We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant efficient edge of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Not being 'townies' we appreciated the location of this slick Hotel being an easy drive from the airport and within walking distance of town but in a quiet location on the road out to Knossos. We arrived at 1am after a delayed flight and was greeted by a pleasant welcome and a clean and comfy well equipped room.The breakfast was a feast! Amazingly good value!
We had a slight problem with the toilet flush which was corrected very quickly. Helpful staff.
Parking our hire car close by wasn't difficult and escaping from town was easy the next day without any traffic rush.
Heraklion itself has an interesting Archeological Museum and historical sights and green shady parks to sit and chat in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

What this hotel lacks in charm in makes up with in style and efficiency. The staff is very formal yet efficient, the rooms are well designed and clean, the breakfast is good and price quality ratio is great.

One big drawback was the pillows which were very uncomfortable. Also location is good but slightly off center if you don't have much time and want to explore the old town.
I still recommend the hotel though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very professional and nice staff throughout the hotel. We booked an Executive Room which is spacious and very comfortable and brought our little daughter. Everything was arranged when we checked in (baby kot and even a bath robe for little babies!).
Very good choice from breakfast buffet in the morning.
We will come again when we are around this corner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatzeBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A hotel in a very good location - efficient and friendly staff who aim to make your stay most enjoyable. There is a very nice swimming pool and patio area. Bedrooms are clean, comfortable and extremely well furnished - a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jwfhunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We found our stay at Galaxy Hotel an ideal hotel experience. The room, the breakfast, the parking, the location but the most important is the staff. They excelled in their desire to please and attend to every need and solve every problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benard601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We found the location convenient for the airport and travelling to Knossos and to the south of the island. It is 10-15 mins walk from the centre of town and the archeological museum. It is a well organised hotel, with a lovely swimming pool. Our bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was satisfactory and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Maintenance may be a problem, as we had problems (not serious) with a lamp and the toilet in our room.

Room Tip: Rooms might be noisy if overlooking the main road or at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis E, Owner at Galaxy Hotel Iraklio, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Ms. Jenny C,
Thank you for choosing the Galaxy and for entrusting us with your stay in Crete. Moreover, thank you for your great review and for your warm comments about us and our services.
We sincerely apologize about the maintenance issues you are describing. These are extremely uncharacteristic of the Galaxy and we will investigate in detail where we might have dropped the ball. Uncharacteristic or not, they should not occur and again we offer our sincere apologies.
We hope that we will have the chance again to welcome you here at the Galaxy in the future and offer you the genuinely warm yet professional hospitality that we are renowned for.
Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Yiannis G. Economou
Owner - Galaxy Hotel Iraklio and Galaxy Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you are wanting the small traditional Greek family run hotel this is not for you.

This is a modern, well appointed hotel in a newer part of town. It carries that ambience and atmosphere. It is of a quality that any international chain would be delighted to have this property in the portfolio.

Whilst it is not embedded in the old part of the city the Galaxy is an easy walk to the central part of town. There is a very good chance that you will secure a street park if you are driving. We were and had no difficulty each evening. There was a ATM and well as a grocery store within 100 metres of the hotel.

The rooms are well appointed, modern and very comfortable. We even had the sounds of a cock crowing each morning - rural sounds in the city ! The hotel has a well designed swimming pool and deck area. Breakfast was a delight, again a very modern buffet with no shortage of selections. Sitting outside on the deck overlooking the pool added to the experience.

We found the staff excellent, always trying to assist and helpful with touring and restaurant selections.

For us the Galaxy worked really well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.8 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,839 reviews
0.7 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
1,009 reviews
0.7 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
0.8 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#14 of 58 in Heraklion
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel Iraklio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Address: 75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $85 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel Iraklio 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Deluxe Galaxy Hotel Iraklio is Heraklion's premier hotel for business and leisure and the top choice for discerning travelers. Modern facilities fully renovated in 2008, and warm, professional service highlight the hotel's steadfast dedication to the magical combination of aesthetics and functionality. Centrally located in downtown Heraklion, the Galaxy is an oasis of contemporary luxury whose services and amenities are second to none.The Galaxy Hotel Iraklio's 127 rooms and suites exude an air of contemporary elegance within a unique city-resort atmosphere, while the hotel's extensive, upgraded amenities include, among others:• fully independent air conditioning• complimentary WiFi• fine bed and bath linens• premium Simmons mattresses and choice of pillows• Pure allergy friendly rooms for optimal air quality and the best sleep you've ever had• fully equipped complimentary business center• large fresh-water pool• complimentary parking facilities• concierge services• complimentary state-of-the-art gym with wellness center and hammam• superb dining at the all-day Per Se Lounge or poolside Vetri Restaurant• top conference and event facilities No matter what the reason for your stay, the Galaxy Hotel Iraklio will ensure that it is nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galaxy Hotel Iraklio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Heraklion
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing