We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
82
101
49
14
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
82
101
49
14
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional dancing stuffed vegetables goat bells the open air restaurant tzatziki local cheese swimming pool rooms are basic stayed here for nights wedding cretan crete taxi knossos museum concluding raki
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 268 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is awesome!The food is delicious and the stuff is polite.They have 36 rooms so reserve your room fast because they are full every summer.The owners are lenient,good-hearted and the swimmming pool is clean.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Άγγελος Π
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Guest Relations Manager at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Dear Guest Many thanks for your feedback. We are really happy that you enjoyed your visit in our village and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

Me and a friend visited Arolithos for a short break with the aim to experience new things and go somewhere we'd never been before. The location is beautiful, partway up a mountain with absolutely stunning views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. The poolside is breathtaking with a little waterfall shower coming off a stone wall into a shallow pool and a larger pool adjacent for swimming and play to cool off.

The rooms are fit for purpose with a bed, tv, mini fridge, cupboard, and bathroom. We also had a little patio area with two chairs but we didn't spend any time on it. The decor is old but it's clean and that is all that mattered to us! The bathroom had a toilet, sink, and bath with a mobile showerhead. The wifi just reached us which was fine for checking emails etc., just don't expect to be able to download things or access information in a hurry.

The restaurant serves amazing food at a great price, we also had watermelon after every meal (we love watermelon, if there's a way to my heart it's watermelon). As a vegetarian options were limited but what I could have was incredible and I was assured that if I wanted something that did have meat in it they'd be happy to substitute which was lovely! The arolithos salad is absolutely huge and i was unable to finish it which is unheard of, would thoroughly recommend! There are also a few dogs and a few more cats wandering around. This wasn't at all an issue for us as we love animals and enjoyed the company. I'm allergic to cats so didn't have a stroke of them just incase but other guests were and they were tame as anything (if not just hungry and trying to vie for scraps). The dogs were gorgeous and very friendly.

My only qualm with the actual stay is that you're not really told much when you get there. It's lovely being left to your own devices to explore and relax as you would as a home away from home but little things such as what time breakfast is served etc., we had to go and ask ourselves. Also, the Wednesday is a traditional Cretan night (fantastic! I will review this separately below) and as such the restaurant closes early. We were not told this and by the time we went up for food it was shut and the only way to therefore eat that night was to join in with the event (a minimum of €20 each). This wouldn't have been a big deal and we would have liked to attend anyway, but not being given any information about it prior was a bit annoying as I hadn't quite budgeted for the night and needed to borrow money from my friend until I could get money out the next day!

The Cretan night was incredible with traditional music and dancing and a set menu. The set menu was again a meat dish but they happily substituted the meat for stuffed vegetables for me. This also came with a beautiful bottle of wine. The dancers and musicians were fantastic and we were taken on stage to dance (they do take no for an answer though for the shy people!) which was an experience I'm happy to have! Great fun and laughter to be had, and again the food was beautiful.

The hotel itself is out of the way with buses only passing through 3 times a day, to Anogia/Anogeia (we never found out which it was, apparently they're different places) and to Heraklion. the last bus back leaves Heraklion at 2pm (despite what it says on the notice board) so you have the late afternoon and evening free to sit by the pool. A single from Arolithos to Heraklion was €1.80 so we spent 3 mornings there enjoying the city and the museums. It's highly recommended to hire a car though as there's not much to do otherwise and the buses are so infrequent. The surrounding goats were very cute though and it was nice and quiet. Also: hornets and wasps. Lots of them. We weren't stung but they did put me on edge slightly.

Overall a lovely stay, just a bit out of the way if you don't have a car and information wasn't very well handled. Still loved it and 4 days was the perfect length of time for us! I'm glad to have experienced it.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dionn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Guest Relations Manager at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Dear Guest Many thanks for your feedback. We are really happy that you enjoyed your visit in our village and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

It is a nice quiet location, handy to hire a car, just be wary of the chance of a wedding taking place Fri, sat & sun, they can go on late, other than that, the staff are very helpful and the evening food is good, there is not a very good selection of vegetarian choices, WiFi was a bit hit and miss, we enjoyed our stay there

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018

This evening was spent in the hills at the ArolithosVillage. The tables were set up in the village square. The atmosphere was fantastic. There were about 200-250 peope at the event and supper was adequate and plentiful. Traditional dancers were brilliant, giving us all a real insight into the Cretn culture.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SueandFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Guest Relations Manager at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Dear Guest Many thanks for your feedback. We are really happy that you enjoyed your visit in our village and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

Nature, food, relaxing! Three words that come to my mind when I think about my visits to Arolithos!
Amazing place in cretan mountain nature, and at the same time close to the beach and city center! We enjoy the food a lot! It was delicious!! We relaxed by the swimming pool and had a wonderfull time!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ifigeneia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Guest Relations Manager at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Dear Guest Many thanks for your feedback. We are really happy that you enjoyed your visit in our village and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews