We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, great breakfast”
Review of GDM Megaron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GDM Megaron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed a the Megaron because of its location next to the port. We arrived on the ferry from Santorini at about 9pm and after a 5 minute walk we were standing at reception checking in. We were upgraded to a larger room which was huge compared with others that we have stayed in. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom was light and clean with a rain head shower. The staff were great and the breakfast was fantastic. The hotel was a good base from which to visit Knossos, the bus station is right out the front of the hotel. Heraklion itself is a bit dead, with not much happening.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlo-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
There are newer reviews for GDM Megaron Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 912 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed one night at the Megaron with my small family. The room was rather small and too crowded i would say with all the furniture so there wasn't a lot of space in the room. I had a VIP room with a sea view from afar, the hotel isn't actually by the sea.

Well apart from that, the service was top notch and the breakfast very good. If you don't mind the "smaller" space then it is a good choice. I would return but again just for short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GammelMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at GDM Megaron during the first leg our our Honeymoon in Greece. All we can say is that we wish all 3 of our hotels were exactly like Megaron. It was a superb hotel. It was stylish and comfortable, the food was excellent, and the staff was phenomenal! The hotel is located in a perfect location. The view is beautiful and it is also conveniently located to many shops and restaurants. The bus station was right behind the hotel and the bus stop for the airport was only a 5 minute walk. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Crete, you won't regret choosing to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked the hotel due to its proximity to the airport (10 minute taxi ride costing 10Euros). It was a good choice. A large hotel with very professional staff, all of whom were efficient and helpful.
The hotel has a great location. We had an easy walk to all the restaurants and had our morning walk around the old harbour.
The room (we were upgraded) was very comfortable – huge bed, stylish decor, and great bathroom. The breakfasts offered a range of hot and cold dishes (and wonderful cakes and pastries). There is car park with easy access to a road leading to the main national run that runs east west along the north coast. We had Anna Cars deliver and collect our hire car here

We would use the GDM Megaron again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffstyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

While my husband and I usually shun large commercial hotels when we travel abroad, this hotel was in such a perfect location we couldn't pass it up. Our room, beautifully appointed, overlooked the waterfront, including the Venetian fortress and seal wall that is beautifully lit at night.

We found great service, food and a marvelous breakfast available here, and would highly recommend it. The only negative aspect was the smoking that obviously goes on in the hotel, despite no smoking signs everywhere!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Rather often you ask yourself if they still exists, hotels that offer top qualityinfrastructure, top quality service, top staff, a superb location and a very good price. We found one here. It begins with the incredible beautiful rooms, the more than great breakfast, the staff that loves the clients... and it never ends.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hd_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel. From the entrance to the cafe and the rooms every step sees the small details which make a great hotel. The rooms are big with a massive king size bed, beautiful snugly duvet and Bulgari bathroom accessories.

The service is exemplary and no request is denied. I even had the lovely reception lady make coffee for me at 5am. The breakfast is wonderful, make sure to have the Greek yoghurt with local honey.

The perfect nightcap - thick hot chocolate with coconut flavoring.

Well situated near the city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheryleMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.7 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,729 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
37.5 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GDM Megaron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GDM Megaron Hotel

Address: 9, D. Beaufort, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Business Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $96 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GDM Megaron Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925 and classified as a historical building the GDM Megaron luxury hotel is located in the heart of Heraklion overlooking the harbor within walking distance of all the major sights of the city. The great architectural design and interior decoration together with the warm - welcoming atmosphere and the high standard of services provided will satisfy even the most demanding guest. Accommodation The 58 tastefully decorated rooms feature the latest facilities such as ISDN private telephone line with voice mail, extra private telephone line for facsimile use, Satellite TV ADSL internet access ,Wi fi free , safe, mini bar , tea & coffee facilities, soundproof windows, air conditioning all around the clock, sprinklers and smoke detectors. The bathrooms are equipped with telephone, hairdryer, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. Additional amenities, such as TV in bathroom and Jacuzzi, are provided in the V.I.P. Rooms, as well as the Presidential Suites which are designed specifically with your needs in mind. Dining The "Plaza Café" a casual all day, all purpose indoor café ideal for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a coffee overlooking the old harbour. "The Living Room" lounge and bar is the ideal setting for a quiet aperitif in between the hotel's two atriums providing also a TV corner and a library. "The Megaron 5th" Bar Restaurant is located on the top floor with the city's most stunning views of the old harbour. It provides a unique combination of an excellent location, lounge music and superb Cretan Mediterranean cuisine with dishes and specialities prepared by the hotel's Chef. Outdoor dining is available during the summer on the roof top. Recreational Facilities The Health Club on the 4th floor, exclusively for hotel guests is equipped with a variety of fitness equipment as well as a steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a massage table and a sauna with colour and music therapy. The sun beds and umbrellas by the swimming pool area on the roof are perfect for relaxing after a busy day. Hospitality Services The GDM Megaron staff is at our guests' service around the clock, providing twice-daily maid service, room service and courteous concierge assistance. Well equipped meeting rooms are the ideal venue for meetings whether it is a seminar, a cocktail reception, a gala dinner or even an exhibition. Also at our guests' disposal, there are tennis and golf arrangements, non smoking rooms, handicap rooms, medical service, secretarial services, limousine service, car rental and baby sitting, available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GDM Megaron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gdm Megaron
Gdm Megaron Heraklion
GDM Megaron Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing