We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tomb with a view!”

Venetian Walls and Tomb of Nikos Kazantzakis
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.30*
and up
Heraklion Bites and Sights Morning Small Group Tour
Ranked #18 of 79 things to do in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cretan Scots
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A tomb with a view!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a place I had wanted to visit for many years and I wasn't disappointed. I love Kazantzakis' writings and had visited the Kazantzakis Museum in Myrtia (inland from Herakion). The tomb is in a stunning location on the Venetian Walls and is extremely plain and simple as befits the man himself. We walked from the tomb along the walls to the Aghios Andreas Bastion then along the waterfront to the Natural History Museum. Lovely views all the way, although almost no shade, so beware if doing this in July/August. However, it is easy to nip down from the walls to a cafe then continue on your way. I would recommend this walk even if you aren't a Kazantzakis fan.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Asrprini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    73
    38
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milatos
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Walls”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Amazingly huge walls and still standing. Quite an uphill walk though.

Helpful?
4 Thank MadonMilatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Knossos, Heraklion, Crete”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Worth a visit to see the arsenals and the Venetian Fortress on the front. Also the church about 1/3 rd. of a mile from the port.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
388 reviews
227 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Interesting walk...”
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

This was an interesting walk and the walls are pretty impressive. We followed the route indicated on the tourist city map which was unclear at times and had us wondering if we had strayed in the wrong direction. A bit of clean up and possibly some more foot traffic would have alieviated the uneasy feeling that I was about to walk around the corner into an undesirable situation.

Helpful?
2 Thank TheVeggieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“if Kazantzakis could see this...”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Not maintained, dirt all over, a shame for the town of Iraklio. But, at the other side of the street they found the means to build (or start to build) a new cultural center...
Just clean and repair minor problems and this place was worth visiting.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunoGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venetian Walls and Tomb of Nikos Kazantzakis also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Venetian Walls and Tomb of Nikos Kazantzakis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing