We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atrion Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mirabello(Heraklion)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Kastro Hotel(Heraklion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lena(Heraklion)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Pension Rea(Heraklion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Kronos Hotel(Heraklion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Heracleion(Heraklion)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Greco Hotel(Heraklion)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Irene(Heraklion)
View Hotel
Hotel Irini(Heraklion)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
179
224
46
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
224
46
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscenter townhistorical museumnice hotelexcellent breakfast buffetlarge balconythe wi fipleasant stayclean roomscentral locationthe busthe air conditioningferry porttop floorvenetian fortressshort stayyogurtarion
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 471 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a tough review to write because our experience was so weird. The hotel itself is new, clean, has all the amenities, and serves a wonderful breakfast buffet. Very few people were in the hotel which we thought odd as it was Holy week and tons of people were crowding the town. The staff is warm and friendly and a bit nuts. When we arrived, the hotel and our room were very warm which I initially attributed to it being early spring and they had not gotten their A/C operating properly. When we asked the receptionist to turn on the A/C in our room, whe replied that she couldn't, that it was on a computer program and it would come on between the hours of 8 and 11 pm. OK, we left to have dinner when we returned at 7:30, The A/C was on. Very pleasant. I plugged some electronics in to charge overnight while we slept (with the key card in the appropriate slot to keep lights, outlets, and A/C on) The next morning, the A/C was off, and electronics were not charged. Apparently, the hotel turns off power to save money over night. Whatever the case, the power came back back on after we called the desk. When I asked the receptionist, she replied that the outlets went off with "the switch." I don't know, yet as to which switch she was referring to. The next night that receptionist was off duty. The A/C worked normally all night long and all electronics got charged with no exceptional effort. On our third night ( and last) the first receptionist was back on duty and we were back to games with the A/C and electricity.
The real inconvenience has surfaced since we returned home. The Atrion Hotel is the only venue in Crete where I used a credit card. Every purchase was with cash. Meals, ferry bookings, taxis, rental car were paid in Euros. Folding money, not plastic.
However, my credit card company has notified me of a lot of fraudulent activity with my credit card. The center of the activity is Heraklion. I certainly don't want to accuse the staff at the hotel of misappropriating credit card information. Their information may not be secure and may be hackable. Nevertheless, I will not return to this venue in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are ovens in the afternoon
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Parking your car is not so easy, but they have a paid parking lot 1 minute away (6 € for one day)










. Excellent choice (and not expensive at all): comfortable sofas,
TV's, excellent bed, beautiful bathroom, dressing room; all decorated with high quality and style.
It had a private balcony to enjoy the view of the city and the sea.
Breakfast is very good, and starts very early .
The staff is very helpful and kind, and will do everything you need to have a pleasant stay.
It is only 5 min. to the airport and the taxi costs only € 10,00 to get there.
good hotel with great accomodations: free internet,




Parking your car is not so easy, but they have a paid parking lot 1 minute away (6 € for one day)

Room Tip: Location: Quiet street with a 2 minute walk to the main drag or the ocean promenade in the other direction. Perfect. Great local places to eat. Authentic, cheap and so good. Suggest if you order starters that you don't order mains until you see the starter portion size. "Corner suites are large and sunny"
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed 2 days in mid Oct 2012, during our honeymoon trip.
The hotel is modern, well builded and in perfect conditions. It's located in the center, so you have many restaurants and shops near. Also there are many things closer to see: museums, the Venetian Fort and the port. There's a small shopping center about 10 blocks too, and even a disco.
We booked the executive room, at the top of the building. Excellent choice (and not expensive at all): comfortable sofas, 2 TV's, excellent bed, beautiful bathroom, dressing room; all decorated with high quality and style. It had a big private balcony to enjoy the view of the city and the sea. All you'll need is at your disposal and perfectly clean . And in case you're interested in the city and its history and culture, you'll find some books in the desk.
Breakfast is very good, and starts very early just in case you have to take the ferry. The staff is very helpful and kind, and will do everything you need to have a pleasant stay.

Definitely, we will choose it again for our next holidays in Crete.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCrazyArgentines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked a one night stay in this hotel, just before returning home, as we had to get to the airport very early.
It is only 5 min. to the airport and the taxi costs only € 10,00 to get there.
It is a very good hotel with great accomodations: free internet, good restaurant, great breakfast buffet.
We had room 303 which is very spacious (that is before they had changed the couch into a double bed and added a fifth bed, of course on our demand).
For € 160,00 we slept and dined with 5 in this hotel in the heart of Heraklion.
Parking your car is not so easy, but they have a paid parking lot 1 minute away (6 € for one day)

Room Tip: Room 303 is on the quiet side of the hotel and very spacious.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggy1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a family room for 4.
Service: First class. As we arrived, the lady at reception knew us by name (hotel was full) and was expecting us. All our silly tourist questions were answered with a smile and knowledgable response. Because of some ferry issues (they don't run to Santorini until late April) we had to shift our dates at late notice - not a problem, no fees, just a smile.
General: Rooms are nicer than advertised. They are spotlessly clean with good bathrooms, cupboard space, and comfortable beds.
Location: Quiet street with a 2 minute walk to the main drag or the ocean promenade in the other direction. Perfect. Great local places to eat. Authentic, cheap and so good. Suggest if you order starters that you don't order mains until you see the starter portion size.
Breakfast: Included and fantastic. Fresh fruit juices, bread choices, sweet cakes, halva, then hot choices, cold choices and then the best ever Greek (Cretan) yogurt. Make sure to top it with Cretan Honey. We couldn't think of anything else to ask for.
We would stay here again in a flash

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank lorrythetruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews