We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and Conveniently Located”
Review of Atrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atrion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Clean, comfortable room with a balcony, fridge, safe and stand-up shower. It was late in the season so we were offered lower rate when we called.

Be sure to ask for non-smoking room.

The neighborhood is not attractive, but it's safe and just a short walk from the Ayios Markos Square. Free Wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skrnoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 457 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2009

Let's start by saying that this place was very conveniently located to the dock where our ship landed. We were not sure as to how far we would need to walk so we took a cab but after staying in Crete for a few days we realized how close the hotel actually was to everything. Less that 1km from the harbor it is really a easy walk.
Service was excellent. Upon arriving the cabbie did not have change for a 50 euro bill and the fare was only 7 euro. When we went into the hotel, the woman at the front desk kindly took her own money out of her pocket to pay for the cab and didn't harass us about re payment (we paid her back the following day). Also since we arrived by boat at 7AM it was too early to check in but she let us anyway and even upgraded us to a suite for no extra charge. The hotel also assisted us so much with information and maps as well as using the house phone to rearrange our travel schedule.
Maid service was excellent and really on top of keeping the room perfect.
But the best part for me was the inclusive breakfast buffet. Unlike other hotels we stayed at throughout Greece and Sicily which included bfast buffets, Atrion did very well by providing a more Western style bfast with fresh pastries and jucies, eggs, sausage and bacon. Potatoes and fruits. It was not decadent like the 4 Seasons but it was definitely a welcoming way to wake up. Especially since most typical Greek bfast include a simple bread and cheese with coffee. For this and its excellent service I give it a 5 star rating. Great service, value and a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justinhlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Stayed here for 4th time for arriving and departing nights for Crete drive yourself holiday. Paid the extra to get a suite on the 6th floor. Huge rooms, electrically adjustable bed, leather lounges, TVs in both loungeroom and bedroom, walk in robe. Massive balcony with superb view of ocean and city. Only downside is smoking in rooms should not be allowed as the smell lingers.
Breakfast FANTASTIC. Easy walking distance to restaurants and bars. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandmshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

It may not be a luxurous hotel; however it is recently rennovated, very clean, right at the center of Heracklion so that you wont need any car for your tours within the city. The stuff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet very satisfying. Our room was a bit small but very clean, with a nice bathroom and a very comfortable bed and pillows..:)... In the past i have stayed in other hotels in Heracklion, but from now on i will definetely return to Atrion. Its price for value is also very good.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zola_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

now i had been to this hotel 4 years prior to staying on this occasion and i have to say in terms of its interior it has improved. it is very modern and newly renovated. the staff are friendly and the breakfast was ok. in terms of location it was right in the centre of heraklion so it was excellent in terms of getting around in the centre of the city. it was a 10 minute walk to all the buses so was convenient. the only thing was, that they didnt think about renovating the windows - or rather what windows? what i mean is, and something i forgot about when i booked, is that the windows in the rooms are not glass, they are like an outdoor blind and of course as a result there really is no barrier to the noise that is going on outside in the centre of town. as this hotel is surrounded by the main road/highway in crete, it is non-stop for most of the night. thankfully we only stayed one night as we were on our way to chania, but i have to say that the traffic in heraklion has increased by manyfold since the last time i visited and therefore this hotel, although comfortable was terribly noisy and you really couldnt get any sleep. other than that it was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blueeyes73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

Convenient location near harbor, with a 5-minute walk to good seafood restaurants, to the Venetian fortress, and “downtown” shopping areas, 10-15 minute walk to Archaeological Museum.

Modern hotel has all the amenities: restaurant, bar, breakfast garden, laundry service; room had comfortable bed, bath with tub, balcony, hair dryer, safe, mini bar. Breakfast was huge, dozens of hot and cold items; they offered dinner but we ate at neighborhood restaurants.

We were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of Cretan wine and snacks. Staff was very friendly and helpful. All for 110 euros per night, very reasonable considering location and style. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank corydalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We stayed at the Atrion for one night prior to catching a ferry to Santorini the following morning. The hotel wasn't particularly easy to find at first (a number of the streets around Heraklion aren't named) but there is a sign indicating the way to the hotel from the main road along the seafront if you are coming from that way.

The area around the hotel is not very attractive (and in fact, as other reviewers have mentioned, Heraklion itself is not a particularly pleasant city - big, scruffy and noisy but lacking the charm and character to redeem it - this was even more noticeable when coming from the lovely Hania!), but the location is very convenient for access to the port and bus station, and the restaurants and bars around the Four Lions fountain (all about 10-15 mins walk).

The hotel itself was clean, modern, and tastefully decorated. Our room was a good size, with comfortable beds, air con, a fridge and a safe deposit box. The ensuite bathroom included a shower over a bath (including a bracket on the wall to allow you to shower without holding the shower head - unusual in Greece!). The door to the bathroom was almost pointless however - basically a glass screen with a sizeable gap all the way around the edge - the lack of privacy might be an issue for some. Breakfast was a self-service buffet, served in a pleasant room, and there was plenty of choice (cooked and continental). The staff we encountered were friendly and professional.

Overall, this is a good choice if you want somewhere clean and comfortable and predictable (OK you could probably find somewhere with more character if that's what you're after, but most of the places of this type that we looked into had pretty bad reviews!), and in a good location for access to the port. It isn't particularly cheap (we payed less than half the price for a fantastic place in Hania), but we felt that it was worth the extra for the comfort and convenience. Oh, and I personally wouldn't bother spending more than a day in Heraklion - other than Knossos and the archeological museum the city isn't particularly appealing, and the restaurants in the centre seem pretty over-priced.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freckle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.9 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kastro Hotel
Kastro Hotel
#9 of 58 in Heraklion
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrion Hotel

Address: Chronaki 9, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#7 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#12 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $61 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along with free internet access and a tasteful and modern decor, Atrion Hotel offers a central location in Heraklion, just a short walk from the promenade and Venetian port. The Atrion hotel welcomes you to a quiet corner in the heart of Heraklion, just 10 minutes' walk from the bars and restaurants of Heraklion's promenade. From comfortable standard rooms to spacious suites, Atrion Hotel's accommodation is thoughtfully appointed. Each room is fully air-conditioned and features a laptop safe and voice mail. Enjoy traditional Cretan delicacies and international cuisine at Atrion Hotel's restaurant. Relax and watch a film in Atrion's cosy TV room or enjoy a drink on the wooden-decked terrace. Heraklion's archaeological museum and historical museum are less than 400 metres from the hotel, making Atrion a very convenient base for sightseeing and business. Should you wish to explore the surrounding area, Atrion Hotel also offers a bike and car rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrion Hotel Heraklion
Atrion Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing