We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Southsea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having been stranded on Crete for a couple of days (adverse weather conditions in Rhodes) we were pleasantly surprised to find this lovely hotel in Heraklion. Arriving there somewhat harassed we could not have been met with more helpfulness and civility. whilst waiting for an extra bed to be made up for my granddaughter we were given much needed complimentary refreshments.
The food and service in the hotel were excellent and although i would say this is as much a business hotel as leisure hotel it was still a great place to stay; it has a lovely pool area enclosed in the centre of the hotel which my granddaughter fully enjoyed after visiting the wonderful Knossos.
We have promised ourself another visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    355
    68
    14
    7
See reviews for
256
794
95
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days as part of a group on business trip, this is a clean, modern, quality hotel with good amenities, swimming pool etc.
We got great rates as part of a group.
The staff were attentive and helpfull although the desk staff seemed somewhat overwhelmed at times with too many tasks.
Breakfast was really excellent with a wide range of food.
Its about 15-20 mins walk into central Heraklion

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmuggeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel could balance my no so positive business trip. I feel the need to thank the hotel for providing me an excellant enviroment and service. The room comfort and freshness could really change my mood. I will be back ... Thank you

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Christel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crete Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Last week my friend and I decided to visit the Galaxy for lunch. I have to say the experience was wonderful, from stepping through the door to leaving totally relaxed. The food was presented and cooked perfectly, the service and friendliness of the staff was excellent.

We sat outside overlooking the beautiful pool. It was a tranquil and peaceful setting one which, you would not expect to find in the centre of such a busy city. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

I would totally recommend you give them a try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tricrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Last week i were travelling in Crete and decided to stay in Galaxy hotel.
it was my 1st stay after the renovaltion .
my experience was incredible !! maybe the best stay in a city hotel !
Staff was too kind and helping !! The room perfect in all fileds !! The food in breakfats & light dinner i took exellent !!
During my stay i got ill and must stay one night more because it was impossible to travel.
For the first moment i had mentioned to the reception , i took a lot of support ( special food , medicines ), and special treatment like to be at home.

Congratulations to the manager and the owners , which besides the high level materials
had used for this hotel , know very well the meaning of hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tassos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

one of those hotels you really enjoy staying at, even though you are not doing anything much different. Rooms are simple, modern and of high quality. A good shower, hq toiletries, nice bed, large TV, good free wifi, good restaurant, excellent service, quite corridors and to top it off, early (05:00hrs) breakfast option, if you need it. Many other things of course like the large pool etc, but without interest to busy guests...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YiannisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I visited Galaxy hotel the last week. The service, the hospitality of the people the luxurious rooms the position that is less than 10 min from the heart of the city make this hotel the perfect choice of your stay at Heraklion. Business or vacations Galaxy should be your first choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank const_hash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.7 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.7 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#12 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
37.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel Iraklio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Property: Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Address: 75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel Iraklio 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Deluxe Galaxy Hotel Iraklio is Heraklion's premier hotel for business and leisure and the top choice for discerning travelers. Modern facilities fully renovated in 2008, and warm, professional service highlight the hotel's steadfast dedication to the magical combination of aesthetics and functionality. Centrally located in downtown Heraklion, the Galaxy is an oasis of contemporary luxury whose services and amenities are second to none.The Galaxy Hotel Iraklio's 127 rooms and suites exude an air of contemporary elegance within a unique city-resort atmosphere, while the hotel's extensive, upgraded amenities include, among others:• fully independent air conditioning• complimentary WiFi• fine bed and bath linens• premium Simmons mattresses and choice of pillows• Pure allergy friendly rooms for optimal air quality and the best sleep you've ever had• fully equipped complimentary business center• large fresh-water pool• complimentary parking facilities• concierge services• complimentary state-of-the-art gym with wellness center and hammam• superb dining at the all-day Per Se Lounge or poolside Vetri Restaurant• top conference and event facilities No matter what the reason for your stay, the Galaxy Hotel Iraklio will ensure that it is nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galaxy Hotel Iraklio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Heraklion
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing