We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Livorno, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good business hotel”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We organised a meeting in this hotel downtown Iraklio, Crete.
The hotel staff was excellent in helping me and my colleagues with any kind of requests. The restaurant is very good and the food is well presented. Breakfast is impeccable with some nice delicatessen.
Bedrooms are not so big (we were staying in a superior room), but with a nice balcony.
Pool facilities are good with the entire pool area kept in very clean conditions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giovanni141967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    384
    72
    15
    7
See reviews for
266
850
97
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Modern, very clean, friendly, amazing breakfast, easy to park at the public road. You must walk a little to the centre (10 minutes). They offer free water as welcome and traditional raki and sweet. The pool place though small very relaxing. I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elenifoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in a Superior room, which wasn't the biggest hotel room we have stayed in but it was very well fitted out. For the money, it was excellent value.

Everything about the Galaxy was first class, from the decor to the buffet breakfast. The staff were very helpful and courteous. There is a large pool and a well-equipped gym and fitness area.

We couldn't have wished for a better place to stay in Heraklion.

To make our stay even better, we wandered down Dimokratias to find somewhere to eat and happened upon the Kyriakos restaurant. After being taken to the kitchen and shown what was on offer that night, we made our choices and had a wonderful, inexpensive meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

On our third day in Crete my wife broke her kneecap and we spent the following two weeks at the Galaxy whilst she was recovering.
The Galaxy is a true Oasis in the midst of a bustling city and we have never experienced such genuine friendliness in a hotel of this size. From the management, to the waiters, to the receptionists, to the cleaning ladies, to the back office staff it has been a delight to be a guest.
The hotel restaurant has provided us with a fine dining experience which we were not expecting and we have been more than happy to dine here on most nights. The food is truly amazing, and the ambience beside the pool at night is an experience we will never forget.
My wife found the fold out clothesline on the balcony an added bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area, as they are quiet and the outlook from the private balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neville P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel was very nice with modern touches. Located along a main street it is easy to walk to places for shopping and eating, also it is not far from the harbor. There is a market that that is open daily (although it closes around 3) that the hotel staff was more than happy to direct us to. They were very helpful, giving us a map and showing what roads to take and what sites to see. The archaeological museum is also within walking distance. For something different there is a site called Knossos, which is a short bus ride away (less than 2 euro). The front desk staff also helped us to get to the bus stop which was near-by.

The breakfast was what really impressed me about the hotel, it was a nice buffet spread with many options to suit anyone. There were different breads, granola, yogurt, cheeses, olives, and teas along with a few other things. Overall, it was worth it to make it to breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weaverlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice hotel to stay for one- two days. We have stayed there on our way back from holiday, as we were flying from Heraklion. The location is good if you want to visit Knossos. Also close to airport. But beware that if they call a taxi for u from hotel u will have to pay 6 euro more.
hotel itself is nice, but our room was quite small for 2 with tiny narrow balcony. It is very loud in the morning, so u would need to keep windows shut.
breakfast is ok, but could be better in 5 star hotel, and the stuff should be quicker refilling juices glasses and jogurts.
I really liked swimming pool, but some people might feel uncomfortable sunbathing near it when there are so many windows and tables overlooking it.
stuff is quite friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teawithcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis E, Owner at Galaxy Hotel Iraklio, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Ms. teawithcookie,
Thank you very much for choosing the Galaxy for your recent stay in Heraklion and for your valuable feedback. Your sincere comments assist us in improving every day. We are glad that overall you had a wonderful experience with us, as is the case with the thousands of guests that visit us every year and make us the most popular and successful hotel in our area.

We are sorry that certain elements were not to your satisfaction. To make one thing clear, the extra charge for taxi calls and appointments is charged by the taxis (as is the case throughout the world with taxi call services and appointments vs. taxis on a rank or the street) not by us.

Our breakfast is famous for its freshness, vast variety of offerings (with over 100 daily items from Crete, Greece and around the world) and ambiance and overall the Galaxy is renowned for its gastronomy.In fact, we were one of the first hotels in Greece to adhere to the Hellenic Chamber of Hotels standards for Greek Breakfast and have received an award for that. Our morning buffets feature the best freshly ground and made coffees, freshly squeezed orange juice, lots of homemade Cretan delicacies that our team prepares everyday and of course certain international 'staples' one expects to find in a 5-star hotel.

Once again, thank you for your choice and feedback and for giving us the opportunity to offer you our hospitality for which we are renowned.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Galaxy Hotel Iraklio!
Sincerely,
Yiannis G. Economou - Owner Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller in London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Galaxy hotel is a fabulous modern hotel with great food with a pool which is sunny from mid-day to 4pm. The room we had was spacious and kept immaculately clean. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk into the centre of the town and about 20 mins to the port. Plus it is a 3/4 min walk from the bus stop to Knossos and drops you off almost outside the hotel.

But I think the best think about this hotel is the staff who could not be more helpful. Maria at reception went out of her way to sort out for us a day of local food and wine tasting (which was brilliant). She also arrange the hire of our car which was dropped off and picked up from the hotel. Nothing was too much effort for her or her colleagues. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are staying here.

Room Tip: Executive suite 423 over looking pool on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJHuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.7 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
859 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,724 reviews
0.7 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
158 reviews
33.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
37.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel Iraklio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Property: Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Address: 75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel Iraklio 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Deluxe Galaxy Hotel Iraklio is Heraklion's premier hotel for business and leisure and the top choice for discerning travelers. Modern facilities fully renovated in 2008, and warm, professional service highlight the hotel's steadfast dedication to the magical combination of aesthetics and functionality. Centrally located in downtown Heraklion, the Galaxy is an oasis of contemporary luxury whose services and amenities are second to none.The Galaxy Hotel Iraklio's 127 rooms and suites exude an air of contemporary elegance within a unique city-resort atmosphere, while the hotel's extensive, upgraded amenities include, among others:• fully independent air conditioning• complimentary WiFi• fine bed and bath linens• premium Simmons mattresses and choice of pillows• Pure allergy friendly rooms for optimal air quality and the best sleep you've ever had• fully equipped complimentary business center• large fresh-water pool• complimentary parking facilities• concierge services• complimentary state-of-the-art gym with wellness center and hammam• superb dining at the all-day Per Se Lounge or poolside Vetri Restaurant• top conference and event facilities No matter what the reason for your stay, the Galaxy Hotel Iraklio will ensure that it is nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galaxy Hotel Iraklio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Heraklion
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing