid to stay at the Megaron which was 1 block away. We had chosen this hotel for the location but both the Lato and Megaron were each one block away and much better options for not much more money.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgef98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Fantastic location. We were able to walk to ferry for Santorini. Close to everything in Heraklion and lovely views across the port. Room was super comfortable and breakfast both substantial and delicious. Night staff were super friendly and helpful. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christinemayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

• Located very close to the port and to the pedestrian walkway of cafes and markets.
• WiFi is available free of charge. If the WiFi signal is not strong enough, reception will provide you with a network cable free of charge.
• Balcony
• Queen bed.
• Breakfast is decent and on the rooftop garden (view of the port).
• Pay per item Mini bar in room.
• In room safe.
• Small bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cara_calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The Marin Dream is a great choice if you want to be near the ferries and not spend too much. It is about a ten minute walk from the ferry port. We originally booked just a seaview room but were upgraded to the top floor which had a large terrace as well as a fantastic view of the port. The room was contemporary and pleasant. The breakfast buffet was quite good. The wifi signal was weak in our room, so the manager provided a signal boosting device. The hotel is also about 300 meters from the main shopping and cafe district, known as "The Lions" (named after an Venetian fountain there that features stone lions).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortOfCall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed at the Marin Dream hotel once again this year, this time twice for one night each as it is convenintly located near the port for late arrivals and early departures as per our case.

I could not believe that each time, the front desk remembered me from my visit last year!
Contrary to a couple of other posts, the front desk staff were very helpful, polite and attentive.

On my second visit this year - they upgraded our room.

Why should you stay here?

- its a decent quality hotel in Heraklion close to the bus station and ferry terminal and a short walk to shops and restaurants. Good breakfast that is included in price. Nice views. Good bathrooms.

Is it for your holidays?

- No. Its a business hotel. A couple of days in Heraklion for your convenience while moving to or from other parts of Crete and to see the museum, Knoss etc there are ok. Then I suggest you holiday in a nicer smaller town or village to relax.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffybinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.0 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#13 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#14 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marin Dream Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Dream Hotel

Property: Marin Dream Hotel
Address: 46 Epimenidou, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marin Dream Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business and pleasure. Our hotel, fully renovated and refurnished, is ready to welcome and accommodate its guests. Located within short walking distance from the city centre of Heraklion, it is the ideal choice for business travelers as well as for tourists. The superb view to the harbor and to the Venetian fortress (Koule), the elegant though cozy atmosphere, the accessible prices throughout the year make the Marin Dream Hotel truly a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Marin Dream Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marin Dream Heraklion
Hotel Marin Dream
Marin Dream Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing