We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (836)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveler rating
394
330
81
23
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
394
330
81
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main restaurant animation team greek taverna main pool beach bar a la carte restaurants superior bungalow private beach all inclusive resort evening shows heated pool great resort free minute relaxing vacation smaller ones buffet restaurant meal times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 837 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2019

Having done quite a bit of homework we decided on this hotel for a week's stay. There are many many good points - those first - the staff are an amazing bunch of people right from the cleaners to the manager - nothing was too much trouble - the evening bar staff were very amusing and efficient. The buffet style meals everyday were nothing short of fantastic - I have never seen such an array of food with numerous choices - you won't be disappointed - again courteous staff at all times.
Now the not so good points - the rooms are adequate but small - the bathroom was tiny - I love big bathrooms where you can move around but this was tiny - the rooms are a little dated but spotlessly clean - they certainly don't match up with the photos on the website ! Secondly was very impressed at the 'rule' of don't leave your towels on sunbeds unless occupied - they will be removed - I witnessed every morning the same people putting towels on their 'chosen' sunbeds - just wish the staff would stick to the rule - remove them - these people need to be taught a lesson ! If we visit again I would pay the extra for a suite and kicking myself now that I didn't asked to be moved.
As regards the Spa - we were handed a voucher for a free 15 minute massage which I duly booked. Went along to the Spa and was basically ignored - waited for 20 minutes - the furniture in there was really dated and broken - I just walked out.
And finally - what a lovely touch that they look after the stray cats - the Cretan's are clearly lovely compassionate people

Room tip: if you want luxury - book a suite - rooms not big and bathroom tiny
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyW503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

We stayed at Agapi Beach just a couple of weeks ago and had a wonderful time with our family. My Mum, Brother, my Husband and my little boy (4 year old) enjoyed very much surprising my Dad for his 60th birthday!

The resort was lovely and in particular we appreciated the heated pool for our little boy who is learning to swim and couldn't quite brave the cooler pools. The reception staff were friendly and kind and the restaurant manager had presence and was very accommodating, paying attention to detail and service, which really did make the difference in a buffet setting. He brought the balsamic glaze out on request and proceeded to present in an appetising way... lovely little touches.

The real joy of our holiday was how much the effort the entertainment staff put into making us feel welcome and engaging us with the games and shows on offer (quiz by the pool, aqua aerobics and offering ideas for outings).

In particular, we want to mention Hannah as she was outstanding in her thoughtfulness and the way she talked to all of us, completely professionally but still with genuine warmth, empathy and grace. She went out of her way to connect with each of us and ensure we were having a fun time and encouraging us to attend the evening shows (which we all enjoyed - Fosse Cabaret & Irish dancing with fire).

Their main singer from the Netherlands has a beautiful voice and tone that shines through even when her confidence may have been ever so slightly shaken, she still persevered. With experience she will grow into a fantastic performer. Hannah's precise dancing was excellent, her jumps lifted so high! Tundi was a sport who braved Salsa dancing with me on the beach! Rosie's choreography was amazing and her energy was terrific (especially in the Rosie Heart song 'Reached for the Gun'.) The men were dynamic and fun to watch too! The whole team danced, sang beautifully and smiled all the while.

Thank you for the lovely memories and we just would like to personally wish Hannah all the best in her career in the performing arts! She has a kind caring soul that shone through and truly made our holiday.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraEscape335937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely 10 holiday at Agapi Beach to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. What a beautiful gem the hotel is! Rooms are very comfortable, clean, light and bright with a beautiful sea and city view. Most evenings we enjoyed a glass of sparkling wine and enjoyed watching the sunset over Heraklion and the sea. The hotel facilities are excellent too, the Restaurants, bars and most of all the sandy beach. Although the weather was on a cooler side we enjoyed a swim in the sea daily. The food is fantastic, lots of lovely salads and vegetables, good selection for everyone. We found the local wine very good, drinks are of very good quality. We love how the hotel looks after stray cats and cares about environment. However, what makes Agapi Beach so good is its staff. They couldn't do enough for us, always polite and friendly. From welcoming reception staff who made our wedding anniversary special with a sweet handwritten message and a bottle of bubbly, to hardworking housekeeping team who clean the rooms daily. Friendly Elefteria, Chrissi and Hara in the Restaurant; three musketeers in the bar - Vasilis, Kostas and Giannis who make everyone laugh and create fantastic atmosphere; lovely Despina and Rena in the day bar; Dimitra Tui Rep who recommended us a great day trip to Spinalonga and really touched us by leaving chocolates and wine in our room on the day of our anniversary. All these people (and many more) make this hotel an unforgettable place we already miss and hope to visit again soon in the future.

Room tip: Higher floors in the main building have lovely views of the sea and Heraklion.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillieBal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for a week and it was truly wonderful.
From the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff were all so kind and helpful. The staff on reception were really friendly and sorted out any questions we had.
The room was lovely and very clean and the cleaning staff made sure our room was cleaned every day.
One of the best things about the hotel was the food!! So much choice and so much freshly cooked. We mainly had lunch at the beachside taverna and the staff who run that were so hard working and lovely.
The main restaurant was great and again the staff were so friendly.
A special mention to the bar staff in the 1978 bar who thoroughly looked after us all holiday.
The entertainment crew were also brilliant. The best shows we have seen at any hotel we have been too.
Special thanks to Hannah, Amry, Ahmed, Aris, Andy, Sarah and all the over guys who not only entertained us but made us felt truly welcomed at the hotel, especially Hannah!!!
The hotel is in a beautiful location and is in a very good condition but the one thing that makes it special are the staff.
Every member of staff we met was a credit to the hotel. From the reception staff, the cleaners, restaurant and bar staff and the entertainment team they were all wonderful and made our holiday very memorable.
Thanks to you all and will definitely be seeing you again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jim66whufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

We had such a great family holiday here, the sun sea and sand was guaranteed but what made our stay so exceptional was the staff. We really wonder how they managed to build such a great team of people to ensure a truly memorable stay.

In the restaurants Maria Kateryna and Evangelina took such good care of us.

And the entertainment team led by Andy ensured our little one was always engaged and amused.

Our 4 year old daughter really bonded with Aris and Sarah and couldn’t wait to see them every day. In fact my wife and I enjoyed going to the mini club just as much as she did.

She loved her T shirt which we ordered through Ahmed, and was so impressed with the singing and dancing skills of the team. Sarah sings beautifully and the tap dancing skills of Hannah, Amry and Rosie were a real inspiration to her.

Thank you all for making our holiday so amazing - we will be back soon.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank ErlingMitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrios S, General Manager at Agapi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our resort for your holiday and for taking the time to post and share your wonderful experience with us.
We are excited that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our resort and were quite pleased with our facilities and the service of our personnel. Your feedback is greatly valued and much appreciated. Please be assured that we will certainly pass on your comments to all the departments of the hotel!
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Agapi Beach Resort in the near future!

Kind regards,

Dimitris Stratikis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews