We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a stop-over”
Review of Hotel Irini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Irini
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a stop-over”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as a stop-over in order to catch our ferry very early the following day. It was a large triple room, with comfortable beds and clean bathroom and balcony. Hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly.

Location is good, about a 7 min walk from the bus station and a 12 min walk from the port.

It is perfect for those who just need a place to crash for a night or 2.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a view of the port if you are staying for more than 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    73
    58
    18
    19
See reviews for
34
86
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is located quite close to the bus-stand, as well as to the Heraklion harbour. However, there's not much more to write about on the positive side. The hotel appears definitelt tired-looking, with old furnitures, curtains that would not close fully, and reception-staff that do not care much. They were not impolite, just plain disinterested.

Good for a night. Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Udayadittya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff and good location but accomosarions rough around the edges Rooms were spartan and one was a bit smoky. Bare bones but it served its purposes as a place to sleep before an early trip to airport. Staff helpful

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very well located but has no view ( the view is for a parking lot under construction). The staff are very nice people and attentive. Everything else seems to miss. The hotel room we stayed has a strange smell and the bathroom was not very clean. The hotel in general seems overused.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trigueiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel was wonderful! I stayed here as part of a study abroad trip,and loved it. The rooms were ample, and each room has its own bathroom. There is free WiFi, and breakfast is nice. The bathroom in my room had a bath/shower combo, which made it very easy to do lots of laundry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent two nights here while on our trip to Greece. It was our basis for Crete travel. The desk people were very helpful, helped us with a car rental ($30 for the day) and directions to sights, and important places to visit. You can easily walk to the shopping and trattorias and easy to get on the main highways to the East, South and West. The rooms are a bit spartan, but we were only sleeping here...same for breakfasts.....basic as in most of Greece: cold cuts, cheese (but delicious feta chunks were nice), cereal, sweet bread and toast, hard boiled eggs. Plenty for our needs. I was off season so very quiet. Excellent bus system that took us to Knossos ($1.50 E), near the Arch. Museum, Castle, Port.....lots of walking which we enjoyed, and local flavor everywhere. Friendy town.

Room Tip: I think all rooms were about the same, no views, but clean and functional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mainelymarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is a 10 minute walk (at most) from the bus station, and about 10 minutes to the famous Archeological Museum.
Also easy walk to Paleologos office, where you can pick up ferry tickets for Hellenic Seaways.

There is a taverna closeby on the same street as the hotel with a good menu and friendly service. Very nice breakfast included with the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.1 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,726 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marin Dream Hotel
Marin Dream Hotel
#16 of 58 in Heraklion
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irini

Property: Hotel Irini
Address: 4 Idomeneos, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irini 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Irini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irini Hotel Heraklion
Hotel Irini Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing