We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in Crete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The Galaxy is a very nice property. It is on the more expensive side relative to other properties in the area. The rooms are updated, bathroom very nice - if a little small. Breakfast has plenty of variety and the pool area is really pleasant. The pool does close very early which limits its usefulness if you are out touring. Gym is really well equiped. Location is a good hike to attractions. The staff can either be tremendously helpful (storing bags, helping rent cars, and giving directions) or rude and not to be bothered....but i suppose that's people in general.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmmmlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillies, Owner at Galaxy Hotel Iraklio, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Dear Mrs. mmmmlol,
First I would like to warmly thank you for choosing our hotel and also for your insightful comments. I am glad that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Crete.
We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff service attitude, eagerness to help and warmth. I apologize for any instances where we were less than what our reputation (as you may have noticed from our past guests) has people expect from us - but I can assure you that we constantly and persistently work to achieve this friendly, yet professional and elegant atmosphere and service.
Regarding our pool hours, we do not really keep an absolutely strict schedule - we do discourage swimming at times when other guests are for example having dinner right next to the pool etc. Being a traveler myself, I am also against strict hotel policies 'for the sake of it' and in my opinion it is all a matter of communication between the guest and hotel staff - if we failed, I sincerely apologize.
Finally, about our location: Heraklion is a pretty compact city for its size (population 220+ thousand) and we and our guests feel lucky that we are located in the 'nicer' part of the city center. While we have the best and easiest access to the sites (Knossos is only 10-15 min drive) and major thoroughfares, with several cafes, restaurants, banks and stores right next to us, we are only 10 min on foot from the historic center and without the traffic, hustle and nowadays nuisances of major city downtowns.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and for your constructive feedback. I hope (and am looking forward to) that we will have a chance to once again welcome you here for a wonderful Cretan hospitality experience.
Sincerely,
Yiannis G. Economou - Owner Galaxy Hotel Iraklio & Galaxy Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed in one of the executive rooms which was very pleasant. The room was spacious and comfortable. It was decorated tastefully and very clean as well.
The hotel staff was very helpful.
The pool is not the kind you'd want to spend the whole day in...
location is a little far from the city center if you travel by foot.

Room Tip: Executive room with pool view seemed as a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odedfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This hotel is hands down the best hotel me or my girlfriend have ever stayed in in our lives. The staff are so friendly and helpful, they told us the best places to visit in town, and were there when ever we needed them.

The door staff were also very very friendly and helpful, they assisted us with our luggage and always gave us a walk welcome when ever we arrived back after a long day sight seeing.

The hotel it self is very clean, modern and alround posh. The room was amazing and very spacious (as we ordered the basic room). I wish my own flat was this nice!

I will definitely be staying here again and recommend all my friends to stay here.

A*****

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonMarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Recently returned from Heraklion where I stayed at the Galaxy hotel for 4 nights; it was an altogether positive experience. The hotel is modern, well-furnished and very comfortable. The standard room which I booked was roomy, with a modern, well-equipped bathroom (an excellent shower). The bed was very comfortable, the air conditioning worked well, and there was a small fridge in the room. There was plenty of desk-top space and a large TV, with a number of English language channels (as well as Greek channels), plus free WiFi in the rooms. There was even a small balcony overlooking the pool, which had a very useful drying rack to deal with your own washing: very thoughtful. The complementary breakfast was very generous and varied, as was the level of service from the hotel staff. They not only looked after my suitcase after I checked out on the final day (as I had a late evening flight), they even let me shower and change in the downstairs gym after my day out at the beach in Hersonissos. The Galaxy is a bit of a walk from the centre of town, but it did me good, and I could have caught a bus. The bus to and from the airport stops a few minutes from the hotel. The pool is lovely, but due to the compact site, there is not sun on the pool all day. There are also 2 good restaurants within 5 mins of the Galaxy: the Kiriakos a few 100 metres down the road from the Galaxy (towards the centre) and the Pantopolion a few streets behind the hotel. I had the bonus of getting all this for just 70 Euros per night, because of their 'Crisis Room special offer', which is no longer available. At the present rate of 100E per night, for two it would still be a bargain!

Room Tip: Ask for an room on one of the upper floors, and for one overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Old_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We arrived at the hotel, wre showed to a very nice room where ther was a small basket of turkish delight, candied peel and the like
Howeverm we were the other class of customer so after being out for ahort while we returned to find this had been removed.!!! This caused a problem since my wife had eaten a turkish delight, had fingered the candied peel and we had definitely breathed on these products.
Should we confess to the management???
This did cause us a wry smile but it was definitely overkill by the management.
As mentioned elsewhere this is a very good hotel but I will mention one or two features which will be of use to others-
This hotel is quite a long way from the city and the Venetian Port. However, there is an excellent, frequent bus service which leaves from 100 metres down the road. The bus stop sign has been removed so ask a local and step out when you see a bus approaching.
Likewise there is a bus service to and from the airport every 20 mins. It also departs from near the traffic lights below the hotel. Beware that return routes may not be identical to routes out!
Fares are low but if you can get tickets at a kiosk they are less than bought on the bus.
This was a good hotel and a good base within Heraklion. There is parking at the rear and the staff are vey accommodating

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlookig the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tombeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillies, Owner at Galaxy Hotel Iraklio, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Dear Mr. and Mrs. tombeg,
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip and also for your excellent comments. I am glad that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us and we contributed to a great time in Crete.
Thank you for your positive words regarding our staff eagerness to assist, service attitude, and warmth - this is what arguably sets us apart and what we are striving for everyday.
We absolutely do not have any number of 'kinds' of customer - there is just one kind of guest for us and this includes everyone that honors us with their business. Our team was a bit baffled about what happened with your in-room treat and we can honestly admit to a glitch with our apologies. Your local treats should not have been removed and we would have happily replenished them had you notified us (no confessions necessary - lol).
Now about our location: Heraklion is a pretty compact city for its size (population 220+ thousand) and we and our guests feel lucky that we are located in the 'nicer' part of the city center. While we have the best and easiest access to the sites (Knossos is only 10-15 min drive) and major thoroughfares, with several cafes, restaurants, banks and stores right next to us, we are only 10 min on foot from the historic center and without the traffic, hustle and nowadays nuisances of major city downtowns.
Regarding bus services, we communicate with the bus authority almost everyday and try to be as informed as possible regarding their schedules, routes, numbers etc. We also always have a stock of tickets for our guests that we re-sell at face value as a service - sorry we did not mention that to you. Finally regarding that bus stop sign (I guess you mean the one right in front of the Italian brand clothing store), we have already notified the city (as many locals have) that it should be replaced - thanks for bringing it to our attention.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and for all your constructive feedback. I hope (and am looking forward to) that we will have a chance to once again welcome you here for a wonderful Cretan hospitality experience.
Sincerely,
Yiannis G. Economou - Owner Galaxy Hotel Iraklio & Galaxy Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Confort, friendlyness & professionalism of all the staff, excellent food, situation close to the old town and the harbour, nice design.
One of the best hotels we ever encounter;

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

wonderful staff and clean, comfortable hotel. it's a bit of a walk to the down town tourist area but we always felt safe. Starbucks just 3 doors down! :-) we wanted to see as much of Crete as we could so we rented a car-the hotel is nice for that as it was easy to find parking. If you are only going to be in Heraklion I would recommend staying somewhere closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathya28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillies, Owner at Galaxy Hotel Iraklio, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Dear Mrs. kathya28970,
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip and also for your excellent comments. I am glad that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us and we contributed to a great time in Crete.
About our location: Heraklion is a pretty compact city for its size (population 220+ thousand) and we and our guests feel lucky that we are located in the 'nicer' part of the city center. While we have the best and easiest access to the sites (Knossos is only 10-15 min drive) and major thoroughfares, with several cafes, restaurants, banks and stores right next to us, we are only 10 min on foot from the historic center and without the traffic, hustle and nowadays nuisances of major city downtowns.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and for all your constructive feedback. I hope (and am looking forward to) that we will have a chance to once again welcome you here for a wonderful Cretan hospitality experience.
Sincerely,
Yiannis G. Economou - Owner Galaxy Hotel Iraklio & Galaxy Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.7 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
990 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,827 reviews
0.7 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
0.8 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
461 reviews
3.7 mi away
Prince Of Lillies
Prince Of Lillies
#28 of 58 in Heraklion
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel Iraklio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Address: 75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $85 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel Iraklio 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Deluxe Galaxy Hotel Iraklio is Heraklion's premier hotel for business and leisure and the top choice for discerning travelers. Modern facilities fully renovated in 2008, and warm, professional service highlight the hotel's steadfast dedication to the magical combination of aesthetics and functionality. Centrally located in downtown Heraklion, the Galaxy is an oasis of contemporary luxury whose services and amenities are second to none.The Galaxy Hotel Iraklio's 127 rooms and suites exude an air of contemporary elegance within a unique city-resort atmosphere, while the hotel's extensive, upgraded amenities include, among others:• fully independent air conditioning• complimentary WiFi• fine bed and bath linens• premium Simmons mattresses and choice of pillows• Pure allergy friendly rooms for optimal air quality and the best sleep you've ever had• fully equipped complimentary business center• large fresh-water pool• complimentary parking facilities• concierge services• complimentary state-of-the-art gym with wellness center and hammam• superb dining at the all-day Per Se Lounge or poolside Vetri Restaurant• top conference and event facilities No matter what the reason for your stay, the Galaxy Hotel Iraklio will ensure that it is nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galaxy Hotel Iraklio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Heraklion
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing