We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very nice property located downtown, minutes from the port. We enjoyed two nights here. The steam room was quite nice, but we did not use any other spa facilities. staff were very helpful and professional. Easy walk to the town center.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeldvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We only stayed there for 1 night, but I'm really glad we chose to stay here. Heraklion isn't exactly a fancy neighborhood, but it's nice to see Knossos and the other Heraklion attractions as long as you're in Crete. This was located in the perfect place, close to everything, making it easy to get to all the attractions we wanted to see in the short amount of time we stayed. Just taking a quick peak around the neighborhood, I think I would feel a little grimy in any of the other places we saw, so I'm glad we paid the extra money to stay here. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samantharaesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had high expectations for my stay based on other Trip Advisor comments. I was not disappointed. The staff was incredibly helpful on all counts, especially on restaurant recommendations. The hotel itself is very comfortable with nicely appointed and sizeable rooms. The food in the main restaurant is exceptional. My wife and I ate there our first night and had a terrifice fine dining experience. The breakfast buffet was excellent with many local foods. The location is slightly out of the downtown hussle and bustle and within walking distance of all major attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOSSAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Galaxy Hotel in Heraklion recently for just one night as we were catching the overnight ferry to Santorini. We booked on hotels.com and the price was very good. We were given an allergy-free room on the 6th floor which had a great pure room air purifier. We didn't request this room but lucked out. The air in that room was amazing!

The rooms are nice with modern furnishings and a comfortable bed. There are balconies but there are no chairs to sit on out there. We had a nice view of the pool and town. The floors were carpetted. There was a flatscreen TV and long desk area.

The wireless connection was very intermittent on my ipad which was frustrating but my husband had no problems on his computer.

The breakfast had a great selection and was open early (we were there at 7am but no one else was). The staff were very very friendly and helpful espcially the front desk staff. I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Heraklion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Not being 'townies' we appreciated the location of this slick Hotel being an easy drive from the airport and within walking distance of town but in a quiet location on the road out to Knossos. We arrived at 1am after a delayed flight and was greeted by a pleasant welcome and a clean and comfy well equipped room.The breakfast was a feast! Amazingly good value!
We had a slight problem with the toilet flush which was corrected very quickly. Helpful staff.
Parking our hire car close by wasn't difficult and escaping from town was easy the next day without any traffic rush.
Heraklion itself has an interesting Archeological Museum and historical sights and green shady parks to sit and chat in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

What this hotel lacks in charm in makes up with in style and efficiency. The staff is very formal yet efficient, the rooms are well designed and clean, the breakfast is good and price quality ratio is great.

One big drawback was the pillows which were very uncomfortable. Also location is good but slightly off center if you don't have much time and want to explore the old town.
I still recommend the hotel though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very professional and nice staff throughout the hotel. We booked an Executive Room which is spacious and very comfortable and brought our little daughter. Everything was arranged when we checked in (baby kot and even a bath robe for little babies!).
Very good choice from breakfast buffet in the morning.
We will come again when we are around this corner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatzeBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.7 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
962 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,806 reviews
0.7 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
0.9 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
457 reviews
37.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel Iraklio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Address: 75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $90 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel Iraklio 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Deluxe Galaxy Hotel Iraklio is Heraklion's premier hotel for business and leisure and the top choice for discerning travelers. Modern facilities fully renovated in 2008, and warm, professional service highlight the hotel's steadfast dedication to the magical combination of aesthetics and functionality. Centrally located in downtown Heraklion, the Galaxy is an oasis of contemporary luxury whose services and amenities are second to none.The Galaxy Hotel Iraklio's 127 rooms and suites exude an air of contemporary elegance within a unique city-resort atmosphere, while the hotel's extensive, upgraded amenities include, among others:• fully independent air conditioning• complimentary WiFi• fine bed and bath linens• premium Simmons mattresses and choice of pillows• Pure allergy friendly rooms for optimal air quality and the best sleep you've ever had• fully equipped complimentary business center• large fresh-water pool• complimentary parking facilities• concierge services• complimentary state-of-the-art gym with wellness center and hammam• superb dining at the all-day Per Se Lounge or poolside Vetri Restaurant• top conference and event facilities No matter what the reason for your stay, the Galaxy Hotel Iraklio will ensure that it is nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galaxy Hotel Iraklio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Heraklion
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing