We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed”
Review of Atrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atrion Hotel
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Glenelg, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well placed”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A very comfortable hotel, very well placed in Heraklion to access many interesting areas.
Excellent restaurants in close proximity, an easy walk to the central square and many other attractions in the area.
The Crete historical museum is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LAD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    194
    42
    12
    6
See reviews for
88
183
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I spent 2 days at this hotel and found the staff to be very friendly and very helpful and the stay was very relaxing. The rooms are well appointed - including a lap-top size safe and free wi-fi - but they are also a little cramped and situated along very narrow corridors. Access to the rooms is via just one lift, which is also very cramped, so, in the height of the tourist season I can imagine this to be a problem for some, especially as there several floors to this hotel. The breakfasts were adequate but uninspiring and the dinner menu, which looked very attractive, was equally uninspiring when sampled with appallingly slow service. However, it is extremely well situated between the sea front and the town with easy walking access to both areas as well as the harbour and only 10 minutes drive from the airport.

Room Tip: If the stairs are a problem the very slow single lift presents challenges for those on higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My family stayed there for two days.Friendly, big rooms...very convenient for children! Not noisy at all although it is very close to the center. Breakfast was normal and seemed fresh.We were very pleased with everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Was here with my wife in Decembre 2013.
The hotel is in the heart of the city, just 2 minutes walk to the center and pedestrian area.
We have been upgraded to a bigger room (without having to ask for it) and it was very nice.
The top floor rooms have a little bit of see view.
The hotel is clean and brekfast is rich.
Good price too.

Room Tip: the higher the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pajoinviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Greece
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

we stayed for one night in 3rd floor. Staff was very helpful and room was quite good, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast also is good. There are two parking places in100 meters distance, very useful because the streets are very narrow and crowded.
The location is excellent. in five minutes walking distance you can be either at the sea side, or in the commercial center of the city

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanouil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

There is no doubt they have of the best breakfast you can possibly get! The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff will always be there to assist you with a smile. Convinient location for those who have business in the center, although parking your car would be a bit of hussle. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loukas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytilene, Greece
Level Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I came to Crete for our honeymoon and stayed here twice, once for 2 nights and another for 1 night as we stayed in Rethymno in between.
* FIRST please can everyone stop making comments about the location being "GHETTO". Really ghetto?? have you ever been to Whitehawk in Brighton or Saint pauls Bristol or those ghetto areas you see in Africa and Brazil?? Now those are ghettos. The hotel is placed in a mid europe/ mediterranean style City and places like Salerno, some cities in Albania and Athens, are like this and safe.

Anyways back to the review!

Staff: Awesome, friendly and full of Info! We also got upgraded as we were on honeymoon…for free!!! Yay! this was from a standard double to a suite. We stayed in the standard double on our last night as the lady said that she couldn't guarantee it the next time but still nice gesture! Plus we got complimentary Raki for free! woohoo!
Rooms: Big, comfortable and nice and quiet (this is a city and normally are quite noisy). Don't be scared of the 60's looking Aircon, worked better than most modern zircons.
Breakfast: Super spread with loads of cooked food!

ALSO for people that ARE scared of eating or drinking at hotels, did you know that Greece is probably the only country in the world where (nearly) everything is cheaper to have in the hotel than a restaurant? I told my wife this and she couldn't believe it. In all the hotels i have ever stayed in, this has been the case. The food is most often awesome! e.g.. Spagetti napolitan £6 !!!

hint** when you come out of the hotel, turn left and walk up the hill (also do not miss the Kafeneion and the cool bars along the way) and keep walking up, bear left where the cyprus bank is and follow it to the right (literally all this is a few mins walk) and you are bang in the centre of the eateries!!

Enjoy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.3 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#13 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marin Dream Hotel
Marin Dream Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrion Hotel

Property: Atrion Hotel
Address: Chronaki 9, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#7 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#12 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along with free internet access and a tasteful and modern decor, Atrion Hotel offers a central location in Heraklion, just a short walk from the promenade and Venetian port. The Atrion hotel welcomes you to a quiet corner in the heart of Heraklion, just 10 minutes' walk from the bars and restaurants of Heraklion's promenade. From comfortable standard rooms to spacious suites, Atrion Hotel's accommodation is thoughtfully appointed. Each room is fully air-conditioned and features a laptop safe and voice mail. Enjoy traditional Cretan delicacies and international cuisine at Atrion Hotel's restaurant. Relax and watch a film in Atrion's cosy TV room or enjoy a drink on the wooden-decked terrace. Heraklion's archaeological museum and historical museum are less than 400 metres from the hotel, making Atrion a very convenient base for sightseeing and business. Should you wish to explore the surrounding area, Atrion Hotel also offers a bike and car rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Atrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrion Hotel Heraklion
Atrion Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing