We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Could do better with the staff”
Review of GDM Megaron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GDM Megaron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Well located hotel, close to airport (8 euro taxi) and a short walk to the port for ferries and catermans, close to museums and good food choices. Building was immaculate and most impressive near the waterfront. Room was very stylish.large with very comfortable bed. Excellent bathroom with Bulvari toiletries.
Breakfast was average with great dessert and bread selection but limited hot foods.

Unfortunately staff left a little to be desired. On arrival the staff were pleasant and advised that we were to be given an upgraded room (we had ordered a sea view room) but then proceeded to argue amongst themselves about whether to upgrade. The room was fine but it left a poor impression having them argue infront of us regarding the room. We had difficulty paying the bill twice we were advised to come later - first late in the evening prior to departing (as reception was on private phone call and quite obviously could not be bothered with clients whilst planning her personal life), and secondly just before breakfast (think the staff member was hoping that one of her collegues would do the paperwork if we came later).

In summary a good hotel, excellent clean rooms and well located.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank Mazza&Fazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2007

Stayed in this hotel a week at early September during a business trip in Crete. Great location in the city centre. Good quality of the rooms. Good tips for restaurants on the website.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JaakkoBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Surely it's the best hotel in the city of Heraklion, beautiful architecture & interior design, great view to the venetian port for the sea view rooms, rooms and bathrooms with decent space what doesn't match the 5 star luxury hotel rating is the lack of a doorman.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Touring_Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Arrived on a Monday evening at 21:25hrs. No greeting, no doorman, no porter. Got lost finding Reception. After a while, the bar waitress brought up the luggage. Small room (double booked) with a soft mattress which leads to two persons rolling into the "V" in the middle. Stylish hotel but clearly not enough staff. Decent selection of food for breakfast, although cooked food on buffet not hot. Lovely bread selection incidentally. Excellent fruit selection. No hot water served with tea.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WegenerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

We stayed at the Megaron twice the first time when we flew in from Athens, and the second time a week later the night before we took the boat to Santorini. I chose the hotel because I wanted an upscale modern hotel with a quiet room, modern bath and a big bed. We had a view of the sea, and the room had all the conveniences one could desire including a large firm double bed. There is a cafe that serves meals at all hours during the day which should appeal to Americans who like to eat dinner at 6:00 PM. There is also a view restaurant on the top floor. The food was fine, but not haute cuisine. However, the deserts available for tea time were world class. The service was excellent, and the staff friendly.
The location was also good the downtown area being only a 5 minute walk. We also could walk to the boat to Santorini. We had a very pleasant stay at the Megaron, and I recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Vesenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

This is by far the best hotel in Heraklio. I live in Chania and wnet there for the weekend. It is a beautiful building, richt across the harbour, good views from the sea view rooms, nice room (typical 5 star city hotel, my only gripe was the bath tub which was plastic and small (it looked kind of cheap for the hotel standard). Also good linen and fancy toiletries (bulgary). I didn't try the hotel restaurant (it looked kind of empty), location is unbeatable with amazing veranda overlloking the port ( very romantic), since i went for dinner at Loukoulos (great food, great wine list, great service-highly recommended!). Last but not least is the breakfast which is the highlight of the hotel served in the beautiful cafeteria and with a vast variety and chic presentation (rare to find both!).

My only drawback was the rate, 163 euros, which might not be overpriced for the quality but it is the same all year around and i think it is weird to pay the same in June as in February (the hotel was also sort of empty).

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank localinchania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2007

We stayed two nights at the Megaron, which is located just above the port with a nice view of the harbor. It is a relatively new hotel (opened 3 years ago) modern in style, well designed, nice artwork in the public rooms, with very nicely appointed rooms and excellent bathrooms. Lighting in the rooms is somewhat dim, TVs face away from the beds, which is a bit strange, but the rooms are otherwise fully appointed with bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, mini-bar, internet access, fax machine, private fax line, private phone number and Hans Grohe fixtures in the bathroom. The 2nd floor is a non-smoking floor. Make sure you request a room with a view of the port. The food in the Plaza Cafe is acceptable (we ate a lunch and two breakfasts there), breakfast buffet (included in room rate) is quite extensive though the food is not spectacular. BUT, remember that Greeks smoke, and there is no non-smoking section, so you can be surrounded by chain smokers -- which happened to us one morning at breakfast. There is a pool on the roof which would be a big plus in the summer when it is hot.

We also had dinner in the 5th Floor Bar Restaurant. Because it was the off season, we were the only guests that evening. The restaurant has a great view over the port and in the summer there are tables outside, so it should be quite nice with warmer temps. The dinner was good, not especially expensive, but there was no fresh fish on the menu, so the choices were mostly in the lamb and meat categories, plus various combos of pasta. We had a Creten red wine from the Nobile winery (2003) that was quite drinkable and a bargain at 28Euros. Again, no smokers, so we enjoyed the dinner and the service was excellent.

The hotel staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.1 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,846 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
1,018 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
64.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GDM Megaron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GDM Megaron Hotel

Address: 9, D. Beaufort, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Business Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $91 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GDM Megaron Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925 and classified as a historical building the GDM Megaron luxury hotel is located in the heart of Heraklion overlooking the harbor within walking distance of all the major sights of the city. The great architectural design and interior decoration together with the warm - welcoming atmosphere and the high standard of services provided will satisfy even the most demanding guest. Accommodation The 58 tastefully decorated rooms feature the latest facilities such as ISDN private telephone line with voice mail, extra private telephone line for facsimile use, Satellite TV ADSL internet access ,Wi fi free , safe, mini bar , tea & coffee facilities, soundproof windows, air conditioning all around the clock, sprinklers and smoke detectors. The bathrooms are equipped with telephone, hairdryer, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. Additional amenities, such as TV in bathroom and Jacuzzi, are provided in the V.I.P. Rooms, as well as the Presidential Suites which are designed specifically with your needs in mind. Dining The "Plaza Café" a casual all day, all purpose indoor café ideal for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a coffee overlooking the old harbour. "The Living Room" lounge and bar is the ideal setting for a quiet aperitif in between the hotel's two atriums providing also a TV corner and a library. "The Megaron 5th" Bar Restaurant is located on the top floor with the city's most stunning views of the old harbour. It provides a unique combination of an excellent location, lounge music and superb Cretan Mediterranean cuisine with dishes and specialities prepared by the hotel's Chef. Outdoor dining is available during the summer on the roof top. Recreational Facilities The Health Club on the 4th floor, exclusively for hotel guests is equipped with a variety of fitness equipment as well as a steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a massage table and a sauna with colour and music therapy. The sun beds and umbrellas by the swimming pool area on the roof are perfect for relaxing after a busy day. Hospitality Services The GDM Megaron staff is at our guests' service around the clock, providing twice-daily maid service, room service and courteous concierge assistance. Well equipped meeting rooms are the ideal venue for meetings whether it is a seminar, a cocktail reception, a gala dinner or even an exhibition. Also at our guests' disposal, there are tennis and golf arrangements, non smoking rooms, handicap rooms, medical service, secretarial services, limousine service, car rental and baby sitting, available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your GDM Megaron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gdm Megaron
Gdm Megaron Heraklion
GDM Megaron Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing