We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kastro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kastro Hotel
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

A very pleasant surprise. Didn't take too long to find, and once we did we were happy to see a modern, clean hotel with a nice comfortable room. Walking distance from bus station and ferry port. Good breakfast in the morning too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    234
    56
    18
    4
See reviews for
50
289
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very good property in the downtown of Heraklion, at only few minutes by walk from the principal atractions of the city and near of the bus main station. Clean and spacious rooms and bathrooms, both in very good conditions. Breakfast is good. I definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPGlobetrotter85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I went for a conference and stayed a few days either side with my other half tagging along to do some diving. The staff very helpful and accomodating to our arrangement (billing, hire car etc) and the hotel has a nice atmosphere with a lounge downstairs. The a/c was powerful and the the level of cleanliness good. The room was nice and suited our busy schedule although wasnot one for luxuriating in, and we wish we'd made more use of the roof terrace!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vee727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had two rooms at Kastro hotel for two nights in June 2013. The location is hard to find but it is very centrally located and you can walk to almost everywhere that a tourist would be interested. The main harbor is about 5minutes walk.
The breakfast was adequate for two days but i can see how people might get bored if you stayed for longer stays. The check-in person was very kind. She told us where to catch the bus to Knossos (7 minutes walkI) and made some restaurant recommendation (which turned out to be very good). There is a rooftop lounge area with free WiFi. The rooms are very nice, TV and WiFi worked well. The front desk lady even made last minute 3 days car rental reservation for us (like, within half hour) and managed to secure a big enough car for 4 adults and our luggage with a fair price. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbow_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Kastro is easy to get to from the airport and serves a decent continental breakfast. It's a good, clean basic hotel for the price and we had no complaints. The mattress was a bit hard, though. It was a great location, close to the museums and the bus station and the harbor and when we arrived near midnight, there were no problems getting there and reception was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_on_Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Pros:Location is in a quite street and close to city center. Breakfast is good and staff are professional, nice and friendly, especially MARIA. She is extremely helpful during my stay. Special thanks to her.

Cons:Hard to find this hotel and took me 20 or more minutes walk to the hotel while carrying large backpack.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YIFANG Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This was my third time in this hotel and I can say it gets always better.nice new rooms great service from the from desk especially Tasos the gay that speaks also German.he recommended great restaurant which we might would not see as they were not on public streets. One more time well done and. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odenburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.2 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.3 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#12 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#14 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastro Hotel

Property: Kastro Hotel
Address: 22 Theotokopoulou, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#8 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#8 Business Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kastro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kastro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastro Hotel Heraklion
Kastro Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing