We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kastro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kastro Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good service, clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The service was great and very helpful with answering questions.
Breakfast is your standard Greek hotel assortments (cheese, ham, sweet cake, boiled eggs etc)

A few negative points -
- shower is much too small.
- the safe is provided in your room. To use it though you need to pay 5 euro for the key at reception. Annoying as you already have paid for the room (and contents).

Apart from that its a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chunkpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    234
    56
    18
    4
See reviews for
50
289
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oz
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed for one night and highly recommend this hotel. The room was modern, comfortable and quiet. The hotel is in a great position, close to the port, and a couple of minutes walk to the square in the centre of town. Loads of great restaurants and cafes nearby. The lady at reception was absolutely fantastic....so charming and so helpful. She arranged a hire car for us. All in all, a great place to stay in Heraklion!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasygoingOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am the owner of an advertising company and due that i really have to travel a lot
kastro hotel was one of my clients/
https://itunes.apple.com/gr/app/heraklion-city/id497946780?mt=8-Heraklion CiTY application/
but i had never stayed before.
i managed to sleep and stay 3 times in row during a month and i was surprised
by the great breakfast which i believe its a must judge thing about hospitality.
the second night my husband visited, they upgraded for free our room, breat bed and very very clean bathroom
i definately recommend this place, its in the heart of the city!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is in a great location for the port and harbour area, restaurants and bars, but also close to the main streets for shopping and outdoor cafe life.
The team here do everything they can to help you have a great stay.
Simple but all you need buffet breakfast in a modern clean setting.
Rooms are adequate size with very modern decor and spotless. Nice touch was as well as a fridge you get an iron and board in the room. Free WiFi also provided with excellent signal.
You can hear the nearby airport take offs, but then every hotel in this great location suffers a little from this one disadvantage of a city airport!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Qc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arrived late 11pm, we prefered to park the car at the nearest (100meters) parking rather than on the street (for safety), only 6euro for 24h if you are from the hotel.. need an Hotel coupon.. NB> You wil have to leave your car keys.. they park the car.

They gave us room 46, size is OK for downtown and price, Quite & air cond, but the shower is much too small...and I 'm not a big person. The breakfast is OK 7:30-10:30 (buffet style (ham, cheese, boiled eggs, yogurt, toast.. etc, Automatic Coffee machine for espresso/capuccino or regular).

Massage service is also available in the room (at a fair price 35Euro/60m on request at the reception desk. Unfortunately we were not there long enough to try it.. can not comment!.. but appreciate the availability.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

very good location, very central. (even from the port, we took 15min on foot with luggage - two cabin trolleys).
it's a good city hotel. We got a room in the 5th floor, next to the terrace, which was nice.

the room was very modern, really liked it and the bathroom was nice as well.

recommend it, also for the relation benefit-cost.

good plus:it includes breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mag C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

we had spent 2 weeks touring Crete & chose this hotel from Tripadvisor's revues & as always, we were not disappointed, before flying home from Heraklion airport.
The central positioning was ideal for discovering Heraklion being a 5 minutes walk from the city centre as well as the seafront.
On arrival, it was rather disconcerting to realise that the only way we could unload the car was to block off the narrow road outside the hotel for 5 minutes or so but local drivers seemed not get upset about this.
50 metres down the road was a 24 hour car park for 6 euros a day which was really convenient.
Reception was bright& clean & staff friendly & efficient.
Our room was clean & had all the necessary facilities & was totally comfortable.
We hit breakfast at peak time & the young lady was rushed off her feet trying to maintain supplies as well as clearing & dressing tables so there were some delays although the breakfast
itself was good with a decent range of fresh food & drinks.
All in all, great value for money for a short stay in a central area.
One tip, do not miss out on going up to the 5th. floor in the lift & spending some time on the roof-garden. It's a great suntrap & very peaceful with views of rooftops & the sea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gooner1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.2 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.3 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#12 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#14 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastro Hotel

Property: Kastro Hotel
Address: 22 Theotokopoulou, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#8 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#8 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kastro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kastro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastro Hotel Heraklion
Kastro Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing