We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village
Ranked #1 of 8 Heraklion B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for the first two nights of our holiday in spite of reading one or two negative comments. When we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised. This place is based on a traditional Cretan village with all the slight imperfections you would expect to find in such a place. Yes, there are weeds growing in some of the flower beds and the doors & windows rattle in the wind and there are a few cracked paving stones but what would you expect in a real village? We were there on a Wednesday night for the weekly Cretan evening with Cretan music and dancers, 25 Euros for a huge meal and as much wine as you could drink!
We enjoyed the place so much that when were halfway through out trip round Crete and found we were slightly ahead of ourselves, we booked another two nights at the end of the holiday.
Staff were all friendly and helpful and we were treated as welcome guests, not simply as room occupants. Food in the taverna was superb.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear guest
We thank you very much for your review.
It is nice to hear that you had a nice experience in Arolithos and you enjoyed your stay.
Your opinion is important and it will help other guests to plan their holidays.
Arolithos is really an exceptional place. Its character is very particular and we try as much as possible to keep authentic elements of the past life style.
We hope that one day we will see you again in Arolithos and we will be able to offer you a pleasant stay.
All our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 212 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Charming construction but would need serious refreshment as well in the common parts than in the rooms. Not clean and many things neglected. Staff was friendly and welcoming. You need a car if you want to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cvxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for the review on tripadvisor. Havinh your opinion we are able to know your point of view and be able to improve our services for a better result to our guests. It is true that in our place we have many trees and plants and all around there are gardens. We have many leaves fallen from the trees and especially when there is wind we have to face a ''naturally'' dirty surround. However we have the proper personnel and we do work as well ourselves very hard to keep our place into a good clean leave. We are really very sorry if we did not manage to reach your expectations. Thank you once more and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012. The price was great and the reviews and pictures were mostly favorable, so we decided to take a chance on the location. We rented a car upon arrival to Heraklion. It is a 10 -15 minute drive from the airport to Arolithos. The road leading to the hotel is narrow and winding and a bit treacherous. (We soon found that most of the roads outside of the main cities on Crete are the same. DRIVERS BEWARE!)
The hotel itself seems to be a bit of an afterthought. The "village" seems to be primarily used for local celebrations and parties. It is also home to a few artists and can be a tourist stop for those who want to see what a traditional Cretan village may have looked like.
The rooms are clean but very plain (which I understand IS traditional) and are lacking 'a woman's touch'. There were some issues with our shower and the bathroom fixtures were turning green from natural oxidation. I would suggest a shower curtain, newer bathroom fixtures, larger and thicker towels, extra pillows, and nicer bedding to make this place perfect. The pool was amazing.
The restaurant was good, but a bit pricey. THEY HAVE TERRIBLE COFFEE with breakfast and very expensive BAD coffee for a $$ fee. The breakfast was standard for Europe and Greece. However, sitting for a meal on the patio overlooking the pool in the evening is enchanting and very relaxing.
The music from the Greek parties did not bother me. I found the music delightful and thought it added added to the ambiance.
This is a great place for people looking for a quiet retreat from the touristy experience in the beach towns and cities of Crete.
Take note:
There are goats, sheep and livng things all around the area. This place is truly in the country!
Do not attempt this location without your own transportation.
Do not attempt this location if you have difficulty walking up and down stairs, or up hill.
There is wifi only in and around the Taverna.

Room Tip: Ask to be lower in the village, away from the noise.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelingfamily2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear guest.
Arolithos is really an unusual place if somebody combares it with the classical hotels or tourist resorts. Our services is a combination of hosting, organising events and conserving the traditional elements of the beautifull island of Crete. We are very proud for that because local people choose Arolithos as one of the better venues for events and celebrations.
We really feel very sorry that some of the servvices did not covered your needs or standards. It is good to know that you could tell us immediatelly what the problem was and we would do more than our best to solve it.
We keep the rate in a standard level so the majority of people to afford them.
We thank you once more and we hope to see you again in the future.
All our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My partner and I have just spent the best 2 weeks holiday of our lives here! Everyone works exceptionally hard to make it a holiday to remember. There is nothing we could complain about. We came here stressed from a hectic life in the Uk and soon found ourselves relaxing amongst the beautful scenery and peaceful surroundings. Yes, there were private celebrations taking place at the weekends but the manager of the hotel was considerate enough to put us far away from the venue that we weren't bothered by noise. One event was a wedding reception for a thousand people. We were amazed at the organisation and preparation that went into it but it was truly stunning.
Everything here is "Traditional", the rooms, the taverna and the food. All of it a wonderful experience. The pool is something else! Fantastic!
We are both well travelled people and rarely go back to holiday destinations but you can bet your bottom dollar Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village will be seeing us again......soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear quests,
We thank you very much for coming in Crete and staying in Arolithos Village Hotel.
It was really very impressing that you made your reservation many months before your arrival and that you choosen only one hotel even if you had such a long stay.
This makes as feeling very good about what we do and how our people receive it.
We know that some of our services or infrostutre should be in a better level but we really work gradually on improving our standards.
We thank you very much for your review once again. I am more than sure that it will help future guests to decide about their choice.
We appreciate the fact that you offered your precious time to write about our services.
We will be glad to see you again in Arolithos whenever you decide. Crete is waiting for you. The whole island is really a wonderfull place to be!!!!!
All our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The people are very helpful and friendly. If you are limited funds and cannot afford your own set of wheels this is not the place for you. It is far away from most of the stuff tourists want to see. The busses on crete are not regular and do not come to Arolithos often. The breakfast was not very good, flaccid cornflakes not quite fresh deli meat. The dinner was great though, and the taverna has a great view of the valley and olive groves. They have resident cats, dog and a parrot, so if you do not like animals milling about when you are eating, do not go here. (I liked that part actually.:)) The rooms are average clean, but are not soundproof. Most nights when they have traditional Cretan dancing you are not allowed to go down and watch. They are considered 'private parties', but you can't sleep until they are over either. All in all I would suggest not staying at this hotel, but I would recommend a daytrip/dinner. There are many interesting shops to browse too.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. If you have too, get one well away from the taverna/reception area.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aariley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear guest,
We thank you very much for spending your time and writing on trip advisor.
Your honest review will help new guests to know in advance about our place.
It is also necessary when we judge something to take both positive and negative sites and display a more general picture. Arolithos as an idea is unique and of course as any organisation it has both advantages and disadvantages. Sometime the most simple things are not obvious when you work many hard and without any stop. Anyway nothing in this world is perfect.
Additionally it would be more than helpfull if you could talk to us directly and solve any problem caused on the spot. We are always willing to listen to our guests suggestions and make their stay comfortable.
I hope in another time we will reach the standards of your demands.
Our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We loved this place. We were two adult brother and sister and two adult nieces. We saved it for the end of an 18 trip that included Athens, Milos, and Istanbul. Boy were we sick of Greek food by then however Arolithos cheered our weary travel spirits. We had already enjoyed our family traditional home in Tripiti on Milos so were so pleased to find that Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village was just as authentic as the real deal. The sound of sheep grazing was a real kick....the little bells around their necks...the views were spectacular..a patchwork quilt of grapevine and olive orchards..that was really unexpected. At first we were disappointed that we were not by the sea, but immediately forgot as we looked out from our terrace at the view. The little shops opened even though it was Easter to our delight. We met the artists there and so enjoyed the musicians during out long late dinners. These were "H parea tou Yakinthou" and were delightful. The only true disappointment was the time of year. The pool was empty, some outdoor things were covered in ugly tarps and the place seemed rather deserted however, that was great for us as it was a peaceful retreat at the end of a long trip. We received helpful information for our visit to Knossos that saved us some trouble on our arrival there. I would go again but later in the spring or early summer in order to fully benefit from the great work Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village has done to pull together a wonderful local experience for the weary traveler. Oh...the beds...oddly, all the beds we slept in on our trip in all the hotels were hard, but we slept like babes somehow.

Room Tip: I tried to email about the bed accommodations but still ended up having to change to a family suite...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear guests,
We thank you very much for spending your time writting on tripadvisor. I am sure that many people will find intereting and helpful your point of view. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay even if one or two things were not at the standard of your demands.
It is true that many things are not yet in order since we gradually proceed to the summer season. There are some areas of Arolithos that are not yet in full operation. We will be very glad to host you again in future. Each period has a different character, has a different level of occupancy and of course available services. What I could suggest to you and any other potential guest or visitor, is to contact us and ask about what will be available during a future stay. In such a case you will know in advance waht you can do here and you what you cannot. Imagine that there are also workshops, traditional events,social events and many more things to do and participate in order to enrich your experience and have a wider image of cretan tradition. We will be at your disposal any time. We thank you once again for staying in Arolithos and we hope to see you again. Thanks again for reviewing !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This little 'traditional' village in the mountains near Iraklion was a welcome breath of fresh air after the bustle of the city. The little apartment was very quiet and comfortable. The bathroom had quirky plumbing but was fine. We were almost the only guests in the taverna and though there was no choice of food we were given a decent meal with very friendly waitress. The village is set up as a tourist attraction and geared up for cruise ship visitors etc. with shops and traditionally dressed staff for atmosphere.

Out of season visitors will find the taverna with no choice of menu and few other customers. The breakfast was served in the 'coffee shop' and wasn't very good, though I'm sure the summer season guests would have a better choice in the taverna.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear guests of Arolithos Village Hotel.
Many thanks for writting on TripAdvisor. You really help us very much to know your point of view. It is true that when there are just few guests in the hotel it is not easy to have a full menu or even big choice of dishes. The cost is high and the products cannot be fresh in a daily basis. The dishes of the menu are plenty and it would have no meaning to have everything available but not possibility to be consumed. So we prefer to offer just a couple of things but keeping them fresh and of good quality for the guests. The breakfast is offered in the coffee shop when the hotel has just a few rooms to serve. It is not the big buffet with the full breakfast but at least it has basic products. It is again a matter of cost.. Arolithos is a place of cultural interest regarding the Cretan Tradition. It is a sightseeing in the area of Heraklion. There is a folklore museum the houses and many other elements of Cretan culture. We are very proud to offer our work on the culture of the island. At the same time, young children from schools and even tourist they visit Arolithos because it is a sample of the villages in Crete. We really thank you very much for staying in Arolithos and we will also be very glad if you visit us again when you will return back to the beautiful island of Crete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
20.8 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 13 in Panormos
130 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#25 of 32 in Amoudara
409 reviews
63.4 mi away
Hotel Eleftheria
Hotel Eleftheria
#14 of 31 in Agia Marina
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.9 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 35 in Elounda
225 reviews
12.4 mi away
Marilisa Hotel
Marilisa Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
62 reviews
6.9 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village

Address: 11th km Palaia Ethniki Odos Irakleiou Rethymnou, Heraklion, Crete 71500, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Heraklion
Price Range: $31 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village is really a very special case. It is a hotel at the form of an old village of Crete. Constructed at the form of an old village it travels us back to the past times. The rooms are very standard but with the necessary services. There is a magnificent swimming pool with a breathtaking view over the city of Heraklion and the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village Hotel Heraklion
Arolithos Hotel Heraklion
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing