We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Northern England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Friendly and very comfortable”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We booked a quiet executive room and found ourselves overlooking the pool on the top floor in a spacious room with a small balcony. Everything was comfortable; a kettle was provided on request, as was an electric adaptor. Service was always very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was highly varied, including Cretan specialities that changed every morning. My favourite custard pies luckily came up twice in our week! There were three different timings on the boiled eggs, plus fried eggs and other variations. Fresh fruit, pastries, cereals were also in abundance. We had dinner twice in the hotel. It was more expensive than prices prevailing in town, especially for the wine, but the food was beautifully served and tasty. Appetizer portions were on the small side, main courses were sufficient. Grilled vegetables made a wonderful appetizer. We liked the location of the hotel about 1 km away from the center--it meant we got to walk off some of that breakfast each morning! We would happily return to this hotel if we were staying in Heraklion again.

Room Tip: The extra cost of an executive room is probably worth it, given the size of regular rooms as describ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leisure-traveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    363
    70
    15
    7
See reviews for
260
812
96
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked here because we needed a room for one night prior to our vacation rental. The staff was outstanding; from front desk to the restaurant to the bellman, everyone was helpful and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised by the delicious dinner we had in the restaurant. There was live music, jazz piano and female vocalist, their first night of the season. They were great. We'll be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kattub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 days in this excellent hotel as part of our holiday in Crete. This is by far one of the finest hotels with a great service from all the staff. It is well located to explore Iraklio and it prides on serving their customers. The food in the restaurant is very good, don't miss it! Would definitely visit again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MohammadA992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

LOVED this hotel. After more than a week of road tripping, we needed to find a hotel to stay the night in Heraklion to catch an early flight to Athens. So glad we found this place because it was a great find! If you need a place close to the airport and close to the center, do not hesitate one bit to choose this one.

Modern hotel, amazing service and a great restaurant. I wish we would have stayed here our first night in Heraklion when we started our trip in Crete.

Would I recommend? YES YES YES!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrysma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Arrived on my birthday and was greeted with a lovely birthday cake at check in. Hotel was nice, modern, clean and staff was super helpful. Luke others said great location. Took us 15 mins to get to center. Bus to and from airport super close maybe 2 blocks from hotel. Bus to Knossos also close. Maybe 5-6 blocks away. Very safe neighborhood. Yummy snacks and drinks near the elevator. So happy to have spent 4 lovely day there. We'll be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Yalie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for a wonderful weekend getaway. Orfeas and the reception team ensured that we had a really relaxing time, arranging a massage and assisting with directions for outings. This gem is located a delightful 10 minute walk from the centre Heraklion, taking you past the old city walls. It is also a 5 minute walk from the bus stop to Knossos- could not be easier. The room was a nice size with plush carpets as you'd expect- amazing bed and good quality amenities.
We also enjoyed a dinner at the hotel - very happy that we did - best risotto ever!The hotel has a nice modern lounge /bar which was great when staying in for the evening. Breakfast was buffet with a lovely extensive selection.
Overall Galaxy hotel offers very good value for money and all staff have been extremely friendly and helpful during our stay.
We will definitely stay at Galaxy when in Heraklion again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indigo1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had just a week in Crete and the Galaxy Hotel was the best choice - close to the centre of Heraklion but also convenient to catch busses to other parts of Crete (Knossos only 6 miles away). Perfect location (just 10 mins walk to main square) for all Heraklion day and night activities. Excellent, friendly service, wide range for breakfast and rooms clean and well serviced. Had to chase the sun around the small pool but at least it was there for relaxation!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.7 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
0.7 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#13 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
37.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel Iraklio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Property: Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Address: 75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel Iraklio 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Deluxe Galaxy Hotel Iraklio is Heraklion's premier hotel for business and leisure and the top choice for discerning travelers. Modern facilities fully renovated in 2008, and warm, professional service highlight the hotel's steadfast dedication to the magical combination of aesthetics and functionality. Centrally located in downtown Heraklion, the Galaxy is an oasis of contemporary luxury whose services and amenities are second to none.The Galaxy Hotel Iraklio's 127 rooms and suites exude an air of contemporary elegance within a unique city-resort atmosphere, while the hotel's extensive, upgraded amenities include, among others:• fully independent air conditioning• complimentary WiFi• fine bed and bath linens• premium Simmons mattresses and choice of pillows• Pure allergy friendly rooms for optimal air quality and the best sleep you've ever had• fully equipped complimentary business center• large fresh-water pool• complimentary parking facilities• concierge services• complimentary state-of-the-art gym with wellness center and hammam• superb dining at the all-day Per Se Lounge or poolside Vetri Restaurant• top conference and event facilities No matter what the reason for your stay, the Galaxy Hotel Iraklio will ensure that it is nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Galaxy Hotel Iraklio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Heraklion
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing