We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Private day tour Crete with transfer to Chania.

We enjoyed our day with Lena and driver Niko. We booked the Spinalonga Tour unfortunately the... read more

Reviewed May 11, 2019
Suegig1
Maximize the quality of your time in Crete!

We enjoyed two of their private tours. We only had a brief time in Crete and wanted to experience... read more

Reviewed May 4, 2018
444Carol_R
,
Greenville, South Carolina
Read all 44 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Heraklion
from $17.11
More Info
from $153.95
More Info
from $45.62
More Info
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
42
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
42
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cruise ship small village day tour lena spinalonga crete winery company site port ruins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 44 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2015

Our group visited Crete Island arranged by Joseph and everything was perfect. Katerina was our tour guide and she is friendly and knowledgable. Will definitely recommend Joseph and Katerina for tours in Crete.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank IvanHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2015

Joseph Batis truly showed us the secrets of Crete, Greece. We went to villages and were a part of the daily life of Crete, visited small museums with vibrant histories, had an unexpected surprise stop where we attended a greek celebration on holy spirit day and were warmly invited to participate in greek dancing and listened to live music. We saw the mountains and valleys of Crete and learned the history, culture, and traditions of people living in the Villages of Crete. Olive oil, pottery, teas and spices, and lace work were only a small part of the artisian culture in these villages, not to mention the wonderful cafes. We ranged in age from 20 to 55 and all came away with our expectations exceeded and had a wonderful day! We would all highly recommend Joseph Batis!

Date of experience: June 2015
4  Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2015

How many ways can you prepare Greek Coffee? Are dark olives and green olives different varieties? Why is the sea called Aegean?
You will find out these and 100's more amazing facts if you hire Secrets of Crete. There is no better way to learn about a place than spending time with a local guide and the level of knowledge, excitement and care we've experienced with Joseph has made our trip to Crete truly unforgettable. Joseph's company will completely customize your experience: whether your interest is sites, local flare, shopping, ruins - he will customized a trip perfect for you. Here is a quick recap of how we chose to use our time, to give you some ideas:
We got picked up form the hotel (on time) and drove out to our first destination: a village where we saw 26 churches, visited tombs, saw the secret passage (won't tell you where, so I don't spoil the surprise) and had traditional Greek coffee and aperitif.
We then visited a winery that would rival the best in Napa with some incredibly warm and informative proprietors. We then had lunch at a truly authentic spot where lovely Chrisanthe cooked us a private lunch from scratch. The trip concluded with a visit to an olive oil maker who gave us a private lecture on how olive oil gets made, complete with a tasting. Our last stop was Knossos.
Throughout the trip, Joseph was a great companion - we really had a blast. Spending the day with him was a hi-lite of our trip.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Soubriquet2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2015

We had absolutely unique day with Joseph Batis. He modified the tour to fit our interests perfectly - showing the true Crete in all its glory (several villages off the beaten path, an archeological site, meeting and chatting up with local people), we learned the Cretan lunching traditions in a small, fantastic tavern (food was exceptional), tasted wine from local grape varieties. I think the village priest that Joseph introduced us to will stay with me for the rest of my life. That was very special - he unlocked the church for us, specially. On the top of that he gave so many great tips. Joseph’s love and passion for Crete is admirable, he made us feel to come back and explore more (we were for only couple of days and were lucky weather-wise). Not to mention that Joseph is exceptionally intelligent, well-travelled and fluent, if not mistaken, in about five languages, native level. We were truly impressed!

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank Zoi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2014

My husband and I had the good fortune to have spent the day with Joseph Batis, who has tours exploring some of the lesser known parts of Crete, Greece. In our correspondence with him prior to the day we had available, he customized the itinerary to fit our specific requests. He is fluent in several languages and has a comfortable car. Since among our interests were the culinary history of Crete as well as the Jewish History of Crete, he was creative in showing us both. He took us to a little village where there was a "restaurant" (actually, a few tables on a stunning patio overlooking a valley) where a luncheon was prepared for us. The cook there had recently cooked with Yotam Ottolenghi who was traveling in Crete exploring the local cuisine. You can contact Joseph through his website: http://www.secretsofcrete.com/ He accepts payment via PayPal which made the whole experience easy to manage.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank BehaviorQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews