We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arolithos is a world apart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village
Ranked #2 of 8 Heraklion B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2006

I agree with the review titled "Village and Hotel something special" with a few minor differences. There was a refrigerator in our room so perhaps they've added them since your visit. We had no maintenance issues. The breakfast was served in a room of ample space and was of excellent quality in both taste and variety. We arrived on a Saturday and left on a Monday. During our stay we witnessed 2 weddings and a birthday party; it was amazing. We had no idea what Arolithos was like before arriving and left vowing that we would return. If you're interested in getting a taste of traditional Cretan culture, this is the place to come to.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear guest.
We thank you very much for spending your time and writting on tripavisor. Your review helps our future guests and also us to know the honest point of view of our guests.
Hope to see you again in the future. All our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 223 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2006

At first sight Arolithos is a cretan village, and actually it is! Above you have the reception near the "market place" with a small orthodox church/chapel. Then you have two "main" streets descending alongside the hill with small houses each completely different in shape and style. Everywhere plants and flowers giving the little extra to make it fantastic! The houses are in fact the rooms. Down there is a little local museum (hotel residents have a reduced price) Further there are some handicrafts boutique, a blacksmith and the restaurant with approx. A meter higher than the market place. The total aspect is really nice and cosy. A boutique hotel with real charm, close to the east-west highway of crete, not to far from several beaches and from Heraklion city and airport.
The restaurant is in the summer season outside and situated approx 1 m above the market place. The prices compared to other restaurants at Heraklion area are honnest, certainly not more expensive. The food is very good, service friendly and the bottles of housewine are reasonable in price and excellent!
During the weekend from Friday - Sunday there is a good chance that there is a wedding going on. All tables of the wedding are dessed on the market place, and it gives a fantastic ambiance! The more that from the restaurant level of the guests you overview the full party. It should mentionned that the restaurant service does not suffer at all as othe servers handling the parties. Also (the room where I was at least) did not at all suffer from noise.
During the week there were some folkore dancers . A group of tourists outside the hotel were having a spectacle/dinner. As restaurant guest you to take advantage of it and free of charge!
The rooms are large in size and they were clean. Room maintenance is ok.
There are no facilities as television and even no telephone. But this is not a major item, however due to the climate you are badly lacking a fridge!

The bathroom with actually a shower is rather small. The uses of natural stones for construction is nice, but with the water of the shower it tends to color somewhat, which gives a first impression that it could be cleaner, but actually it is clean.
The technical maintenance is another item, and here I have remarks. The attachement of the shower was broken (apparently since a long time), so you neeeded to hold yourself the shower. The stop of the wash basin was unexisting.
The room airco situated near the bed was a little noisy and "used" but working. The beds bottoms were with a "lattoflex" of loose wooden pieces, which sometime fell down. And on the nice little terrace where you can enjoy the sunset, the chairs mentionned on the website, were unexisting, so you needed each time to take out the inside chairs.
The hotel is not providing a swimming pool, but it is not the style of resort for this. Perhaps it would take some charm away.
Sports, you do in climbing up and down the streets to get to your room! Note that some elderly people have difficulties, certainly when you need to take yr luggage! (Note that people with walking difficulties are not really suitable for this kind of hotel)

CONCLUSIONS
The plus points:
-Arolithos is simply a nice and cosy charm hotel. I am not surprised that some days a tour car stops there to visit Arolithos! Concept is fantastic, and you enjoy staying there. The village is really something else than the concrete hotel buildings!
-The restaurant is fair: an excellent price / quality factor.
- Rooms are big and clean
The minus points:
-The breakfast served in another place could be improved. The orange juice is made with syrup and the limited choice is staying everyday exactly the same.
-Technical maintenance is the weakest area. This could be significantly improved.
-A fridge is really missing in the rooms
A neutral point:
- Believe that the hotel is not suitable for people with walking problems. Climbing the long stairs in the streets can be tiring for elderly and certainly for handicapped.

Final conclusion: Arolithos is a very nice place and the few inconveniences do not spoil the pleasure of being there!

Stayed: October 2004
7  Thank Jean-Pierre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear guest.
Many thanks for writing on tripadvisor. We appreciate your honest review and we will work on the matters that make things better and improve the services. All our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2005

I stayed in this hotel in June 2005. The room was dirty, noisy (music for all the night, due to a marriage in the hotel), with oppressive heat (30 C degrees) and air conditionned inadequate... Not possible to have a shower: too few water from water taps...

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank viaggiatore-perenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear guest.
Many thanks for your review on tripadvisor. The honest expression of your experience will help us to improve our services in future. All our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Rania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Guest Relations Manager at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank kandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Guest Relations Manager at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _Giorgos_GR_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Guest Relations Manager at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Guillaume X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Guest Relations Manager at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
6 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,846 reviews
5.9 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,775 reviews
5.7 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.9 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
682 reviews
5.9 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
5.5 mi away
Iraklion Hotel
Iraklion Hotel
#16 of 58 in Heraklion
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village

Address: 11th km Palaia Ethniki Odos Irakleiou Rethymnou, Heraklion, Crete 71500, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Heraklion
Price Range: $36 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village is really a very special case. It is a hotel at the form of an old village of Crete. Constructed at the form of an old village it travels us back to the past times. The rooms are very standard but with the necessary services. There is a magnificent swimming pool with a breathtaking view over the city of Heraklion and the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village Hotel Heraklion
Arolithos Hotel Heraklion
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing