We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accidentally marvellous!”
Review of Kastella

Kastella
Ranked #4 of 377 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
430 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Accidentally marvellous!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Found Kastella by accident when we were looking for a cold drink. Unusual restaurant with the road dividing the seating. Very friendly staff and a good menu selection. We enjoyed a Greek salad with traditional octopus dressed in oil and vinegar.
We didn't order dessert but a small dish followed with a generous supply of ouzo, and both were complimentary.The meal was good without the giveaways, then turned into something special. This restaurant has been here for at least ten years and has survived because of good food and clever marketing.
The beer is cold the food good and the prices are not outrageous. Put this place on your list when in Heraklion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunner do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    163
    45
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
596 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The food and service was wonderful. We went twice and both times the waiters joked with us and were fun. The food was great - the seafood risotto, the the baked feta, and the Mouzaka was great as well.

Loved the dessert and roki too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evian-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a find!!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant and wow, were we surprised! The location outside on the water was lovely, the waiters friendly, the prices unbelievable and the food was amazing! We liked it so much that we went back the night our ferry brought us back to Heraklion. The stuffed grape leaves and eggplant salad will have us wanting more of them for a long time to come! Do yourself a favor and visit this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DotsDivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Iraklion, Greece
1 review
“Feast for the senses”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Being a resident of Heraklion, I've visited this restaurant several times. The most recent visit was a couple of weeks ago. True to form, the restaurant did not disappoint. We were greeted by a friendly waiter, and sat outside, with views over the Koules in one direction, and the coastline and distinctive shape of Stroubolas in the other. We went for seafood, and had very tender octopus and calamari, both of which can be tough if not properly cooked, and fresh grilled sardines. The appetisers were also delicious, but special mention must go to the fava and the "chipped" courgettes. And of course, the complimentary raki and desserts at the end went down a treat!! With all these delights, the noise from the passing traffic soon fades into the background.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great local and sea food !”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

1st you must try kastella's Mouzaka and staffed tomatoes - best Mouzaka ever

2nd the fisherman's spaggetti

3rd the Fresh fishes

It's at the port in the center of Heraklion , with very kind staff
10-12 euros per person

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pertion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kastella also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Kastella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing