We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village
Ranked #1 of 6 Heraklion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weesp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Excellent kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

I have not had the pleasure to stay in the hotel-village near Heraklion, but with our International Community we had an excellent lunch in April in the Taverna. The staff was very friendly and the menu was almost full available in this low season. Cretan and Greek kitchen is the main list of the menu, but also a steak is in the card. Apperantly they also have Greek/Cretan dance evenings as I saw a stage with speakers erady. I also recommend it for passing through travellers, for example your last night on Crete before going to the ferry or airplane from Heraklion, since Arolithos traditional village is nearby.

Room Tip: the place looks very clean and the rooms in bungalow type. Not seen the inside but I presume spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
We thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the fact that you offered your precious time to write about our services. We will be glad to see you again in Arolithos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    66
    28
    9
    15
See reviews for
28
92
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Arolithos is a small village with the atmosphere of an old traditional cretean village. It is situated on a hill about 10 km far away from Heraklion, so it's the perfect place if you want to avoid the confusion, the traffic and the noise of the city.
Rooms are very simple but with everything you really need: air conditioning, fridge, bathroom with shower.
There's also a nice pool where you can enjoy after a day spent walking in Cnosso Palace, which is easily accessible by car. In a pretty tavern it is possible to eat some good plates of meat, enjoying an amazing view and drinking something fresh under olives trees.
Every morning there's a breakfast buffet not bad at all.
Almost every evening a big area of the village hosts private weddings with live music and dancing.
We paid 60 euro per night per room so we would suggest to everyone Arolithos Village

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sh0gun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear guests,
We thank you very much for writing a review to trip advisor. Arolithos is a place with many services and our goal is to keep the traditional elements of Crete. It is really nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. All our best regards and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Located away from the crowd in a nice country side. relaxing atmosphere in a BEUTIFUL reproduction of an ancient cretan village. It was so beutiful that buses of tourists often come to the hotel for a visit. Rooms are essentials but clean. Cheap cost compared to the place. Definitively a place to recommend and where to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauroCatania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear guest,
We thank you very much for writing on trip advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Arolithos. We hope that we will see you again in the future. All our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukovica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

it is one of the first traditional style resorts in Greece. Village is bult from remains of the old stone houses. There is also an etnographic museum, 5 artists who are working and seling their products, During the busiest period they organize on Wednesdays Crete day with music , dance ect, at the end of the weekends there are wedings in the chapel...interesting place to be!
there is a nice swiming pool also.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank izi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear guest. Arolithos is really an unusual place if somebody combares it with the classical hotels or tourist resorts. Our services is a combination of hosting, organising events and conserving the traditional elements of the beautifull island of Crete. We keep the rate in a standard level so the majority of people to afford them. We thank you once more and we hope to see you again in the future. All our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

Our directions were a little unclear but we eventually found the village. We entered through a gate into a greek village. The receptionist was very friendly and walked us to our rooms, which was good because it is a little confusing at first to figure out where you are going. Taking all of our luggage to the room was a little challenging because of the stairs. The rooms were basic but the atmosphere was great. We only stayed one night but it was a nice taste of traditional greek living. We had an early flight so we didn't get to try the breakfast, dinner was OK but nothing exceptional. I would recommend one night just for the atmosphere.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — rustic bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KB231blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear guest,
We thank you very much for spending your time and writing on trip advisor. Your honest review will help new guests to know in advance about our place. I hope in another time we will reach the standards of your demands. Our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
473 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

Want no sleep, Book this hotel! J&J Cape Town, South Africa

We booked this hotel via the Internet - based on customer reviews. Quoted as being close (15kms) to airport, we booked to have a good night's rest before our international flight.

Well - try and sleep through a Greek Baptism celebration! It is impossible unless you are deaf! This hotel caters for very large
Greek functions - this is not mentioned when you book although we were told that an e-mail is sent out informing guests of a function before arrival. I have gone thru all my e-mails for the past month - no e-mail re the function.

We asked to change rooms - the new room was slightly quieter but the air-con was not working and the basin poured water straight onto the bathroom floor instead of into a drain! So we returned to our original room and the Greek party sounds. If we had not required any sleep, it could have been fun to watch this very important aspect of Greek life.

The hotel is "Budget" - Poorly furnished in basic style, shower head (hand-held!) fell off, no spare toilet roll, not serviced on the day we were there, the breakfast was extremely poor despite being advertised as a "Rich" Buffet.

Advertised as a typical Cretan Village, it would be good if they also advertised the noise from the typical "Village Square"

We were given a discount of 1 night (luckily we had to leave at 18.00hrs so escaped from the second huge baptism function on the second night.) Receptionist apologised but as these functions appear to be the main business of the hotel, all guests should, in our opinion, be forewarned.

The directions provided are also not clear for first-time visitors.

All in all, not an experience to be repeated.

  • Liked — Good idea but main focus is not on guests comfort but rather profit from functions
  • Disliked — The noise, the basic room facilities, the breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaapie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear guest
Many thanks for your review. It is really true that in some occassions the live music is a serious problem because it makes the night sleep hard. At the same time many people find that watching a live event with many traditions of the island and sharing the happiness of the new couple is also a unique experience. There are many months in the year were the place is so peacefull that your really enjoy the silence and the nature. It is true that in summer, especially the weekends Arolithos is busy all day and night. We hope that another time in a low period you will enjoy the quiet atmosphere. All our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

I chose to stay at Arolithos to experience the Cretan culture rather than just stay at any old hotel. I am glad I stayed there, but I was also glad that I had only booked 2 nights there.

The village itself is quite charming, the receptionist was extremely friendly, breakfast was adequate, dinner in the restaurant was very inexpensive and delicious. On Wednesday nights (at least in May) they have Cretan Entertainment - dancers perform traditional Cretan/Greek dances, there's live music, all you can drink wine with a set dinner menu - all for 30 euros a person. I showed up late, wasn't very hungry, but thought it was still worth it.

Our room, on the other hand, wasn't that charming - it had stone floors that were peeling (flaking pieces of the polish were stuck to my feet constantly), the shower head holder was broken, the first day the shower water temp was fine, but the second day it kept changing drastically from warm to scolding hot to cold, the soap holder was missing the holder part and was just a metal frame that was useless, some tiles in the bathroom were missing, the flimsy plastic toilet seat moved every time I sat on it, there was a refrigerator in our room but it was unplugged and smelled bad, the tv was small but it worked.

Also, if you stay here, you should have a rental car. One way from Arolithos to Heraklion (port, airport, or bus station) will cost you 15-17 euros from an honest taxi driver (which I found rare in Crete, so rare, that when I did find an honest one, I got his cell number so I could call him for future rides), or 25 euros from the taxi drivers looking to rip off the next tourist. There is a bus stop right across from Arolithos, but it only shows up 4 times a day to take you to Heraklion, and the time I tried to take it, it was 30 minutes late.

I recommend visiting Arolithos, perhaps book a room there on Cretan Entertainment night, but not for a long term stay.

  • Liked — charming village, friendly service
  • Disliked — old bathrooms, need a rental car for the location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank purpleflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear guest.
We thank you very much for your review. It is good to know that for some of our guests this style is not what they expect. This helps us to decide about the future and make improvents that will meet the needs of more demanding guest who are also able to afford a higher level of rate.
We thank you again for writing on trip advisor and we hope to see you again in the future. All our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
20.8 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
38.9 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#27 of 32 in Amoudara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
63.4 mi away
Hotel Eleftheria
Hotel Eleftheria
#11 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village

Property: Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village
Address: 11th km off Old National Road, Heraklion, Crete 71500, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village is really a very special case. It is a hotel at the form of an old village of Crete. Constructed at the form of an old village it travels us back to the past times. The rooms are very standard but with the necessary services. There is a magnificent swimming pool with a breathtaking view over the city of Heraklion and the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village Hotel Heraklion
Arolithos Hotel Heraklion
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing