We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine is different yet great”
Review of Lyrarakis Winery

Lyrarakis Winery
Ranked #13 of 71 things to do in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Lyrarakis Estate is a family winery which has been producing high quality wines since 1966 with a strong focus on rare local varieties and producing single variety wines. Surrounded by the idyllic setting of the vineyards and the Lassithi mountains we offer you the opportunity to enjoy nature and discover local varieties abd wines distinguished by the uniqueness of their origin and heritage.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
“Wine is different yet great”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have been to a few winery's back in Australia. I can say this is easily the best wine I have tasted. The aroma's that you can smell and taste in the wine is different to anything that I have had before. George our tour guide showed us around. He is full of knowledge on the area. A must visit in crete.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bekyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A day with Persephone”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I made a reservation in advance. When we approached the winery, Persephone greeted us and told us we would be the only ones on the tour at that assigned time, and that we were "lucky". Truer words were never spoken. We spent a few minutes on the grounds. Very beautiful setting surrounded by mountains. She described the varieties they grew at their vineyard. She was very articulate and educational. We then retreated to the tasting table, we were treated to 5 or 6 Cretan Tidbits, homemade by the family matriarch. We sampled several tasty wines. One of our unexpected highlights was the personal conversation we were able to have with Persephone. She represented the winery and the Cretan way of life wonderfully and she allowed us to have an experience to remember. Also, we had accidentally left our camera on our way out. Persephone came running down the road to flag us down. She saved us tremendous aggravation and time. We were extremely grateful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Wine tasting experience ever!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a fantastic day out we had visiting the Lyrarakis Winery. Mrs Lyrarakis and Persephone were so warm and welcoming. They made the tour feel very personal and special to us and yet I'm sure the many hundreds of people who work through their doors all feel the same.
It was great to see the actual vines and gain an understanding of all the different varieties. It was so quiet and peaceful up there in Alagni.
We had visited another winery in Crete last year and enjoyed that, at the time we tried about 4 different wines so imagine our surprise when we were given around 10 bottles to try at Lyrarakis and not a bad wine among them.
A local lady had prepared some cretan nibbles as well which were outstanding. We could have sat their all day chatting and sampling the goods.
The wine is excellent! We bought 4 bottles to take away and within the next 4 days we had drunk them all. We ended up buying another one of theirs from the hotel shop and another in the airport on the way home. I wish we could buy it over here in the north of England. I seriously considered petitioning Waitrose and M&S to get some in.
If you like a dry red, try their Mandilari it is outstanding.
A massive thanks to Mrs Lyrarakis and Persephone, it was one of our favourite experiences in Crete.
Hope to see you again soon

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LFCfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wine at its best”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The highlight of our trip to Crete.

We are wine lovers and this place did not disappoint. The tasting is 5 euros.

We got a tour of the winery and tried about 8 wines. Our hostess treated us like family and did not mind that we arrived close to closing time. We also had bread and cheese served with our wine.

Plyto wine is a must try.

We bought the Plyto, Dafni and rose varieties to take back home but ended up consuming most of them on the rest of our trip because they were THAT good. We also bought the verjuice. Everything was very well priced!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Petalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Winery”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent an afternoon with our hostess sipping their delectable wines, especially those of cretean origin. This has been one of our best 'tourist' destinations in crete. Set in idyllic location, greek hospitality at its best.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rodneyebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyrarakis Winery also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Vatolakkos, Chania Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Lyrarakis Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing