We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“original greek fish tavern”
Review of katsina

katsina
Ranked #72 of 393 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Description: Close To Paltia Agiou Dimitriou
Restaurant details
Description: Close To Paltia Agiou Dimitriou
Heraklion, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“original greek fish tavern”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

like the old time.family operation, mamas kuisine, fresh fish and sea food, original atmosphere, good taste and rates.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DIMIKOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best fish tavern in heraklion”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

situated at the back of Agios Demetrios church, in a quite "square" in the city centre. It has kept the traditional Greek taverna style, which means no decoration because food is what counts! Locals do prefer it because it has a traditional cuisine like "home". It remids us of of our grandmothers.
Traditional cuisine, cared by Mrs Margarita, the proprietor. The menu is short, but always good quality and of course, fresh. Some things may not be found, although on the menu, because they were not found fresh.
Strongly recommended to turists who seek to discover the true traditional cuisine and friendly cretan people, instead of the globally found restaurants, with no distinct characteristics of local cuisine, behaviour etc (as most places in heraklion, where i live as well).
I must not forget to mention that is one of the few tavernas that serves the shrimps ready to eat (without the "shell"), with little oil and lemon. Do try taramosalata, cuttlefish with its own ink, of course shrimps.
Finally, i have to mention that the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 79stefania1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This family owned restaurant is situated in a hidden square in the city center. Great place. I have been three times. Try the Moussaka prepared by the mamma of the owner... it was the best I tried in Crete.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank priscila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Limited menu & service”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant twice during our stay in Crete, largely because my partner loved the sardines he had the first time. But I found the menu very limited - most of the dishes on the list were unavailable on both occasions - although the food that was available was ok. My main complaint is that I was unable to get a coffee on either night, despite this also clearly being on the the menu. Apparently, they were too busy to make it. I found this both inexplicable and very annoying, especially as most other restaurants in the area where we might have got a coffee were either closed or full by the time we left.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great family taverna”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a family restaurant, and the food shows great care. The mussels were fabulous, and the rest of the meal was very good. As with other eateries on Crete, we were amazed to have such a good meal for the price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chopsgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed katsina also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to katsina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing