We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GDM Megaron Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Atrion Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$105
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marin Dream Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sofia Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iraklion Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mirabello(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$49
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Vergis Epavlis(Heraklion)
$164
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveler rating
836
169
35
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
836
169
35
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe bushomemade cookiesrooftop restaurantgreat hotelappointed roomsturn down servicetop floorbreakfast buffetcorner roomluxury hotelarchaeological museumsmall poolsea viewperfect locationbeautiful roomstreet noiseminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel!

The good:

Great service
large spacious rooms
clean and large bathrooms
Modern and stylish decor
great breakfast,
great location

Nothing bad to speak of.

You cannot go wrong with this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardalon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have no experience staying in other luxury hotels in Heraklion but my sense is that there are not many choices. I sought the best luxury hotel in Heraklion and chose the GDM Megaron based on Tripadvisor reviews.

The hotel's location is convenient - close to the ocean, the archaeological museum and ground transportation. The airport is less than 10 minutes drive away. Knossos is less than 30 minutes drive (we left early in the morning and you should too to avoid traffic, crowds and Summer heat).

The building has a beautiful 19th century exterior and an updated interior (marble; hard wood floors; modern fixtures and lighting). Our room was quite large, clean and featured high ceilings and a big balcony with views of the Old Harbor, the remains of the Arsenali (warehouses for the Venetian fleet) and the old Venetian fortress of Rocca al Mare -- all of these, illuminated at night, are quite beautiful.

The staff were attentive, warm and conscientious. I had a good experience with the reception in the sense that they were welcoming, sincere and worked hard to help me (getting restaurant reservations; procuring guides and drivers; arranging airline tickets when Aegean unexpectedly cancelled our departure flight). The cookies offered while checking in were very welcome.

The hotel management could make a few improvements in my view. First, although the reception staff was excellent, I think they were understaffed to deal with large groups arriving simultaneously or even a few guests simultaneously needing concierge services (e.g., reservations; guides; drivers). I had the sense, perhaps my mistake, that the concierge and reception were combined functions here whereas in most luxury hotels these are separate functions. Again, I thought the reception was excellent but overtasked. Second, I think the breakfast buffet offering and quality while good was not exceptional, that is, not at the luxury hotel level, at least compared to what one experiences in other luxury hotels in Europe (although perhaps not yet Greece) and Asia. My impression is that the hotel would stack up favorably compared to other local competition but less favorably to international competition.

The hotel has a very small outdoor pool on the roof, which, depending on your point of view is either too small or somewhat cute, closer in nature to an under-heated jacuzzi. The water when we visited this July was unpleasantly cold. I habituated through numbness...and alcohol. The pool also featured something unusual in my experience: glass portholes on the side furnishing underwater views from the outside. I'm unsure the intended purpose of these portals. But I did notice an old man light a cigar and seat himself in a lounge chair facing these underwater glass portals. He affected reading a newspaper. Inside the pool? A young woman in her bikini, swimming, unaware of both portal and man, initially. When she left, he left, separately. As I say, whether this pool is good or bad depends, perhaps literally, on one's point of view.

The views out from the pool area and the adjacent restaurant are very lovely -- the Old Harbor, the old Venetian ship warehouses (Arsenali) and fortress. We witnessed a spectacular sunset here. Nearby, on this top floor, is a pleasant restaurant offering outdoor seating with canopied sun-protection and glass wind-protection (the restaurant faces North and the North winds, known as Etesians or Meltemi, can be quite strong in the afternoons from mid-May to mid-September). We enjoyed a fine moonlit dinner.

I enjoyed my stay here and I would happily return. If you come here, you simply must visit Knossos which I have reviewed separately on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with a harbor view and balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaoDu514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I will never stop praising this hotel because even if i have been to more than 100 different hotels in my life the GDM MEGARON stands for his name. Once again the staff(even if it was different) is excellent, the food at the restaurant delicious and what can i say about the breakfast?! Only if you have the chance to taste this one of a kind breakfast you can understand why someone wants to get back as soon as possible! Do not hesitate ask for an upgrade! The staff at the front desk can make any dream come true!!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having previously stayed here we knew what to expect, and therefore were a little disappointed. The rooms are fine and everything works as well as previously. It is a good hotel in a good location forthe bus station and ferry. Staff are friendly. BUT a few things need improving: 1 the hotel needs a child lock for the tv if they are going to allow broadcast of porn on some channels. While trying to find the news we saw more than we wanted of a raunchy adult station at 6pm! , 2 the restaurant staff need some basic training in hygiene as we saw them touching bread and placing it in baskets bare handed after wiping tables AND another preparing an ice coffee usingnher bare hands to put ice in a glass! Sorry...that is just wrong and potentially can risk a guest getting ill!

Lastly. Staff on the front desk casually dressed and enjoying a nice long conversation on their mobile phone with a coffee as two guests newly arrived wait to check in...?

We like the Megaron but it is in need of some sharper management!

Room Tip: All rooms are under the flight path of the airport so it is noisy but sea harbour viewsvon 4th floor are the nicest!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Megaron for a week at the end of July, after a busy month of touring around various cities.What a great relaxing way to finish our holiday!We'd paid extra for a suite with a sea view.Our room was very spacious, and the Bulgari amenities in the bathroom were a nice touch.The hotel was easy to get to from the airport bus, and is right beside local and regional bus services-no need for a car. The absolute knockout at this place is the breakfast-the best I have had anywhere.Voula is the main point of contact in the breakfast room, and she is amazing.She remembered every morning to make my fresh mountain herbs tea, without being asked!They have so many nice breakfast options available, and lots of healthy options too. Fresh baked cookies are available throughout the day.All reception staff were top-knotch-especially Elina.The pool itself is small, but is more than adequate for cooling off, and has a truly amazing view.Top floor restaurant at night has a spectacular sunset view.
Walking distance to Venetian port, archaeological museum, bus to knossos, town shops and restaurants. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor, and got some noise from chairs in the restaurant above at night. But the view made up for it!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callinghomekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews