We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Brilliant family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agapi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agapi Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
brummie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just come back from 10 nights here. Beautiful hotel- very friendly staff-very clean. We went with our 2 grown up children and we all had a relaxing and stress-free holiday. We always got a sun bed with no problem and spent some time at the quiet pool near the bungalows. The beach is on the doorstep and is clean, with plenty of sunbeds. We all enjoyed the food, although we did feel that the vegetarian items could be labelled as we found sometimes that it was not obvious and sometimes we accidentally took food that contained meat. The Cretan section of the restaurant was a lovely touch and we always tried things from there. We tried both the Italian Restaurant and the Taverna as a change from restaurant meals and enjoyed both. The only problem in the taverna is that is no vegetarian option, but the really lovely waitress soon came up with a solution so everyone was happy. As someone else mentioned the portions at the taverna are huge!!! We were unable to finish anything!
The entertainment staff work really hard and there is no pressure to join in if you don't want to.
Our only disappointment on the holiday and this is no fault of the hotel is that the trips we went on were not very good value for money, and did not stick to the advertised programmes. The guide was very poor and unfriendly and unfortunately we had the same one on the trip to Spinalonga and Knossos. If you go to Knossos it is easier to get a taxi and buy a guide book! Best value is the land train- but again it did not follow the advertised route!
We had a really wonderful holiday but if you are the sort of British person who complains about foreigners and foreign food in the hotel this would not suit you, as most of the time we were the only British guests. Personally I have no problem with this and certainly young people have no problem mixing at all.
All in all a hotel to return to. Shame the airport is so chaotic though!!!

Room Tip: In the main building even numbers have sea/pool views. We were on first floor with good views but wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrummieJojojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    205
    42
    15
    3
See reviews for
186
175
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have been here twice, and my parents 5 times. We always feel well looked-after and have very pleasant stays. The entertainment staff work very hard, and guest relations (Alexandra) are excellent, they can help with just about anything. The value I feel is good, I would give 5 overall except for the food which although good, is not always quite as good as it could be.
I will be going back next year!

Room Tip: Sea view, 5th floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPeteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Agapi beach for 2 weeks in August 2013. We being myself, my husband and our 18 month old daughter.

It's an amazing hotel with the beach on your door step, and 3 great pools. And a small splash pool for babies.

Reviews on here say about having to get a sun lounger in the morning, not true we went to the pool or beach at 14:00 and found one easy. Yes we were the only people in the hotel from England for our 2 weeks, but truthfully we didn't care we don't go away to make friends. There are a lot of Russans but they were fine, not what people have said on here.

Food amazing, clean hotel.

The only downside is you can have free wifi but only in the lobby. So you will always see at least 20 people sitting around there, but it's for the Internet. You can't get it anywhere else in the hotel.

Across the road is a row of shops, you can get anything you need from, these, I had to get more nappies and had no problems. There is a small shop in the hotel, which is cheaper, so go there first.

The entertainment staff are very good, we didn't want to be bothered by them and I think they guessed by the second week. There is music until around 11:30, so if you are in the main hotel you will hear it until this time, but the view of the sea is amazing from these rooms, much better than the more expensive villas.

The bed was very hard, and no pillows just a square also our daughter ended up sleeping with us as her cot bed was just a frame and a sheet, poor thing was so uncomfortable.

All I can say is I love it and we are going back next year.

Room Tip: Go for the main hotel. Cheaper and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pinte
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel lovely.
We had booked two rooms with an adjoining door, but when we were arrived were offered a choice of either that, or a one-bedroom suite in a quieter location in the grounds. Thee are five of us. Although the suite looked really lovely- I think it would have been wonderful for two. Maybe three. We took the two rooms in the main building. Fine. Not big, but big enough. Bathrooms small, but we didn't want to spend a lot of time in the bathrooms! Balconies okay. We were at the back of the hotel, but we could see mountains, and the sea to the side.
Restaurants nice. Main restaurant a buffet, which was great for the kids, who are always looking for an excuse to leave the table! Food very good. Taverna great for lunches- buffet again, but outside, and a lovely atmosphere. Taverna not so good for dinners- not enough staff, so rather slow (served, rather than buffet), and far too much food (the fact that children eat less than adults- in our case sometimes considerably less- was not taken into account)- we were embarrassed by the amount they had to take away. We didn't try the Italian.
Pool and grounds all great, but not very pushchair friendly (and although there are some ramps, I wouldn't want to push an adult in a wheelchair up any of them- a pushchair with a toddler was bad enough!).
Entertainment was by way of the "Animation" team. About ten really really dedicated and enthusiastic young people from all over Europe. The kids loved the kids club, and were invited to join in with one of the (several) big stage performances put on for the hotel guests every week. It meant a late night, but they totally loved it (for my 11 year old being in Grease was the business!); and the kids disco, although they played exactly the same songs every evening, was exactly what the children wanted at the end of every day. By the end of week 1 (of 2) they knew all the special dances, and even our not-quite-two year old was confidently joining in.
I'd give the hotel a 5* review just because of the animation team!

We had a fabulous holiday!

BUT don't ask me to review Heraklion Airport, with a mind-bogglingly slow way of doing things all of its own.....

Room Tip: The beds (at least in the main hotel) are very hard, but we asked whether they could do something ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrixiesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went on our honeymoon to his hotel and found it that lovely we went back with our daughter. With a selection of pools, their own part of the beach, lots of activities always going on. The food was lovely, staff very accommodating and the animation team are fab. There is plenty to do for children without even leaving the hotel. Not many English people there but we didn't seem to find this a problem as we don't actually go to socialise. Would defiantly recommend this to anyone staying in Heraklion.

Room Tip: We do not recommend one of the ground floor bungalows as we did have a problem with ants. the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livelifelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just got back from two 1st class weeks at the "Agapi beach Hotel". Everything about the hotel is superb, from the great selection of food, lovely sea view rooms, great animation team and staff throughout. There are not many English guest but when English people get to know about it I feel sure that this will change.

Nothing is to much trouble for the staff who in the main all speak English, Camilla in the animation team especially. The hotel is right on the beach with no roads to cross and it is set in beautiful gardens.

I have always said that I would.never go back to the same hotel, but both my Wife and I will certainly return in 2013.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Brendan511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasterlee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

10 days in august this year.
What's good : location (15 min With city bus from heraklion center), quality of the food, service provided by the staff ...really friendly, Nice beach With enough Space , Nice beach restaurant, Nice and well maintained gardens.

What's could be better : staff often too limited at breakfast and dîner in main restaurant .... Few More people really néeded. Only two thematic restaurant so diversity of meals/food good for one week but some how too limited for More. Size of rooms in bungalow ! Bed :' a little hard

Not good : bathroom really small ... And in many rooms door can't be Fully opened as blocked by thé toilets (you cannot believe it can exist untel you see that!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank polderken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
17.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 182 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
14.7 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 59 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#2 of 59 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 stars 1,423 reviews
30.2 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 13 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
9.4 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agapi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agapi Beach Hotel

Property: Agapi Beach Hotel
Address: | PO BOX 2007, N.Stadion, Heraklion, Crete 710 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#5 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#9 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agapi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Agapi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Agapi Beach
Agapi Beach Heraklion
Agapi Beach Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing