We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place with a great view and location”
Review of Vergis Epavlis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vergis Epavlis
Certificate of Excellence
dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A special place with a great view and location”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This was our last stop in Crete and it was the best. A villa on a hillside with outstanding views from your room. The rooms are huge, beautifully furnished, great a/c. Showers are small, but that's Europe.
The grounds have a wide variety of flowers and foliage. The pool overlooks the valley of olive groves, vineyards and lemon trees. If it is clear, you can see Heraklion and the Aegean Sea in the distance.
The owners, Stelios and Stella are so friendly, it;s like being part of the family.
The breakfast is top notch and served in a separate dining room with the same great view. If you are lucky, Stella will prepare a gourmet dinner.The food is wonderful.
I wish we could have stayed a week. The villa can serve as a base. One way, you can do as we did, and go to Phaestos(the unspoiled original Minoan ruin as opposed to the touristy Knossos). and tnen on to Matala beach on the Mediterranean. The other way is a day trip to the Aegean Sea. Perhaps a visit to a vineyard or hiking in the hills/mountains nearby.
The owners are wonderful, and they have a secret. Sarah, their dalmation that is a friendly playful dog that we looked forward to seeing each day.
Our friends had the Eros suite and I would recommend that for a honeymoon. We had the Rafkos suite and it was great.
One note, we called the villa as we neared the town of Agios Myronas. Stelios met us on the 2 lane highway/road and we followed him to the villa. It's a twisty one lane road so you need to be able to drive with a stick shift or do as we did and travel with a friend that can handle the task, just be sure to compliment his driving skills repeatedly.

Room Tip: Take your pick the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank uray50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
79
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our tour of Crete as we wanted a bit of relaxation and pampering to get us in the holiday mood. We arrived quite late but the owners sent a car for us and greeted us with wine and fruit (very nice local wine I have to add, I bought a bottle to bring home) Nothing was too much trouble, they catered for our every need without being overbearing. The suites were very tastefully done, very classy and cost was clearly no object, they have used only the best and have lotsof extra touches. Each suite is different and individually chosen complete with jacuzzi bath, free laptop with fast internet connection, lovely balcony overlooking the hills, a lovely pool high up with a great view, and of course the spa where we had a terrific massage. The food was delicious and all locally grown and fresh with special Cretan recipes each morning for breakfast. Lots of info available about the area and the history and the lives of the Cretan people. Very central do good for touring, lots of parking space. A nearby town (walkable) has a good reasonably priced taverna if you don't want to drive. Lunch was served in our suite one day too which was very nice. We would love to go back here if we ever have time and to do proper relaxing!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was our first visit to Crete. We needed a week off for farniente, reading, visiting, relaxing. Our vacations always include intensive traveling around as we want to discover places.
Vergis Epavlis was our oasis of comfort and calm and the service we received from Ioannis and his team was outstanding. Always available, either in person or over the phone, he helped us design our plan for the week, taking into account not only our personal preferences but even the quickly changing weather conditions Crete has in January. The central location of Agios Myronas makes it fast and easy to travel to any place of the island.
It took one phone call for a glitch in the heating system to be repaired in no time. I forgot a couple of small items in the room; I received them in my mailbox less than a week after being home.
Try the Ethimiko Special Salad in the village tavern!
And yes: you do need a car if you stay at Vergis Epavlis!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sergethill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

My wife and I have traveled around the world and stayed at many great hotels but in our opinion Vergis Epavlis is the best. The setting is beautiful and peaceful, the restaurant is tremendous and the views from the pool are breathtaking. What made our stay so special though was the people, how nice they are, and how they make you feel at home (although I only can wish my own home was so luxurious!). The hotel also is very conveniently located to the main road in Crete and a great spot for seeing the island. I recommend Vergis Epavlis to anyone and everyone. In fact, I'd recommend going to Crete just to have the experience of staying at the hotel again. Thanks Vergis Epavlis for such a fantastic time!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coss_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This was our second time in vergis epavlis, first was the honeymoon and now we came for our wedding anniversary.
Other people have already described the place, we also did it in our review last year after the first time. The place is very special, for us what makes it amazing is the people that run it, Ioannis and Stella. personally, coming there is like recharging with positive energy. every time we remember it we smile.

Roman & Maria

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rmalits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at Vergis Epavlis, and this beautiful location made Crete our favorite part of our trip to Greece (over Athens, Mykonos and Santorini). We stayed in the Eros room which was lovely. The little details, which matter a lot of us, were all taken care of... the room was phenomenal, the service by Stella and the manager was so very impressive, and the breakfast was perfect. We had not done much research on what to do in Crete, but they had it all figured out for us with maps, itineraries and recommendations for the best locations throughout the island. In one word, everything was just so EASY... lunch in our room, wine on the terrace, renting a car, tips for attending the local festival... whatever we asked, they provided. Bliss!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buckybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS, GREECE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed 6 nights in Vergis Epavlis at the end of February and we have started to plan our return in the summer. What can I say about this place that has not already been said by the previous reviewers? Well, only this: we have traveled extensively around the world, but we have never stayed in a place like Vergis and at such reasonable price.

The serenity of this place is fantastic. It was so nice to wake up in the morning, looking at the beautiful surrounding hills and hearing nothing but the birds. It was even better when we returned in the evening to this oasis of tranquility.

The views are stunning; the suites are spacious, luxurious, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and have all the facilities you may need. The breakfast is fantastic and is served either in your suite or in the charming restaurant. The service and management could not be better and efficient. The owners, Stellios and Stella Vergis, are exceptional. We had some very interesting and informative discussions with them and they always made us feel at home.

This place is almost 14 kms from Heraklion, which makes it an ideal base for touring Crete. Therefore, a car is necessary.

We recommend Vergis Epavlis without any hesitation to anyone who is looking for a truly unique place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAROAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
9.5 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
9.5 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
9.0 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
9.4 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
28.9 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vergis Epavlis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vergis Epavlis

Property: Vergis Epavlis
Address: Agios Myronas, Heraklion, Crete 70013, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vergis Epavlis 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vergis Epavlis Luxurious Suites with spectacular views, spa, pools & lounge restaurant can be your base for a romantic exploration of the most beautiful island of Mediterranean. Our philosophy and concern does not only include the delivery of reliable services but also the creation for each guest of his own private milieu in which he will relax and enjoy all that Vergis Epavlis offers within its aesthetic environment and incomparable beauty of the surrounding nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vergis Epavlis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vergis Epavlis Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing