We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GDM Megaron Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sofia Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lato Boutique Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$103
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atrion Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$95
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marin Dream Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$83
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$61
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iraklion Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$48
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Kastro Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$87
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mirabello(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$49
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$114
$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveler rating
817
168
34
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
168
34
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe bushomemade cookiesrooftop restaurantgreat hotelappointed roomsturn down servicetop floorbreakfast buffetcorner roomluxury hotelarchaeological museumsmall poolsea viewperfect locationbeautiful roomstreet noiseminute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
537 - 542 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was upgraded to a suite on arrival which was lovely, with great views over the old port.The hotel is in a good location for the port & centre of town. The roof top bar is amazing. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiJ808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The 4C's of this hotel are:
1.) Convenient location to ferry to Santorini (across the street) and town
2.) Classic hotel with a contemporary design yet understated
3.) Comfortable bed
4.) Cookies galore - they offer a nice buffet breakfast along with a variety of home baked cookies.

We stayed one night after a drive from Chania to catch the early morning ferry to Santorini the next morning.

Walking distance from town for some shopping, watching the sunset and dining by the water.

It was a nice place to stay with the accessibility of free parking. It offered us a stress-free experience catching our ferry.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chaufun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The outside of the hotel is older, perhaps needs so jazzing up (i.e. grafitti cleaned off stairs). The parking lot is connected to the bus terminal which is strange. But it is right on the port. We were upgraded to a nice ocean view room where we could see the fortress; it was beautiful. The VIP room was beautiful, elegant and very up to date. The pool on the rooftop is very small with only a few loungers but we went during a very quiet time of year (early May) so we had it all to ourselves. Nice rooftop restaurant and bar. The breakfast spread was amazing! Fresh baked cookies and cakes, hot items, cold items, lots of choices. We also got a very good price since it wasn't the busy season yet. We loved it here and it was a great way to end our trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelleighbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here a week in April, had a wonderful relaxing time in a suite overlooking the harbour. Great location so you can walk to town and take long walks along the lovely foreshore. The service staff were very hospitable, friendly and helpful and recommended some good restaurants to try. Very handy if you don't have a car, we used the buses to make two enjoyable day trips, buses are very comfortable and efficient. The hotel rooms and ammenities are very good and so is the breakfast service. I even bought some of the tasty homemade sesame biscuits and took them home.
Highly recommend this hotel in Heraklion.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbour offer great views.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mywonderfuljourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Megaron for several nights at the beginning of May. Our room had all the amenities of a luxury hotel. Our balcony faced the harbor. In fact, we were able to walk to the hotel when we arrived by catamaran from Santorini. The breakfasts were delicious; we especially enjoyed the homemade desserts. We also had a great dinner one night in the same dining room. Megaron's location is perfect for seeing the sights. It's right by the historic waterfront and an easy walk to many museums, including the famed Archeological Museum which had just opened numerous additional galleries. It is also an easy walk to vibrant parts of the modern city of Heraklion. There are many restaurants and shops nearby. There is a bus station right near the hotel, with local buses to Knossos and other areas in Crete. The Megaron's staff was especially helpful, arranging a car rental at the hotel (there is free parking for your car) and successfully dealing with our problems with the airlines (thank you Sophia). We highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the harbor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveledall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews