We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can't believe this is 9 on tripadvisor.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agapi Beach Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Agapi Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I can't believe this is 9 on tripadvisor.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Where do I begin, customer service not sure if it exists. Wifi does not exist at all. It's a ridiculous system I cant believe it's 2012. The only reason for two stars is its all inclusive so you can eat the food. I am all for international clientele, but this is 95 percent Russian. I wish I did not understand Russian because of all the "don't pee in the pool" comments, I rather not hear. To say the least that I have two kids in that pool. I just feel bad for the people that are employed here because they truly work really hard. This is a bad version of the lowest Club Med with the added dubbed show at the end of every night,that can't seem to start on time. Also the rooms smell like cigarettes, come on at least get a normal filtration system. This is second hand smoke at its best.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank InaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    239
    53
    20
    5
See reviews for
228
209
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Agapi Beach Hotel is a very attractive and nicely laid out resort, though you would never guess this upon your arrival. The front of the hotel is located just off an average looking main street where there are mostly souvenir shops and the odd restaurant. Once you walk through the lobby of hotel and then out the other side of the main building, however, it’s a different story.

The Amoudara Beach just behind the hotel, is situated in a rustic setting which has a unique beauty of its own. The sand was a little grainy with many small pebbles along the shore line. It was interesting to see the contrast of snow-capped mountains in the distance when I would walk along the beach away from the resort and glance back. As for the water, it was clean and perfect for a nice invigorating swim (albeit slightly chilly in May). I was pleased to find that that there were always enough lounge chairs and palapas for hotel guests.

A word of advice for those people who like to take long walks along the beach and shore line. I would recommend bringing a pair of beach shoes since the further you would get from from the hotel, the more pebbles would appear along the shore line. Also parts of the beach away from the hotel, were not exactly well groomed and there were twigs and other things on the beach that I wouldn’t want to walk on with bare feet.

I stayed for two days at Agapi Beach in order to relax and get over my jet-lag before embarking on the rest of my trip to Greece and other parts of Europe.
My room was located in the main building and had a balcony which overlooked the pretty resort and sea in the near distance. I had no complaints about the room or bathroom on-suite which happily, had a very good hair dryer.

Though the Agapi Beach Hotel is a very nice resort, this is not a place I would recommend for solo travelers unless they are staying on a short-term basis as I did. The hotel guests were mostly made up of couples (of all ages) and families, the majority of whom came from Russia as well as Germany to a lesser degree. As a result, English was not widely spoken and not all hotel clerks at the reception desk understood or spoke spoke English very well. This didn’t bother me very much since I was only there for a short period & all my needs were basically met.

Finally, what impressed me the most about this all-inclusive hotel, was the wide variety of food that was offered for all the buffet-style meals. I was also impressed with the hard working staff who were responsible for preparing all the dishes as well as the servers who ran around like crazy replacing the food and clearing tables. There was so much variety that I always found something I liked to eat.

The only negative thing I could think of was that there was no free Wi-Fi at this hotel. That said, it was difficult to complain about this, given that in every other aspect, you got excellent value for your money at this resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaPipa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Mostly good hotel equal to 4 stars and price, however with minor lacks.

1) Hotel definitely need to be renovated in lobby, Main Bar zone and in rooms. My advise to thing also about decorations, presently it is not impressive
2) In June hotel was overcrowded. There were lines to restaurant in the evening and no sun beds on the beach after 10 am. One more thing for management to take care about life space increasing.
3) The good suggestion could be to give free WiFi access - now it is 30 euro per week

Food was good, service is ok, except some waiters in the main restaurant which could be more polite. Hotel has good General Manager which I was able to give directly my opinion and he immediately took them in to account - moreover some of my advises were come in to the life of the hotel next day. Thx for professionalism of this management - the rest of my holiday were much pleasant than beginning.

Room Tip: Thing about 3rd 4th floor left wing with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ASKtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were there end of May beginning of June. The accommodation was well maintained and beautiful. Service was good to outstanding, food was outstanding. Entertainment was usual hotel level but these people worked their socks off, just that as it was beginning of season they were just getting used to the routines. Hotel had a disco after the show with plenty of boom boom music for the under 25s. As for the rest of us ..................nothing. They have the perfect area for a piano bar dance each evening but don't use it and their pianist was very good but did not play dance music so not much to do on the evening unless you play cards. Also you were charged if you wanted to use the jacuzzi or sauna err what happened to ALL in all inclusive??

Room Tip: our upstairs suite in the detached accommodations was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dunworkinow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were in Agapi Beach for 1 week all inclusive, at the end of May, in a double room with sea view. We are a couple, around 40.

Positive:

The Hotel is very well located (20 min from Airport, 20 min and 1.5€ bus from Heraklion).
Our room was very clean and the service in general was really good. All the staff was kind and helpful. They spoke English, German and other languages.
The hotel has a very nice garden, 1 big pool, 2 smaller ones and a clean beach.
We found a variety of good food from breakfast to dinner. All drinks were free, all the day. Also the ice-cream. We could not ask for more. :-)
The animation team was great. They offered a lot of activities in the day and even theater shows in the evening.
However, if you just want to relax and lay down on the beach they will not bother you at all.
Just to tell you how good the service was, on the last day we had the room until 12 and the bus to the airport at 15:40. The receptionists checked and, as there were no guests expected in our room until 17, we could use it until 15:00 and even have lunch (all inclusive until the end). We were positively surprised.
The weather was sunny, but in this time of the year a little windy.

Not really positive:

Few words.
At the end of May, the average age of people was about 60, we would say, mainly Germans and Russians; this had the consequence that if you wanted a place near the big pool you had to be there to lay your towel not later than 9:00.... For the beach, no problem at any time.
For night-life, you have to go to Heraklion or maybe come in a higher season.
WLAN: 3€ for 30 min, 4€ for 1h, 8€ for 3h, 30€ for 1 week. Quite expensive but worked very well (no problem with Skype). In our room (3rd floor) signal was between poor and good, in the ground floor was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EarlyLittleBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The suite accommodation and surroundings were excellent. Having never experienced an all inclusive holiday before, I found the whole package superb. The cuisine during all dining hours were of the finest quality, numerous choices, delicious recipes and freshly prepared/served (no evidence of frozen or microwave use!) The bars and restaurant drink variety and service are to be commended. The Animation Team worked hard, always with a smile, and provided a variety of entertainment. Although myself and friend appeared to be the only English during our stay, the atmosphere and friendliness throughout was very good. My friend who was wheelchair bound was treated with the utmost respect by both guests and staff which helped to make her feel so comfortable. The receptionists went the extra mile for us and were so very helpful. So impressed, I'm considering returning in September.

Room Tip: Ground floor deluxe suites have 2 patio areas - one from bedroom and one from living area. Surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at the hotel and absoloutely loved it. The hotel staff are friendly and pleasant. It was my 24th b/day and the hotel manager and the staff went out of there way, arranged through my family who couldn't be with me to make it very special. We are looking to go back again next year, this time with my family. The views from our hotel were lovely, the rooms clean. Food was great every night. They have different themes and some meals are still catered for those who like there pasta's, chips, and aren't looking to try out anything else. The Tzatsiki was our favourite. So was the Greek evening. Our Barman though absoloutely made our entire trip his name was Kostas. The animation team are friendly are do a great job trying to involve everyone with shows and fun throughout the day and evening. I would highely recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlexMilanAc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
17.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows
3.0 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
14.3 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agapi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agapi Beach Hotel

Property: Agapi Beach Hotel
Address: 76 Andrea Papandreou Street | Gazi, Crete, Heraklion, Crete 71414, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#6 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#9 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Agapi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are still places in this world where you'll find yourself surrounded by everything that brings a smile to your face and a staff that steals your heart. This is the setting of Agapi Beach! The prime location of our Resort allows guests to relax on the beautiful beach of Ammoudara or explore the wonders of the Minoan civilization. Just ten minutes away from Heraklion, a buzzing seaside city with an array of options in culture, accommodation, dining and entertainment and twenty minutes away from Heraklion International Airport, this is the ideal destination. Experience comfort and luxury in our 23 sq.m. guestrooms located in the main building or annex, or stay in a 34 sq.m. bungalow and unwind at the spacious balcony with relaxing views of the sea and gardens. Stay in one of our 11 suites, fully renovated to evoke a true Mediterranean style, with separate sitting areas and exclusive furnishing decoration. This is the perfect choice to forget all your stress, unwind by the beach and reconnect with yourself. From our private sandy beach to a world of water sports and from daily resort activities to entertainment, we offer the perfect setting for relaxing island vacations, enriching memories and days full of laughter and fun. With a hearty breakfast or nutritious light bite at the Main Restaurant; savor innovative dishes prepared with only the freshest local products and traditional recipes at our Greek Taverna, or discover a unique Mediterranean flair at our Italian restaurant. Enjoy our all inclusive package and feel at ease that everything is taken care before you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Agapi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Agapi Beach
Agapi Beach Heraklion
Agapi Beach Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing