We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for five days in September. We had upgraded our room to a seaview with a view of the pool. The room was nice and it appeared to be upgraded. We were able to watch the sunset every evening while enjoying a beverage on the hotel balcony that was quite spacious. The breakfast and dinner buffet were good with a nice selection. The pool area was lovely and you are right on a beach. You are about a 10-15 euro cab ride to the city and the port. The staff sent up a birthday cake as I was there on my birthday so that was very thoughtful. The location was wonderful as it was on the beach but the area surrounding the resort was quite developed and very much a part of the city. Depending on what you are looking for on a vacation this may work or not work for your travel. We were able to book a private tour through the hotel and this is the way to go in Greece a little more expensive for sure but you are able to see a lot of things in the fraction of time that you would have to be on a bus tour. Often the tours depending where you are picked up were three hours longer then stated. You must visit Knosses and the leper island while there.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ocean and
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michelle60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 355 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

very nice and large resort directly at the shores of the sea with beautiful view. However the cleanliness is not top at all: the floor in our junior suite was not whipped upon arrival, the toilet outside was still full of exctrements (by the way during the whole period of 4 days never cleaned), the water cooker was never cleaned either and the fridge was frozen all over. -
2 of the 3 restaurants had been closed during our stay although they pretended the hotel to be full so we could not get a late check-out. The self service restaurants disposes of a hugh buffet, however on the second night there was 95% same food as the evening before and it was not cheap at al!. So we moved to a local Restaurant just opposite the hotel's parking lot which served really good food at very reasonable price and with a big smile.
Service in general is by far not 5-star: there is only one front desk for this hugh hotel, partly staffed with one person only what made you queue - and this in a 5-star!! Anyhow, there was never a supervisor, a manager or a department head to be seen - same in the restaurant at breakfast, nor on the floors. WIFI does not exist and to use the internet in the business corner to quickly check your mails was charged with USD 5.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SwissCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiadiMarina, Sales Manager at Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us, which we have duly noted and the necessary follow-up has been done, in our constant strive to improve our services.

We are sorry though you did not share your points directly with us during your stay, in order to make your stay more pleasant and eliminate any negative feelings.

Our Management Team is always present and there is also a Daily Duty Manager, whose name is displayed at the Reception Desk for further guest’s issues.

Allow us to highlight that WIFI it is provided in all Lobby areas free of charge and quite a lot of our guests have taken advantage of this service thought-out the season.
We do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you once more in our Resort and deliver our usual genuine hospitality.

Best regards

Marina Maniadi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We arrived to the hotel at 7 a.m. and they gave us the room 4 hrs early with no extra charge, and not the standard room but also they upgraded it to a suite as a honeymoon present.
the staff were very kind and helpful, they answered every question with a big smile.

The hotel location is perfect, you can just go out of the hotel gate and take a bus to the center of Heraklion with a 1.5 euro ticket with no need for taxis (very expensive).

the food was good.

Mr. & Mrs. Taha

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NizarSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiadiMarina, Sales Manager at Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review from your stay in our hotel through trip advisor.

We are really pleased that we contibuted in making your honeymoon a memorable one and that you enjoyed this special moment of your life with us.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you once more in our hotel, for your anniversary maybe..

With our best regards

Marina Maniadi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Supported by friendly & helpful staff our stay here was a pleasure. Pools immaculate; short step to the sea.
Buffet meals well cooked, prepared and presented. Rooms offer good space and high standard of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiadiMarina, Sales Manager at Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our beatiful resort soon.

Best regards

Marina Maniadi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My friend and I stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the excellent service and food with good variety and quality ,the only criticism being that there is no free drink , even tap water for the evening meal. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The pools are excellent including the covered pool when the weather was cooler or windy.
This very spacious hotel has an excellent beach location a few kilometres from Heraklion city -15 minutes by bus with tavernas, tour office, rental cars and other shops opposite or very close.
The spa facilities are excellent but expensive and the fitness room very well equipped.
The rooms are a good size with very comfortable beds, large bathroom, plenty of cupboard space,fan and A/C and a very nice balcony with sea views .
Altogether a great experience and highly recommended for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chanatamari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiadiMarina, Sales Manager at Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review regarding our hotel through trip advisor and your nice description on our property and the services provided.

We are pleased that you and your friend enjoyed your holidays and had a relaxing experience.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards

Marina Maniadi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Candia Maris for 10 nights and didnt want leave. All the reception staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was pefect and all our small requests- e.g ground floor-were done for us. The room was spotless and the maids were great-always so nice coming back into a room at end of the day done so nicely.

After some differing reviews about the food I was a little concerned but the food at Estia- the buffet resturant was fantastic. There was so much choice, internation cusine and Cretan. It was all delicious and staff were happy to accomadate any requests.
Breakfast was just as good-with a large variety of fresh fruit and smoothies-yummy!

The 'reserving' of sun beds happens in every hotel and this one suffered the same- however the pool areas were beautifully maintained with a great pool bar- a littly pricey at 3.20 euro for a coke- but friendly staff. There was also a little shop where you can get a newspaper and snacks.

We will be back next year for 14 nights!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiadiMarina, Sales Manager at Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Dear Mrs. Nicola,

Thank you for taking the time to share your nice comments from your recent stay in Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete through tripadvisor.

We appreciate your positive comments which have already beed passed to our team members, but most of all we are really pleased that we manage to offer you & your boyfriend nice & memorable holidays.

We definately look forward to welcome you again in our beautiful resort.

Best regards

Marina Maniadi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

we stayed in Creta for litle time but we enjoyed the holidays in Candia Maris hotel. maybe not a 5 star hotel but gets all that is missing from excellent food and very helpfull and kind staff.
At Estia we enjoy a crowded yet tasty diner being catered by very pleasent and always smiling Giorgos and from the Greek staff and very good female waitreses.big variety of food and nice set up in general.
Taverna was very nice also but a bit pricy like in all the hotel,we liked the food it was very presentable and tasty. Over at the pool bar we relaxed with very tasty cocktails. The team at the pool bar is different but quality and speed in service is different according to the team. we very much appreciated the help of Stefanos when my husband hurt his ankle and he give us some ice he was very helpfull with Nikolay and Lina. From the loby bar we experienced quality in service and fast as barmen where experienced.
Our room was very nice and comfortable most of all clean and cool.
we will come again next year for sure.
thank you to all the staff that made our holiday much easier, only concern are the overestimated prices in general.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gerad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiadiMarina, Sales Manager at Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding our hotel through tripadvisor.

We do take in consideration your remarks, about what you did not like, in a continuous attempt to become better.

Morever we would like to thank you for all your nice comments regarding our staff and the food quality.

It is always good for us to receive our guests' satisfaction and acknowledgment, since our everyday efforts are concentrated into how to please the most all our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you again next year.

Best regards

Marina Maniadi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
3.0 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,762 reviews
3.0 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
990 reviews
3.0 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Agapi Beach Hotel
Agapi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Heraklion
659 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,827 reviews
2.9 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete

Address: 72 Andreas Papandreou Street, Heraklion, Crete 71414, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Heraklion
#5 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#5 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#6 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $225 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candia Maris Resort And Spa Crete
Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete Hotel Heraklion
Candia Maris Resort & Spa Crete Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing