We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GDM Megaron Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Irini(Heraklion)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Irene(Heraklion)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dedalos(Heraklion)
View Hotel
Kronos Hotel(Heraklion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveler rating
817
168
34
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
168
34
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe bushomemade cookiesrooftop restaurantgreat hotelappointed roomsturn down servicetop floorbreakfast buffetcorner roomluxury hotelarchaeological museumsmall poolsea viewperfect locationbeautiful roomstreet noiseminute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in mid-October. On check in, make sure to ask for a non-smoking room (if you don't smoke!) - these rooms are all on the second floor. We had booked an executive sea-view room, and were upgraded to a VIP suite as it was a non-smoking room. The fixtures and fittings in the room were top-notch, with bathrobes, slippers and plush towels. The bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in! The swimming pool on the fifth floor is very small, but a nice location to sit and take in the views of the city. The gym is well-equipped. When we went out for dinner in the evening, the room was turned down, with chocolates on the pillow. The free bottle of water on arrival was also a nice touch. The hotel is in a great location for the port - literally a five minute walk from door to door. The hotel staff were friendly and attentive at all times. The breakfast was a huge feast. There were fruit, continental and cooked options, plus numerous baked goodies. For me, the breakfast catered a little too much for a sweet tooth, but there's no denying that it was a good spread. Heraklion itself is a commercial city, which lacks the character of Chania and Rethymno.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a3002040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megaron, Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and for choosing The GDM Megaron Hotel for your stay. Thank you also for sharing your experiences, we know it’s all the little touches that make a difference to our guests. To know that you thought so highly of our hotel, our team and our service in particular is incredibly motivating for us all. Thank you.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This beautiful hotel is an oasis in the middle of a bustling city. The location is wonderful, very close to the old Venetian Port and right next to the bus station for Knossos. The staff are especially kind and helpful and they have a great massage therapist ( superb after all the scrambling around ancient ruins). Breakfast buffet is incredible and views from the breakfast room amazing. A treat to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Venetian Port
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 840VictoriaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megaron, Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear 840VictoriaS,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The GDM Megaron Hotel, it was a pleasure looking after you during your stay. It always a delight to read such a fantastic review of our hotel and to read such kind words about our staff.
It was also great to read that you were able to make the most of the facilities the hotel has to offer as well as the fantastic attractions in the Heraklion area.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

It was lovely to return to this hotel and find that nothing had changed. The staff were just as friendly and helpful. The room was excellent with a seaview and a very good bathroom with shower and bath. Very good breakfast, included in the room rate, everything you could want. We are impressed by the very high standards in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megaron, Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Julie B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again here at The GDM Megaron Hotel, it was a pleasure to see you and look after you again. It was fantastic to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you were able to make use of the wonderful facilities we have to offer our guests. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

every year they get even better, staff is great - welcoming - friendly and professional
i had made a booking elsewhere and thought about checking with them, they immediately remembered me so eventually i cancelled my other hotels and stayeyd with them twice

great room
excellent breakfast
location unbeatable for solo traveller
will be back soon again

Room Tip: room with view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a great stay at the Megaron in Crete. The location was perfect, close to old town...and walking distance to the ferry terminal, and we had amazing views from our two balconies. One thing to note, the free breakfast was mind blowing. Besides a nice set up of hot dishes, the selection of cheeses, fruit, and pastries was better than anything we've come across. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room, worth it if you can get one. Wish there were seats on the balconies to enjoy the view though.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenLakeDave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews