We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveler rating
151
269
112
44
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
151
269
112
44
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fifth floor taxi rank floor restaurant city break nice hotel recommend this hotel restaurant staff rooftop bar night stay very pleasant stay a great place to stay rooms are clean breakfast room short stay bus station excellent breakfast sea view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 601 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

I am here visiting with family and I will say from the outside the hotel looks ok. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant, however we got to our room on the first floor and when we opened our door it smelled like sewage. Second it is a very tight fit. The beds were very hard but the worst is the noise coming from both the outside and inside. The hotel is located in the middle of town by a roundabout which cars were speeding around and scooters were racing around ALL night! I got no sleep. And you can hear everyone talking in the hallways at all times. I checked out two days early and took my family to the Agapi Beach Hotel which is a 100 % better and all I hear is the ocean.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank asroberts73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Fotakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Dear Guest,
Two years ago we installed triple glazed windows with thermal and sound proof. When the doors are closed, the sound does not enter. There are various types of rooms for all the choices. For the guests seeking total quiet, we have the internal rooms that offer completely noiseless experience
Thank you for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Pleasant staff. Well equipped rooms
Walking distance to ports, museum and all the restaurants.On a bus route to and from the airport. Nr 1 bus at very reasonable rate. Good 5th floor restaurant with good views.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank blhallpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Fotakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Dear Gust,
We appreciate your nice review, Castello City Hotel is conveniently located very close to the center of the city, everything is within walking distance. People are walking up and down 24 hours, our city is one of the safest.
The stores of the center are 10 minute to the east side on foot and the beach is 15 minutes to the west.
Thank you for your stay,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

The hotel has a good central location. Other than that, renovation is needed. The corridor carpets are incredibly dirty, and our room had a wall view. An annoying sound (like a motor) could be heard almost throughout the day.
Staff is ok, but overall I would suggest looking into other options even if they are a bit further out.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Fotakis, Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Mrs, Sofia,
there are various room types with various prices. The most economic rooms are the internal view rooms like the one you booked. We have rooms that face the city of Heraklion, and rooms that face the sea. The next time that you will visit us, we will allocate you in a room with view to the city.
Thank you for your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

The staff were so kind and attentive. They couldn’t do enough for me. Had a great meal. I slept the best sleep for ages in a lovely comfortable bed. Had a wonderful breakfast. Free parking, excellent WiFi. T was a short walk to Lion Square. The best was the view from the restaurant/breakfast area. Will definitely return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Fotakis, Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay with us. We work hard to keep satisfied our guests, we greatly appreciate your feedback
Greetings from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Stayed at Castello for 5 nights and it was a positive experience. Staff working at the hotel are very helpful and cordial. It is situated close to the center in a relatively quiet area. The rooms are comfy. The breakfast is excellent not just for the view . The hotel also has a restaurant which is very convenient when returning late from excursions. The set menu priced at 14.95 euro is of great quality. Highly recommended!

Room tip: rooms ending with number 5 are smaller. ( 215,315 etc.)
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Josette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Fotakis, Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Guest,
on behalf of the Castello City staff, please allow us to express our gratitude for this nice and empowering review. It is true that our goal and our pride is to have our guests satisfied. We will always search ways to improve our services and offer a nice experience to our guests.
Thank you for your stay.
Greetings from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews