We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, basic hotel in a good location”
Review of Poseidon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Heraklion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poseidon Hotel
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Poseidon is in a good location if you are arriving by boat, as it is approximately 5 minutes from the ferry port. Very convenient if hiring a car as there is plenty of free parking near by.
Our room was a decent size, clean but tired; it really could do with a bit of an update. The full size fridge in the room was a bonus. The bathroom was tiny, with no shower curtain and no room for one to be added either; which meant that whenever we had a shower the bathroom got absolutely soaked.
The staff are very helpful, particularly Irene. When we arrived we had a shower head that was broken and a tap that constantly dripped, she arranged for both of these to be fixed in a speedy manner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Poseidon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 56 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

This a very clean and convenient budget hotel. Irene runs this hotel and it is a good place to stay if you are on a budget or perhaps are driving a car. There is parking all around and many of the rooms look over the new port.
Rooms are spartan but clean and facilities all work. blankets are provided if the AC is too severe. Breakfast is plain but adequate for some travellers.
Next door is a lovely new restaurant and the food is of a high quality. At night it fills with diners from about 8pm and is popular. Like this hotel the overview is of the new port.
Don't expect a fancy hotel in the Poseidon, but it is value for money. The city airport is only a few kilometers away and this part of the city is affected with some takeoff noise, but it is tolerable. Enjoy your stay and the meals next door.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have good views, afternoon sun is hot and good for laundry.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunner do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

As for the reviews on the noise of the planes.... Let me just point out that what do you expect when the airport is less than 5 mins drive from the centre itself, you CAN still hear the planes even if you stayed in the actual centre of the city!! A lovely clean hotel, pleasant staff & wonderful views if the harbour

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busterlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is not the nicest you'll stay, but I believe the area charges a premium because it is so close to the port. For $40 Euros per night (Single room), this was the cheapest place around. Walking distance to the Heraklio bus station and the hotel overlooks the port, so easy to walk if you are catching a ferry as I was. For the convenience, and for the staff member Irene who works there, this is a steal!

Some rooms have AC and some don't so be sure to ask! Also, if you are willing to walk a little (2km) there are some great views on the city center walk past the port.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Very simple. Just a room with beds. My husband remarked that we were staying in a hospital because of the white sheets. No blanket. Balcony space is ok. Downside is that it can get very loud because it is under the route which all the planes land. Convenient because it is right by the seaport.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalEata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Booked a hotel at Chania but caught the only ferry from Santorini to Heraklion and arrived at 10:30pm. I didn't realise that the distance between the 2 ports is almost 200km and it would cost 170 Euro to catch a taxi there (because the bus stopped going there hours earlier). We decided to stay at Heraklion and the taxi driver drove us to Hotel Poseidon. My dad and I were lucky to get a twin room at around 11pm at night. The room was basic, but very clean. If you want the control for the air conditioner, you have to pay 5 Euro extra. There was a large balcony attached to the hotel room. The area isn't all that convenient for walking into the city (approximately 20 minutes). Instead, you catch a bus at the end of the street in to town. The port is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The staff were amazing throughout the whole stay. They were incredibly friendly and offered us lots of information, from where to get some laundry done to which beaches to go to. A lot of larger hotels could learn a lot about customer service from the staff at a hotel like Hotel Poseidon. The restaurant at the front of the hotel overlooking the port (about 1 minute away) has amazing food! It was recommended by one of the staff on the front counter.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

If you can sleep through anything and are traveling on a budget, this hotel is for you. The staff was VERY nice--the hotel was nice and clean. But the airplanes overhead, the way noise travels between rooms, the street noise, and the magic portal in the wall that let mosquitos into our room (access panel to the hot water taps in the bathroom), combined with the terrible beds made this place an unpleasant experience for us.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bs5549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.1 mi away
Life Boutique Hotel
Life Boutique Hotel
#37 of 58 in Heraklion
84 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel LiLi
Hotel LiLi
#19 of 58 in Heraklion
98 reviews
1.6 mi away
Athinaikon Hotel
Athinaikon Hotel
#28 of 58 in Heraklion
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon Amoudara
Hotel Poseidon Amoudara
#16 of 32 in Amoudara
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#12 of 58 in Heraklion
516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iraklion Hotel
Iraklion Hotel
#18 of 58 in Heraklion
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Hotel

Address: Sof. Venizelou 61, Heraklion, Crete GR-71307, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $41 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 177
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Heraklion
Poseidon Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing