We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL hotel with extremely helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
1 review
“BEAUTIFUL hotel with extremely helpful staff!”
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed two nights here for our honeymoon in Greece (first trip) and even though we did not care for Heraklion (Iraklio) as a city, we absolutely loved this hotel. It was comfortable, extremely clean, and they brought us a bottle of champagne with some walnuts and honey. The pool is also very nice. The staff was the kindest and most helpful that we found anywhere on Crete.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyTX77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    384
    72
    15
    7
See reviews for
266
850
97
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and have just returned. This was the tail end of our vacation in Crete. It has a great location and good service. I would say though that although we booked early our room was the size of a postage stamp. We did not really mind but it was small, very small, and we only had a shower, and no bath with the room. My finace likes having baths so this was a bit annoying. The breakfasts were good but there were not enough staff on duty so the plated piled up on the table as no one was taking them away. We had dinner once at the Galaxy, and I would say, on the positive side that this in my view is the best dinner that we had in Heraklion. Better that the best rated restaurant in the town centre and reasonable. We called up for a massage, but the have a massage therapist that comes in who was not available for the 2 days that we were there except after 7pm which did not suit us. All in all, great looking hotel, great food, service could be better in the breakfasts, and we would have preffered a better room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vijawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillies, Owner at Galaxy Hotel Iraklio, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear Ms. vijawo,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Heraklion and for your valuable review.
We are very glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for pointing out certain aspects that we could improve upon. As you might have noticed during your stay, here at the Galaxy we try really hard to provide excellent and friendly service to all of our guests and because our goal is to continuously improve, we appreciate your feedback. We do feature larger Executive Rooms as well as rooms with baths. We would be glad to offer those to you should you decide to return.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your meals with us (we take food really seriously, featuring only fresh and local produce, organic ingredients where possible, and our own farm produced organic extra virgin olive oil) and thank you for your overall feedback on our Food & Beverage. We have already discussed all details with our relevant staff.
Regarding our massage therapist we are sorry that she could not accommodate you at a suitable time. We did get in touch with another two professionals during your stay and none could become available. We are sorry and we are in the process of cautiously expanding our masseur therapist list in order to offer more flexibility to our guests.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel. Once again, thank you for trusting us with your vacation and for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Yiannis G. Economou
Owner - Galaxy Hotel Iraklio and Galaxy Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

The Galaxy was an excellent choice to stay in Iraklio. Wonderful staff, modern rooms, nice pool area and very good food at the restuarant. Truly not much to complain about though parking is a bit rough in the area (though we did find a spot when we needed it and the staff was helpful with the search. it is also about a 10-15 walk from the city itself but that was fine with us since it made driving easier. Also, was nice that it is a straight drive from the to Knossos and only about 15 minutes. Overall, highly recommended in all regards!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2010

This was my first time staying in Greece. Upon arriving the front desk staff were very friendly and explained the amenities very well. My room was a good size and I had a queen size bed that was very comfortable. The bathroom was extremely clean and had sufficent towel which where also very clean. The carpet and walls in my room were like new condition. There are plenty shops an food near by in walking distance... which I found very convenient. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libertysafesofde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2010

At last a hotel that trully respects the customer and pays attention to his every need! In Galaxy -a recently renovated super-modern hotel in the city of Heraklion- the visitor can expect to have first class service in a posh and hospitable environment. I was there in mid May for a 3-day professional visit in Crete with very demanding working hours. Was also travelling with clients and was eager that they enjoy their stay. I was pleased. The hotel staff was very attentive, web services easily accessible in business center, room service prompt and even had some nice-touch ideas like a welcoming message with my name on the TVscreen the first time I entered the room. My customers also felt well looked after and made our visit very pleasant.
I would also expect Galaxy to be a great starting place for a holiday all over Heraklion, as it is comfortably situated in a main street coming from the airport to the city. The rooms were first class and elegant, had a nice swimming pool and a patio next to the breakfast hall, good restaurants, a fitness-wellness center (sadly I didn't have time to try out) and stylish environment altogether. Would definetely go back for a holiday in Crete.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrto_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

The Galaxy staff provided the service of a world class hotel with personal devotion. I had such a great time that I extended my stay twice. The first time because the breakfast selection, and quality, was excellent (please note: I'm in the business). The second extension was due to the virtue of the staff, prompt service accompanied by a family feeling, a very rare thing. In addition, I made good use of the business center with free internet and of the gym/steam room. I would like to thank the staff personally for making my sojourn remarkable by anyone's standards.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

The Galaxy was a surprise--clean, comfortable, modern (recently renovated), with all the efficiency and comfort of a top business hotel and all the welcoming charm of a fine resort. Conveniently located, within walking distance of Heraklio's Old Town (and especially of the National Museum), and very easy to get out of town whether to the airport, to the great archeological site of Knossos, or to other parts of this delightful island. The staff were notably gracious and accommodating, full of excellent advice, and two restaurants (well, actually one a cafe/bar), a fitness room, and a lovely pool were added attractions.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancytravels72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillies, Owner at Galaxy Hotel Iraklio, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Dear Mrs. Nancytravels72,
Thank you for choosing the Galaxy for your stay in Crete and for your wonderful comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and exceeding everyone's expectations is our goal (and we guess that's why we were just selected as an Expedia Insider's Select Hotel as a top ranked property and a Venere Very Clean Hotel award)!
Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Yiannis G. Economou - Owner Galaxy Hotel Iraklio and Galaxy Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.7 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
859 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,724 reviews
0.7 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
158 reviews
33.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
37.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel Iraklio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Property: Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Address: 75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel Iraklio 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Deluxe Galaxy Hotel Iraklio is Heraklion's premier hotel for business and leisure and the top choice for discerning travelers. Modern facilities fully renovated in 2008, and warm, professional service highlight the hotel's steadfast dedication to the magical combination of aesthetics and functionality. Centrally located in downtown Heraklion, the Galaxy is an oasis of contemporary luxury whose services and amenities are second to none.The Galaxy Hotel Iraklio's 127 rooms and suites exude an air of contemporary elegance within a unique city-resort atmosphere, while the hotel's extensive, upgraded amenities include, among others:• fully independent air conditioning• complimentary WiFi• fine bed and bath linens• premium Simmons mattresses and choice of pillows• Pure allergy friendly rooms for optimal air quality and the best sleep you've ever had• fully equipped complimentary business center• large fresh-water pool• complimentary parking facilities• concierge services• complimentary state-of-the-art gym with wellness center and hammam• superb dining at the all-day Per Se Lounge or poolside Vetri Restaurant• top conference and event facilities No matter what the reason for your stay, the Galaxy Hotel Iraklio will ensure that it is nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galaxy Hotel Iraklio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Heraklion
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing