We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central hotel”
Review of Kastro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kastro Hotel
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great central hotel”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a good low-budget hotel with plenty of value-adding. From Nikita's reception welcome to the free wifi, clean, well-appointed room, well-insulated against aircraft noise (the airport is VERY close to town), comfy bed and a nice buffet breakfast. We didn't get to experience the rooftop garden and unfortunately they are full when we pass through at the end of the holiday so we can't stay there again - even though we tried! There is even a good documentary about the Minoan civilisation constantly running on the house TV system!
No downside that I can think of.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgrvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    246
    56
    18
    4
See reviews for
54
300
40
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Reasonably priced for those on a budget
A couple of minutes walk to the centre but not so close as to be disturbed by noise
Comfortable rooms with sufficient space (double room with two sharing)
Good bathroom and shower - excellent water pressure
Air conditioned
Modern decoration - a little naff in places but still decent
Friendly staff - helped getting into our room when the lock was stiff and happily booked a taxi for us

Breakfast not the best and tables not cleared very quickly but this shouldn't put you off.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirePhoenix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a lovely hotel,very clean and well presented. The location is great. A 5 minute walk to the centre of town where there are many cafés shops and restaurants or five minutes in the other direction to the restaurants on the sea front. There is a nice rooftop garden with a view of the sea. The best thing is the wonderful Greek breakfasts. The pastries are fresh and warm and there is everything you need to make your own Dakos as well aS the ubiquitous Greek yoghurt and boiled eggs etc. the staff are very helpful and friendly and fix any problem promptly and also speak good English. It was lovely and quiet with double glazed windows and also dark with quality curtains and also shutters. Only negative I found was the bed was very hard for my liking.

Room Tip: There is an elevator so I enjoyed my 5th floor room which was adjacent to the roof garden and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were only here for one night but will book next time we are in Heraklion. The hotel, for us was first class. The location was perfect, it is so central. The rooms were very clean and modern with a great shower. We really liked the staff, they couldn't have been more friendly. We are to return to Heraklion in a couple of days and are returning our hired car at the hotel. We asked if we could store our luggage for a couple of hours before returning to the airport and they assured us there would be no problem. We could not have asked for more. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed for one night after a week in Crete. Loved the location in old town. The room was pretty funky! Very clean, very modern. We were right outside the 5th floor terrace, complete with fake grass. There were some real plants there, and some that weren't. It didn't matter. We had a partial sea view from the terrace. Breakfast was good; so was service. When we travel, we always say we don't care if it's fancy, but it has to be clean. And the Kastro was clean. In Greece, we have found in general, that most hotels have great, sound proof windows. The Kastro lived up to our expectation. Good parking very nearby. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

the most innovative and smart ,value for money hotel. The service is excellent, nearby safe parking available , en-suite bathrooms are really big and clean. Smart T.V with usb plug in and the breakfast was very good. The style of the room is for relaxing and the matress is really what you need after a hard day.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice Hotel, recently build or rebuild.
In the real center of the city.
Small road with basically no parking but a deal withe the Central Parking where, for 6 Euros, you get a 24 hour ticket whith the possibility to drop and take your car as many times as you want, a good plus.
Even the rooms that face the street are not noisy as the windows glasses are thick.
Good breakfat. Great price!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pajoinviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.2 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastro Hotel

Property: Kastro Hotel
Address: 22 Theotokopoulou, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Heraklion
#6 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#8 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#8 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kastro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kastro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastro Hotel Heraklion
Kastro Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing