We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place for peaceful holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vergis Epavlis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vergis Epavlis
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place for peaceful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent a one week holiday in July in this lovely small hotel. All the comments written early are so true. The owners, Stella and Stelios, take good care of their guests and run the place with good and warm touch. We stayed in House of Flowers –suite and it was clean, well furnitured and beautiful. It had space enough to accommodate 3 ppl. The view from the balcony was panoramic facing the town of Iraklion and the see from the mountain. Stella served light lunch as per request and offered dinner on Tuesdays when the local restaurant in the village was closed. The local restaurant offered also good and fresh food with a fantastic panorama.
This is a hotel where I could go back on the next trip to Crete. I warmly recommend this to everybody who wants to enjoy peaceful and relaxing holiday.
Hints and tips:
- We struggled to find the hotel with GPS, so pls follow Stelios’s instruction instead. Also consider to rent a midsize car: we had a small car and it was not comfortable on the mountain hills.
- There is a small restaurant on the road to Iraklion right after the University Hospital called Taverna Katarina (written in Cyrillic alphabetic) next to a pharmacia. I serves good food for lunch and was the favorite of my very picky daughter. I warmly recommend to stop by in there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CoupleEspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
79
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a truly lovely time here. The warmth of the welcome was unsurpassed. Stella and Stelios, the owners, are very helpful and give every priority to making your stay a wonderful experience. The suites are huge and very comfortable, and it was like home from home, but without the worries. Stella prepared a wonderful range of Cretan dishes for breakfast, and dinner at the hotel was local, fresh food and local wine, and represented very good value for money. It is a beautiful, tranquil setting and the nearby village is walkable, with some small supermarkets, and a very reasonably-priced, good quality taverna - Stella will phone the taverna for you. Heraklion is about 20-25 minutes away and an easy drive, there is a bus service too, or Stelios will probably give you a lift! This was a good base too for visiting Knossos, Phaestos and Gortys, for getting to nearby beaches and for just taking in the sun by the pool, while wondering at the beautiful countryside. There is a spa, although we didn't use it during our stay. Stella and Stelios know the island well and will help you plan your stay according to your interests. We just loved it here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is an amazing place to stay in Heraklion. It is a wonderful 4 room property about 15 minutes from the city. It's tucked up in the hills with magnificent views & a private atmosphere that feels more like a weekend home than a hotel.

The Good:
- The hosts Stella and Stelios. They really are like your favorite friendly uncle and aunt. They almost treated us as their own children. Their hospitality is the best I have ever encountered. Little things like calling the village shop to order us gifts, calling restaurants to make sure that we reached and didn't get lost e.t.c. are what make them endearing.
- The property is really beautiful and well kept. There are only 4 rooms so very private. The pool and surrounding views are perfect for relaxing. It may cost more than other hotels but it's worth every penny.
- Beautiful sunrises.
- Breakfast was very good. Fresh locally sourced ingredients.

The bad:
- absolutely none.

Other:
- The property is a bit away from the city, a car is definitely recommended to go back and forth. Stella actually arranged for a rental car for us which was cheaper than what we got elsewhere.
- The property can be hard to find but there is a very helpful map on their website, be sure to use it!

We would definitely go there again, even if it was just to say hi to the owners!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank TheTravellingG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed with Stellios and Stella in April 2013 and our experience was superb... They really looked after us and there was genuine hospitality to be felt... We had 2 kids - 4 and 2 year old and they thoroughly enjoyed it too...

The resort is situated in a beautiful rural setting about 20-30min drive from Heraklion and so we liked having the convenience of a hired car. Breakfast with Stella was a delight and I absolutely loved the locally sourced greek yoghurt and honey... but there were so many other greek food delights... one other favorite of mine were the local herb pastry that others have commented on - "hertopides' if i remember correctly...

There is free Wi-fi in the luxurious suites and though being connected may not be everyone's thing, it certainly helped to be able to get to the app store and download new games to try on the ipad to keep the the kids occupied....

Can't praise the place enough...We went in April and so the sea temperatures didn't allow for a decent swim esp. for little ones but one great advantage of going early season was we were the only ones in the resort at least 3-4 days were there...

Get in touch with the owners directly before booking online and they'll be able to work around your schedule and help out if anything particular needs to be arranged - info@v-epavlis.com

Cheers...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anjjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked this for our honeymoon as we wanted somewhere relaxing and hot. On arrival we were greeted by Stella who was fantastic. The apartments are about 8 miles outside of Heraklion and set in the mountains, offering a beautiful view.

Our apartment was very clean and spacious, Stelios (Stella's husband) is a wonderful man and was on hand if we had any questions or needed something (he even took us to Heraklion fore the day when he was there on business).

At breakfast you are greeted by the lovely ladies who clean and cook and offered the best Greek yoghurt you will have ever tasted. There is a variety of fresh fruit and savoury snacks on offer and Stella is on hand to cook eggs if asked, but we were always too full. Unlike a hotel we didn't have to consult a menu and instead were provided with fresh dishes that were locally grown (the spinach parcels are amazing).

As there are only four villas, we pretty much had the pool to ourselves - after planning a wedding we were glad that we could just chill out and relax.

Apart from Tuesdays which are Fish Night, you eat at the Taverna which is about 5 mins walk. You can drive if you have a car, or Stelios is on hand to give you a lift if you fancy have more than one Ouzo.
I would advise hiring a car for a few days (which Stella or Stelios can arrange) and explore the other delights of Crete.

We visited Matala and had a lovely time lazing on the beach and eating the good food on offer - the Octopus salad is the best, and simplest, I've ever had.

Vergis Epavlis is basically like home-from-home. I'm sure that they won't mind me saying, but Stella and Stelios are like a mum and dad - nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile.
We loved our time there and will be coming back.

Room Tip: Try and get the suites facing the pool and hire a car for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank gooner25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is the place to stay if you are looking to visit Crete. To sum up our experience, it was like staying at a fantastic summer house in a countryside. It reminded me of God Father II where Michael Corleone stays in a villa in Sicily after revenging for his father. We stayed in the Rafkos Balcony Presidential Suite during 16~21 Sept. and I strongly recommend the Rafkos Suite because it has the best views and very spacious. Food was absolutely wonderful because they were all local produce and they have the most fresh and best tasting vegetables there. Also we loved the local wine they served there. People were very friendly, warm and kind it was like staying at a relative's.
We've never been so attached to a hotel before and it really was the most unique experience and Vergis Epavlis was such a focal point of our trip. Me and my wife actually discussed about coming back to this place when we have a child.
Right after Vergis Epavlis, we went on to stay at Hotel Grande Bretagne in Athens which is one of the nicest hotels in Europe and except for the view of Acropolis, we still preferred Vergis Epavlis.

Room Tip: Rafkos Balcony Presidential Suite is the best. Great view and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lint323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I echo what so many other reviewers have said - our stay here was first rate. The room was spacious and clean, the food was excellent, the location is beautiful and the hosts are warm, kind people who have a genuine interest in their guests. We chose VE based on the reviews here, and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
9.5 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
9.5 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
9.0 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#2 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
60.6 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
9.5 mi away
Marin Dream Hotel
Marin Dream Hotel
#15 of 57 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vergis Epavlis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vergis Epavlis

Property: Vergis Epavlis
Address: Agios Myronas, Heraklion, Crete 70013, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vergis Epavlis 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vergis Epavlis Luxurious Suites with spectacular views, spa, pools & lounge restaurant can be your base for a romantic exploration of the most beautiful island of Mediterranean. Our philosophy and concern does not only include the delivery of reliable services but also the creation for each guest of his own private milieu in which he will relax and enjoy all that Vergis Epavlis offers within its aesthetic environment and incomparable beauty of the surrounding nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Vergis Epavlis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vergis Epavlis Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing