We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Holiday for couples not so good for young families”
Review of Golden Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Bay Hotel
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just done a week stay here and after reading some of the reviews on here wasn't expecting much, however I was pleasently suprised. Wonderful welcoming staff, clean rooms (beds not very comfy) nice play area for the children. Wouldn't recommend this Resort for young families as the pool area has beds close to edge with lots of couples who didn't seem too impressed by joyful outbrusts and the odd splash here and there. Other than the small park and pool they are not really catered for. Lovely place overall, would go again if i was going as just a couple and didn't want to do much other than soak up the sun, drink at the bar and eat food. The Greek people are lovely and have a real love for the children, all very friendly and kind.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just returned from a week at Golden Bay Apartments and my wife and i have not had a single problem with our holiday,all the staff were brilliant especially the two young ladys on reception, taverna was great, we meet 4/5 couples who were fantastic good fun all round will be booking for two weeks next year,as for all the previous reviews about rooms ours was fantastic (room 307) sea view and pool view:-, very clean and we booked a room as a late check out and we had room 302 (basement of which was great as well, well done to all at G olden Bay Apartments see you all soon

Room Tip: Try room 307 great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

What you see is what you get. Very good clean basic accomodation, staff very friendly, food good. The best place to be for a quiet no frills time. There is an on site taverna with more a short 10 min walk away. A 15/20 min bus ride away are Heraklion, Hossonisos and Malia if you are looking for more activity.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at the Golden Bay Hotel in August 2010 and it has to be said, the staff, cleanliness and atmosphere was brilliant!
We only had a few problems at the hotel, which weren't really to do with the hotel itself, they were the noise of the crickets, and the location, however thats what you expect fromthe sort of holiday you have booked.
The staff at Golden Bay are unfaultable, they are good with children and very entertaining. Food is avaliable to either purchase from the taverna at the front of the hotel, or it is included with the half board option. We only stayed for a week, but had we stayed longer we would have found that there is limited choice on the menu, so you would have to start getting the same again and again every night.
Overall the holiday was great, staff were wonderful, food was okay, and the weather was lovely!
Tip: to find other bars and restaurants it is about a 15-20 minute walk down the road, and about a 5 minute walk to the nearest supermarket.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfleet_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We loved the time we spent at the Golden bay, Food was the best in the area. Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Will be going back

Room Tip: We had room 203 it was in the best place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carollebarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

What a great holiday. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremeley helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The bar staff were hillarious. The food was fantastic and very reasonable. I intend to go back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 186534Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Just arrived back from the Golden Bay apts,and WoW! What a perfect holiday location.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly,nothing was too much trouble for them.They made us feel very welcome.
We upgraded to half board while we were there at a cost of only 12 eur each per day,which saved us alot of money.Having said that i would have freely paid the full price for the food,as it was absolutely delicious.
The apartments were spotless and cleaned regular.so too was the pool and surronding areas.
Stuart and Pavlos (the pool bar attendents) were a fantastic sample of how barmen should be,they made you feel like you were family.Rania the complex manager was out of this world along with Rania the waitress with the bright green eyes.
We met and became friends with 6 other couples while we were there and have promised to keep in touch.The atmosphere was excellent,it made you feel like you could be yourself and relax amongst friends.
A special thanks to Dave and Alison ( Ali ) from Plymouth for being such great company,and also to Julie and Dave ,James and Holy ,Lisa and Sarah,( and little jay )Tracy,james and sophie and everybody else for being there and making this holiday the best ever.
The Golden Bay apts will go to the top of my holiday resorts list,and i hope to return there again soon.
Thanks guys and Gals for making this, the best ever.
Ps Dont ever play Eye spy with Ali :-)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donkey_eeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel LiLi
Hotel LiLi
#19 of 58 in Heraklion
100 reviews
3.5 mi away
Iraklion Hotel
Iraklion Hotel
#17 of 58 in Heraklion
298 reviews
3.8 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Life Boutique Hotel
Life Boutique Hotel
#39 of 58 in Heraklion
87 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mirabello
Hotel Mirabello
#23 of 58 in Heraklion
206 reviews
20.8 mi away
Stelios Gardens
Stelios Gardens
#20 of 58 in Heraklion
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Hotel

Address: | Gournes, Heraklion, Crete 71500, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Heraklion
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $39 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bay Heraklion
Golden Bay Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing