We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but needs some improving”
Review of GDM Megaron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GDM Megaron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having previously stayed here we knew what to expect, and therefore were a little disappointed. The rooms are fine and everything works as well as previously. It is a good hotel in a good location forthe bus station and ferry. Staff are friendly. BUT a few things need improving: 1 the hotel needs a child lock for the tv if they are going to allow broadcast of porn on some channels. While trying to find the news we saw more than we wanted of a raunchy adult station at 6pm! , 2 the restaurant staff need some basic training in hygiene as we saw them touching bread and placing it in baskets bare handed after wiping tables AND another preparing an ice coffee usingnher bare hands to put ice in a glass! Sorry...that is just wrong and potentially can risk a guest getting ill!

Lastly. Staff on the front desk casually dressed and enjoying a nice long conversation on their mobile phone with a coffee as two guests newly arrived wait to check in...?

We like the Megaron but it is in need of some sharper management!

Room Tip: All rooms are under the flight path of the airport so it is noisy but sea harbour viewsvon 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Megaron for a week at the end of July, after a busy month of touring around various cities.What a great relaxing way to finish our holiday!We'd paid extra for a suite with a sea view.Our room was very spacious, and the Bulgari amenities in the bathroom were a nice touch.The hotel was easy to get to from the airport bus, and is right beside local and regional bus services-no need for a car. The absolute knockout at this place is the breakfast-the best I have had anywhere.Voula is the main point of contact in the breakfast room, and she is amazing.She remembered every morning to make my fresh mountain herbs tea, without being asked!They have so many nice breakfast options available, and lots of healthy options too. Fresh baked cookies are available throughout the day.All reception staff were top-knotch-especially Elina.The pool itself is small, but is more than adequate for cooling off, and has a truly amazing view.Top floor restaurant at night has a spectacular sunset view.
Walking distance to Venetian port, archaeological museum, bus to knossos, town shops and restaurants. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor, and got some noise from chairs in the restaurant above at night. But the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callinghomekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

There is nothing more exciting then walking into a 21st century hotel magnificiently encased in a clasical 19th century renovated shell.
Hard wood floors,marble,granite,glass wherever one was:public spaces or one's own room.
A breakfast-buffet with all the healthy and delicious food of a Mediterranean diet.
And the staff?.........could have met more plesant and helpful staff.
If I ever return to Heraklion,this is the place where I would like to stay.

Room Tip: Up front facing the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night during our honeymoon to Greece. After travelling to Santorini and Mykonos, we went to Crete. We travelled by high speed boat from Mykonos and booked this hotel due to its location. It is directly beside the port. It is literally walking distance, even if you are pulling two 70 pound suitcases. It is very chic and modern....reception desk seemed a bit confused, but nothing too serious. The rooms were small in the sleeping area, but the bathroom area was large and luxurious. Breakfast was fantastic, one of our best during the course of our three week stay in Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunlover1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The GDM Megaron is very conveniently located. We arrived in Iraklion by ferry, and we could literally see the hotel when we disembarked. There is an intra-city bus station (with a bus to Knossos) directly across from the hotel, and beside it, across the road, is the inter-city bus station.

Check in was very quick and pleasant, and all staff spoke flawless English.

The room itself was modern and very comfortable. This was also the best (softest) bed we had during our trip. We paid extra for a view of the harbour, which was likely not worthwhile. I found the harbour to be busy, and more functional than scenic.

This hotel also offered the best and most diverse breakfast we received in all of our two week stay in Greece. The dining area was tasteful and modern. We also ordered room service and, although we ordered very late (nearly 11pm), the food was warm, plentiful and very good.

We did not use the pool or gym, so cannot speak to those aspects of the hotel.

Finally, the ONE "con" of our stay: the bathroom. There is no curtain for the shower and the glass door does not cover the entire side of the tub, which resulted in a very wet and slippery step when getting out of the tub. I was also excited to use the Jacuzzi, but the jets were broken.

All in all, a great hotel - wish we had stayed more than one night!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanna83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

do not expect nothing special in heraklion. the hotel is great. great breakfast. great service. great rooms. great restaurant on top. but nothing to do in heraklion. rent a car and visit the island.
the visit to the palace Knossos is not so good unless you understand a lot about what it was the micean civilization.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergelegabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and a little son. The hotel truly deserves the 5 stars. It is located just next to the harbor, the views from the balcony were stunning. Great service, nice decoration and on top of it- a really good breakfast. The price was more then reasonable, we will stay here again if in Crete!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kariotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.7 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,770 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
64.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GDM Megaron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GDM Megaron Hotel

Address: 9, D. Beaufort, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Business Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $83 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GDM Megaron Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925 and classified as a historical building the GDM Megaron luxury hotel is located in the heart of Heraklion overlooking the harbor within walking distance of all the major sights of the city. The great architectural design and interior decoration together with the warm - welcoming atmosphere and the high standard of services provided will satisfy even the most demanding guest. Accommodation The 58 tastefully decorated rooms feature the latest facilities such as ISDN private telephone line with voice mail, extra private telephone line for facsimile use, Satellite TV ADSL internet access ,Wi fi free , safe, mini bar , tea & coffee facilities, soundproof windows, air conditioning all around the clock, sprinklers and smoke detectors. The bathrooms are equipped with telephone, hairdryer, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. Additional amenities, such as TV in bathroom and Jacuzzi, are provided in the V.I.P. Rooms, as well as the Presidential Suites which are designed specifically with your needs in mind. Dining The "Plaza Café" a casual all day, all purpose indoor café ideal for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a coffee overlooking the old harbour. "The Living Room" lounge and bar is the ideal setting for a quiet aperitif in between the hotel's two atriums providing also a TV corner and a library. "The Megaron 5th" Bar Restaurant is located on the top floor with the city's most stunning views of the old harbour. It provides a unique combination of an excellent location, lounge music and superb Cretan Mediterranean cuisine with dishes and specialities prepared by the hotel's Chef. Outdoor dining is available during the summer on the roof top. Recreational Facilities The Health Club on the 4th floor, exclusively for hotel guests is equipped with a variety of fitness equipment as well as a steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a massage table and a sauna with colour and music therapy. The sun beds and umbrellas by the swimming pool area on the roof are perfect for relaxing after a busy day. Hospitality Services The GDM Megaron staff is at our guests' service around the clock, providing twice-daily maid service, room service and courteous concierge assistance. Well equipped meeting rooms are the ideal venue for meetings whether it is a seminar, a cocktail reception, a gala dinner or even an exhibition. Also at our guests' disposal, there are tennis and golf arrangements, non smoking rooms, handicap rooms, medical service, secretarial services, limousine service, car rental and baby sitting, available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your GDM Megaron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gdm Megaron
Gdm Megaron Heraklion
GDM Megaron Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing