We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GDM Megaron Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Atrion Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$103
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marin Dream Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sofia Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kastro Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lato Boutique Hotel(Heraklion)
$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pension Rea(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Iraklion Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$71
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,045)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveler rating
832
169
35
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
832
169
35
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe bushomemade cookiesrooftop restaurantgreat hotelappointed roomsturn down servicetop floorbreakfast buffetcorner roomluxury hotelarchaeological museumsmall poolsea viewperfect locationbeautiful roomstreet noiseminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
565 - 570 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

GDM Megaron is an excellent hotel near Heraklion port. The room are spaciousand very well decoraded, the bed super. You can find in the room your personal radio/cd player and fax.
The security is high, i havent found anywhare else. It;s worth every cent you pay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpoupoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megaron, Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your experience with us and that we managed to exceed your expectations. we enjoyed reading your comments about your spacious room with a 'super' bed and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arrived by ferry at night and this hotel was less than a 5 minute walk. Check in was a breeze and the cookies were delicious. We got a great room on the 2nd floor, with a beautiful view of the port. The bed was the MOST comfortable bed I've slept on outside of my home. The room was spacious and clean. The buffet breakfast was the best. So many selections and some things changed day to day. I definitely took full advantage. The staff was very nice and helpful. Always greeting you with a smile. The hotel was about a 7-10 minute walk to many of the main attractions and restaurants. There is a pool on the roof which we used for a couple of hours. No complaints about the hotel. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megaron, Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. To know that you thought so highly of our hotel, our team and our service in particular is very motivating for us all and we are delighted to know that you liked our cookies :-) as well as the rooms & beds so much. Your personal recommendation means a lot and we are very grateful for your support. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to GDM Megaron Hotel again very soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

great location and view over the old harbor. tea kettle in the room. fantastic lounge. open-air rooftop swimming pool. very relaxed atmosphere.

on an absolute scale, this place isn't probably competing for the most imaginable luxury ever, but it is certainly 5 star, with a lot of personality. It reminds me most of some of the Ritz-Carltons I've previously stayed in on business trips. It will certainly be my first choice for any return to Crete, personal or business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottokarschulze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megaron, Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

We were all so delighted to read your kind words following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel but most importantly the service and our team are very proud to know that you found them to be so warm and welcoming. We hope it wont be long until we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The GDM Megaron Hotel.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

As the hotel was quite we were upgraded to a sea view. This side of the hotel is not necessarily the quietest side as the local bus garage is below the hotel and you have a view of the port rather than the marina. We didn't notice the noise and was pleased with the room; .

The hotel is convenient, everything is in reach. You are close enough to the centre of town to enjoy the atmosphere but far enough out to escape the crowds. The Hotel is crisp and clean and the guest areas are very tidy. The layout is good, the reception and restaurant are on the ground floor; the pool and gym are on the upper floors(together with another restaurant). The pool however is small, only room for two to swim and you are bothered by the pigeons. The water is very cold in October.

There was plenty of choice for breakfasts; biscuits, cooked breakfast, meats, fruit and cereals. However, if you fancy something simple there is toast, croissants and Jam.

We hired a car from reception for three days at a good price. Parking at night was a nightmare, there are no marked parking bays and therefore the parking is shocking. In the mornings you run the danger of being blocked in by inconsiderate people parking in your way and sometimes the buses.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Reviewer090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megaron, Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay. I am so pleased to know that you found our team to be so friendly, our breakfast abundant, and thay you noted the cleanliness in all hotel area's.
Please know that, after your comments about your parking issues, we are working on finding a solution to facilitate the parking for our guests. I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and we will ensure you will have a very enjoyable and comfortable stay with us again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in mid-October. On check in, make sure to ask for a non-smoking room (if you don't smoke!) - these rooms are all on the second floor. We had booked an executive sea-view room, and were upgraded to a VIP suite as it was a non-smoking room. The fixtures and fittings in the room were top-notch, with bathrobes, slippers and plush towels. The bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in! The swimming pool on the fifth floor is very small, but a nice location to sit and take in the views of the city. The gym is well-equipped. When we went out for dinner in the evening, the room was turned down, with chocolates on the pillow. The free bottle of water on arrival was also a nice touch. The hotel is in a great location for the port - literally a five minute walk from door to door. The hotel staff were friendly and attentive at all times. The breakfast was a huge feast. There were fruit, continental and cooked options, plus numerous baked goodies. For me, the breakfast catered a little too much for a sweet tooth, but there's no denying that it was a good spread. Heraklion itself is a commercial city, which lacks the character of Chania and Rethymno.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a3002040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megaron, Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and for choosing The GDM Megaron Hotel for your stay. Thank you also for sharing your experiences, we know it’s all the little touches that make a difference to our guests. To know that you thought so highly of our hotel, our team and our service in particular is incredibly motivating for us all. Thank you.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews