We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want in one place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place is awesome. There are countless activities if you want to stay active, including archery, bike riding, zumba to name a few. The hotel staff is very warm and inviting. The hotel itself is very nice, decorated really well even for US standards. The beach is beautiful. Our hotel balcony was overlooking the beach and sea, and it was so gorgeous. There is a relaxation pool quite a distance from the activity pool for those who want total peace and quiet. The all-inclusive deal is awesome! Good food, great buffets full of very good quality food and a wide variety, the pool bar is always open, snacks all day long, and a fine dining restaurant is also included. The fine dining restaurant was SO good. For the price, you cannot beat this hotel. It is worth more than we paid for it, so I consider our deal very good. Great place.

Room Tip: If you are an early sleeper, I would ask to stay far from the activity center. One of the nights I...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Haley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 339 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in a delux room on the 2nd floor. We had views of the pool area and beach.

Positives:
• Room was spacious, lots of space to move around and place luggage.
• Our package was all inclusive which meant all meals, beverages (including alcohol) and activities were included in the price. We never had to pay for anything while we were here, although we did use the spa, which we did pay for.
• Lots of options at the buffets, at first glance however by 3rd day you do noticed menu is on rotation especially breakfast and lunch meals. For dinner ever night there is a theme/cuisine however there is usually only one section of the buffet that has food from that country/cuisine. There is also snacks served between meals and a mid night snack service every night.
• If buffet is not your thing they do have 2 a la carte restaurants on site, an Italian and a Greek restaurant. However you have to book 24 hours (or more) prior to reserve a seat as they get booked out very quickly.
• Pool bar provided food at certain times in the day and again all free.
• Modern fixtures throughout the room. Rooms were air conditioned, a bar fridge which was included with all in exclusive package and would be replenished when items were consumed.
• Resort ran daily activities throughout the day and night and again all included.
• Local staff very friendly, spoke English and loved to have a conversation about the island and provide their recommendations on things to see and do.
• Bar was open 24 hours a day and a daily disco ran within the resort for guests. However we never really heard the music which was nice and the following day bar was always clean not a spot of evidence of a disco night before.
• Rooms serviced everyday. Free bottles of water daily left in the room.
• There is a gym on site however is used by the locals as well so guest can only use gym between 9am-5pm everyday as gym gets busy with the locals using it after 5pm.
• The resort is right by the beach and there are free beach chairs, table and umbrella for guests to use.
• As mentioned there is a spa on site which is different to spa experience I’ve had back home or elsewhere. We did get a regular massage, used the hot and wet sauna but we also used the main spa pool. This pool has 12 different spots/stations, which you move around to slowly. Each spot disperses water onto you in different forms which massages different part of your body. It’s a wonderful experience we enjoyed it.
• Resort only 10 minutes by public bus and bus stops right in front of the resort.


Negatives:
• Crete isn’t a island a lot of Australians go to (its usually Santorini and Mykonos) however we wanted to see some place different while in Greece. My husband and I are Asians and we noticed this resort was mostly Germans so we stuck out like a sore thumb and got looks by some ignorant guests. The resort hosts spoke in German during announcements and activities which also made us feel like an outcast.
• Free wifi was part of the service however only worked really well around the lobby area so lots of guests would hang around this area to be able to use the wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cestella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! I enjoyed the atmosphere there so much and the food was great! Rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful! I really love this hotel it's one of my favorite hotels ever! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mirandaxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel on a magic island. Nice location very close to Heraklion and kazanzakis airport. Very kind staff and perfectly organized spa and gym.
In general, many activities to do, never get bored and great vacation in one of the best islands to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The service my husband and I received at Candia Maris was top notch. We went there on our honeymoon, and there was nothing the staff there could have done to have made our stay more special. The rooms were immaculate and the location of the hotel was perfect. It was a short bus ride away from the downtown and right on the beach, so you get the best of both worlds. We had absolutely no complaints and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay a little more, splurge and get a villa. They have their own pool, and gre...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for five days in September. We had upgraded our room to a seaview with a view of the pool. The room was nice and it appeared to be upgraded. We were able to watch the sunset every evening while enjoying a beverage on the hotel balcony that was quite spacious. The breakfast and dinner buffet were good with a nice selection. The pool area was lovely and you are right on a beach. You are about a 10-15 euro cab ride to the city and the port. The staff sent up a birthday cake as I was there on my birthday so that was very thoughtful. The location was wonderful as it was on the beach but the area surrounding the resort was quite developed and very much a part of the city. Depending on what you are looking for on a vacation this may work or not work for your travel. We were able to book a private tour through the hotel and this is the way to go in Greece a little more expensive for sure but you are able to see a lot of things in the fraction of time that you would have to be on a bus tour. Often the tours depending where you are picked up were three hours longer then stated. You must visit Knosses and the leper island while there.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ocean and
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michelle60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

very nice and large resort directly at the shores of the sea with beautiful view. However the cleanliness is not top at all: the floor in our junior suite was not whipped upon arrival, the toilet outside was still full of exctrements (by the way during the whole period of 4 days never cleaned), the water cooker was never cleaned either and the fridge was frozen all over. -
2 of the 3 restaurants had been closed during our stay although they pretended the hotel to be full so we could not get a late check-out. The self service restaurants disposes of a hugh buffet, however on the second night there was 95% same food as the evening before and it was not cheap at al!. So we moved to a local Restaurant just opposite the hotel's parking lot which served really good food at very reasonable price and with a big smile.
Service in general is by far not 5-star: there is only one front desk for this hugh hotel, partly staffed with one person only what made you queue - and this in a 5-star!! Anyhow, there was never a supervisor, a manager or a department head to be seen - same in the restaurant at breakfast, nor on the floors. WIFI does not exist and to use the internet in the business corner to quickly check your mails was charged with USD 5.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SwissCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiadiMarina, Sales Manager at Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us, which we have duly noted and the necessary follow-up has been done, in our constant strive to improve our services.

We are sorry though you did not share your points directly with us during your stay, in order to make your stay more pleasant and eliminate any negative feelings.

Our Management Team is always present and there is also a Daily Duty Manager, whose name is displayed at the Reception Desk for further guest’s issues.

Allow us to highlight that WIFI it is provided in all Lobby areas free of charge and quite a lot of our guests have taken advantage of this service thought-out the season.
We do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you once more in our Resort and deliver our usual genuine hospitality.

Best regards

Marina Maniadi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.0 mi away
Agapi Beach Hotel
Agapi Beach Hotel
#8 of 58 in Heraklion
637 reviews
3.0 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,731 reviews
17.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
925 reviews
3.0 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
914 reviews
0.3 mi away
Civitel Creta Beach
Civitel Creta Beach
#1 of 32 in Amoudara
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete

Address: 72 Andreas Papandreou Street, Heraklion, Crete 71414, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Heraklion
#5 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#5 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#6 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $223 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candia Maris Resort And Spa Crete
Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete Hotel Heraklion
Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing