We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 day in Heraklion”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mirabello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mirabello
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1 day in Heraklion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I arrived at about 17:30 on the 18 September 2012. After 34 hours of wearing the same clothes we decided that catching a taxi would be the best mode of transport. Taxi fare to the hotel cost 15E which is probably steep for such a short distance from the airport.
The hotel is in the heart of Heraklion. The streets are narrow and full of cars and motorbikes. Some have been abandoned even!
The hotel is value for money at 50 E. It has aircon and a balcony and even a kettle! You can stand on your balcony and watch the locals or even walk up the road to the town centre and join them.
Would i stay here again? Yes.
I am 27 year old South African and it is definately up to my standard!
The hotel staff organised me a rental car with a guy called Peter. Its a good idea to drive to places like Elafonisi.EXTREMELY Windy roads. Great views and definately worth the long drive! Beware---Greeks do not know how to drive! and all the boxes you see next to the side of the roads are plaques for people who have been involved in fatal vehicle accidents!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    85
    34
    16
    7
See reviews for
10
97
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Good location and friendly staff but that's about all. Cery close to the centet of town, shops, restaurants and bars. Hotel was very old and depressing. There was a hole in our door from someone punching it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foursomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stay at the Mirabello every year in May for a couple of nights at the beginning of our holiday and another at the end.
This year we found that the hotel had received an extensive refurbishment, which makes some of the earlier negative comments out of date. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a spacious and sunny balcony/terrace.
Kostas, the owner, is worth chatting to with his dry sense of humour and lugubrious demeanour.
Parking may be a bit difficult in the immediate vicinity. There is a public car park nearby, but it often seemed full.

Room Tip: The higher up the better. You get more of a view over the rooftops to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hippocleides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

we have just returned from a weeks holiday at the mirabello hotel, we cant thank them enough for the lovely holiday that we had. All the staff were helpfull ,pleasent at all times and couldnt do enough to help you if you needed anything.The hotel itself was spotless the food was lovely hot and plentiful and catered for all tastes, i wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and would definately return for another visit. I would like to say a big thank to all staff at the hotel from the top to the bottom they made my holiday a fantastic success.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ness Tzionna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The rooms were very nice, the AC was awesome, the hotel service was great. My negative comments would be that the TV is small and useless, and the showers can be a bit cramped as well. But it's very near the center of town. The most important point, for me, was the electric kettle - you could make your own coffee or tea, which was a major plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItaiGreif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauranada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Really good location, close to everything and good staff. Room was on the whole good, large size and clean with good wifi. Only negative was the sink in the room (the room was shared bathroom) had old plumbing which often gurgled throughout the night. (Dont think this would be an issue with en-suite rooms). Great library.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We only stayed the one night in Heraklion on our travels and so were looking for a cheaper place to stay. The Mirabello was excellent for what we wanted - clean, air con, good facilities and wifi. The owner was really helpful with everything we asked and we really enjoyed the stay there. The location is excellent for being in the centre and getting around - especially with time and budget constraints!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spetharoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Mirabello, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Spetharo,

Thank you for taking time to review our business on Trip Advisor. We are really glad that you appreciated our facilities and our central location. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We always strive to give our guests the best we can while respecting their constrained budget.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

M.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pension Rea
Hotel Pension Rea
#19 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lena
Hotel Lena
#29 of 58 in Heraklion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kastro Hotel
Kastro Hotel
#8 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#12 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marin Dream Hotel
Marin Dream Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Irini
Hotel Irini
#20 of 58 in Heraklion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabello

Property: Hotel Mirabello
Address: 20 Theotokopoulou, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mirabello 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location & Best Value city accommodation: Hotel Mirabello is situated in a very quiet neighborhood just in the heart of Heraklion city. Recent renovations give our guests the opportunity to enjoy a nice and friendly atmosphere. Being so close to Iraklion center, it provides access to all kinds of visitor interests such as: The Lions square and central market 200m, Museums (Archaeological 500m, Historical 150m, Natural History 300m), Transportation (Bus stations East/West Crete & Knossos Palace 500m, The commercial harbor 600 m, Airport 4km) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mirabello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabello Hotel Heraklion
Hotel Mirabello Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing