We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Vergis Epavlis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vergis Epavlis
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked this for our honeymoon as we wanted somewhere relaxing and hot. On arrival we were greeted by Stella who was fantastic. The apartments are about 8 miles outside of Heraklion and set in the mountains, offering a beautiful view.

Our apartment was very clean and spacious, Stelios (Stella's husband) is a wonderful man and was on hand if we had any questions or needed something (he even took us to Heraklion fore the day when he was there on business).

At breakfast you are greeted by the lovely ladies who clean and cook and offered the best Greek yoghurt you will have ever tasted. There is a variety of fresh fruit and savoury snacks on offer and Stella is on hand to cook eggs if asked, but we were always too full. Unlike a hotel we didn't have to consult a menu and instead were provided with fresh dishes that were locally grown (the spinach parcels are amazing).

As there are only four villas, we pretty much had the pool to ourselves - after planning a wedding we were glad that we could just chill out and relax.

Apart from Tuesdays which are Fish Night, you eat at the Taverna which is about 5 mins walk. You can drive if you have a car, or Stelios is on hand to give you a lift if you fancy have more than one Ouzo.
I would advise hiring a car for a few days (which Stella or Stelios can arrange) and explore the other delights of Crete.

We visited Matala and had a lovely time lazing on the beach and eating the good food on offer - the Octopus salad is the best, and simplest, I've ever had.

Vergis Epavlis is basically like home-from-home. I'm sure that they won't mind me saying, but Stella and Stelios are like a mum and dad - nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile.
We loved our time there and will be coming back.

Room Tip: Try and get the suites facing the pool and hire a car for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank gooner25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
80
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is the place to stay if you are looking to visit Crete. To sum up our experience, it was like staying at a fantastic summer house in a countryside. It reminded me of God Father II where Michael Corleone stays in a villa in Sicily after revenging for his father. We stayed in the Rafkos Balcony Presidential Suite during 16~21 Sept. and I strongly recommend the Rafkos Suite because it has the best views and very spacious. Food was absolutely wonderful because they were all local produce and they have the most fresh and best tasting vegetables there. Also we loved the local wine they served there. People were very friendly, warm and kind it was like staying at a relative's.
We've never been so attached to a hotel before and it really was the most unique experience and Vergis Epavlis was such a focal point of our trip. Me and my wife actually discussed about coming back to this place when we have a child.
Right after Vergis Epavlis, we went on to stay at Hotel Grande Bretagne in Athens which is one of the nicest hotels in Europe and except for the view of Acropolis, we still preferred Vergis Epavlis.

Room Tip: Rafkos Balcony Presidential Suite is the best. Great view and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lint323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I echo what so many other reviewers have said - our stay here was first rate. The room was spacious and clean, the food was excellent, the location is beautiful and the hosts are warm, kind people who have a genuine interest in their guests. We chose VE based on the reviews here, and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed with Stella and Stelios from the 20th of August for 10 days and can only really confirm what all the previous reviewers have said; it's wonderful!

Everything was organised and prepared for our visit and any requests we made when there were dealt with quickly and courteously. Indeed, the couple went of their way to ensure that everything ran smoothly and they embraced us like members of their extended family! They even managed to get our two teenagers to chat; amazing!

The breakfast was delicious, and we felt that we didn't need to eat again until well in to the afternoon....and often we had been provided with grapes round the pool by then! Evening meals were traditionally Greek, though the two wonderful ladies who cook were happy to make other dishes for our unadventurous kids! Though no expert, the house wine was perfectly good and at a fair price.

The local tavern in the village was great, too. We only ate there twice but this was mainly based on the fact that the 8 minute walk there is up a steep incline, and not having realised this, we set off with my glamorous mum-in-law in a pair of very slippy high heels; she stuck to flat sandals on the subsequent visit! There are lots of stray cats and kittens in the restaurant, which was fine by us, (in fact, we loved it!), but may not suit everyone. Plenty of choice and good, traditional fayre.

Vergis Epavlis is in a wonderful location for travelling all over the island of Crete IF you hire a car. It provides clean, opulent, spacious accommodation in an absolutely breath-taking setting. The pool is cold but well-maintained and very clean, the scenery is beautiful and the care taken to ensure your stay is a happy one is second to none.

If you want to walk to a lively bar at night, be on the beach or have evening entertainment, as we often do, this is not the place for you. If you prefer a peaceful, relaxing, idyllic location with welcoming hosts and wonderful suites, this is the place! Give it a go; you might just love it!

Room Tip: Only saw the Eros and Rafkos Suites, but based on that, I bet they're all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank geoffbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I don't know how to start, our stay at Vergis Epavlis was so amazing! The rooms were luxorious, and super clean. The room was the cleanest I have seen in my whole life! the rooms are huge and comfortable! The estate is gorgeous with a clean, relaxing , big pool! The restaurant has amazing food, and the whole hotel has a real greecian feel. There is not one thing this hotel could have done better, from the hospitality to the pool this hotel truely deserves 5 stars!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank worldtraveler991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with Stella and Stelios on the second week of our honeymoon. From the moment I emailed Stelios I knew we would be warmly welcomed and that it was exactly the place I was looking for. Set in an idilic location near to Iraklion but far enough away to ring a sense of serenity and crisp mountain air, the villa is set on a perfect location on the hill with sweeping views across the vineyards and olive groves. The facilities and rooms are extremely luxurious and this is the ultimate place of relaxation and an opportunity to sit back and enjoy.

Stella and Stelios are truly exceptional hosts. They are so helpful and informative but never impose. I cannot recommend Vergis Epavlis strongly enough if you are looking for a perfect mix of relaxation and luxury.

My wife was treated to a beautiful spa session which she absolutely loved. The pool is fantastic and we had it to ourselves almost all the time. There are fantastic places to visit within a short distance and indeed, it is possible to explore most of the island for those who are looking for a great central base.

Our stay was unique and something we will always remember. We know we have a place to stay where we will always be welcomed when we go to Crete. It truly is one of the perfect locations in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamesjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Have absolutely no hesitation to recommend this to anyone from any walk of life. I would not think twice to book it had I known where I am going to. The ambiance, carefully decorated suites, the owner's (Stella & Stelios) hospitality, people in village and above all scent of purity is second to none. You must try it as words are not doing any justice.

This is the place to settle your stress, relax and open your mind. You may also wish to have a philosophical discussion with Stelios which only make the whole experience even more attractive and spiritual.
Both Stela and Stelios are real people who are simply so passionate about their job that they take your stay to a truly relaxed and stress free unforgettable experience.

Last thing, before you look for any other holiday package, pick up the phone and talk to friendly Stelios ( 0030 2810 72 22 72) whom will be glad to assist you with any concerns you may have, no matter what!

We had a delightful break and made lovely true friends! See you again.
M & Sonia

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
9.0 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,681 reviews
9.5 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
832 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
861 reviews
9.4 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
158 reviews
21.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vergis Epavlis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vergis Epavlis

Property: Vergis Epavlis
Address: Agios Myronas, Heraklion, Crete 70013, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vergis Epavlis 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vergis Epavlis Luxurious Suites with spectacular views, spa, pools & lounge restaurant can be your base for a romantic exploration of the most beautiful island of Mediterranean. Our philosophy and concern does not only include the delivery of reliable services but also the creation for each guest of his own private milieu in which he will relax and enjoy all that Vergis Epavlis offers within its aesthetic environment and incomparable beauty of the surrounding nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vergis Epavlis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vergis Epavlis Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing