We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth It!”
Review of Hotel Irini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Irini
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Should have read the reviews on trip advisor - went to booking.com instead and was very disappointed! The internet was advertised as free and was not... The rooms need a major renovation. Beds are super uncomfortable, staff was not friendly, air conditioning didn't work at first, just felt old and neglected like everyone else has said. There are plenty of other great hotels down the street with the same great location for much better quality. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidtownChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 218 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

Close to the port, that's the reason we stayed for 1 night, but the Hotel needs renovation! Beds not good, bathroom very poor!
Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Try to find other place in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadinekebloem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

(+)close to the port - 10 mins (can easily walk with luggage). Close to airport - 5 mins by taxi, 10 mins by bus+short walk. Close to the main pedestrian street. Staff is very helpfull - we had early check in.
(-)no hair dryer in the room. A little bit noisy at night (close to the airport).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed there for only one night. The place as a whole, seems like it has seen better days in the past but they somehow stopped caring and improving it. The rooms were big enough, providing A/C, TV, fridge, but the furniture was old, broken, so were the marbles in the toilet. The overall feeling of staying in the hotel was that we were lucky for staying there for only one night. We left very early in the morning, so we did not have the chance to try the breakfast. Besides the -old- facilities, I have to say that we did not have any problems with the stuff and it seems that somebody is present around the clock helping you (we asked for a bottle of water at 1 in the morning and they promptly gave us). A big credit, however, should be given for the convenient location, being only about 5 minutes walk from the center of the town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

we spent there only one night..and we can say: NEVER AGAIN!
as soon as you enter, it seems you have done the right choice, because the lobby is very very nice...but the rest...
the man who was at the receptionist was no nice and he never smiles. The rooms very shabby, the air conditioning, even if, checking on internet, we've seen it was included.
the towels were not cleaned so well, and the bathroom seems very old. There was a bidet as well..but we don't know why no waters comes from it.. The door was unsafe.
We didn't have breakfast, even if we paid for it, first of all beacause the man who checked in us, didn't give us any info about it( but gave it to others guests) but above all...we prefer not to have there...
we definetely do not like this hotel...the worst in which we stayed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Owlmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Irini suited us perfectly for two nights whilst visiting friends nearby. The breakfasts were plentiful with vast variety of Greek food.
The position is perfect with everything nearby and bus station in short easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margarita2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here because Lonely Planet gave it a recommendation, but I wouldn't recommend it if you're in Heraklion. (though, i'd probably recommend that if you're in Heraklion, you just take the bus to Chania, but that is neither here nor there...) When we checked in, they couldn't give us the room with the double bed that I had requested, and instead gave my husband and I a room with two single beds. Additionally, we woke up that morning to music being blasted through the vents from another room.

The lobby makes the hotel look lovely, but the rooms are very basic and a bit rough around the edges. They do have great balconies with views of the harbor though.

Additionally, the receptionist was distinctly unsympathetic when the hour of internet time I had bought to use on my iphone was unable to be broken up into blocks of time like he had told me it would be. Not the greatest service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hedgie728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.5 mi away
Athinaikon Hotel
Athinaikon Hotel
#27 of 58 in Heraklion
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabello
Hotel Mirabello
#21 of 58 in Heraklion
206 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis Styles Heraklion Central
Ibis Styles Heraklion Central
#11 of 58 in Heraklion
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kastro Hotel
Kastro Hotel
#8 of 58 in Heraklion
573 reviews
3.9 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel
Golden Bay Hotel
#25 of 58 in Heraklion
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irini

Address: 4 Idomeneos, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range: $62 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Irini 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Irini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irini Hotel Heraklion
Hotel Irini Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing