We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way a 4* hotel”
Review of Hersonissos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hersonissos Hotel
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Reviewed September 28, 2013

When we arrived they tried to put us in the annex, but as we read reviews about this on trip advisor we refused to go. The owner came out & offered us a night in a 5* hotel, although this turned out to be 30 mins away. To be honest this hotel in Gouves was lovely with plenty going on, although quite clearly on the front it stated 4* not 5. After promising to pick us up next day at 9.30am, they didn't turn up 'til 12 noon, a morning wasted sat round waiting for them to turn up. When we arrived back we were put in a tiny room smelling of cigarette smoke. My husband went to reception refusing this room, so we put in a suite, not as nice as it sounds. 2 rooms & a tiny bathroom. The middle was almost empty of furniture but did have a fridge. This room was 205p, avoid as although in the hotel, it is a good 10 mins walk from the main hotel, upstairs, down corridors & over walk ways!! The hotel, restaurant, bar & pool area were spotless but the rooms were tatty & dusty. The food was very canteen & never very hot. The best thing about this hotel was the staff, they were lovely, helpful, very friendly & worked very hard. As AI we expected plenty to do & some entertainment at night, nothing going on, very boring. Crete is a lovely country& there are many lovely hotels, just avoid this one.

Room Tip: I have been told rooms overlooking the pool are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 413 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked a flight/hotel package from Easyjet and chose above hotel.
Decided to up-front most of costs, so chose All inclusive accomodation. Hotel situated with a short stroll to the beach and had it,s own 2 pools with grassed area to relax in. Pool bar had good choice of food and drinks with part of the week having Entertainment around the main pool area.
Reception, Management and staff all courteous,friendly and helpful. Our room [Double room] was comfortable, spacious good storage and linen, towels changed daily.
Restuarant was nicely furnished adequate sitting area's with self service for all meals. The Hotel Chef spoke with diners in the Restuarant, food was replenished during servings and we enjoyed most of the changing menu during the week and a special note to confirm all meat was cooked just as we liked - tender meat that 'fell off the fork' and tasted as soft and nice as you would want.
To conclude; the Hotel was good, well maintained including all service area's pools etc and we were impressed with the ongoing cleaning by the staff of the Hotel during our stay.
Temperatures in the 80's with nice calming cool breezes to help the daily heat, nights were warm and the mornings pleasant before sunbathing commenced! Would recommend as a good 4 star hotel with not much to moan or find fault with from us.
Great week, we have a tan to come back with for end of month going into October!

Room Tip: Try for a sea view - what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1of2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived on the 25th of september 2013 at 6am after a 9 hr flight delay(not the best of starts!). The night porter on reception welcomed us,told us all about the all inclusive rules etc,then told us the news we'd been dreading,"tonight you will stop in hotel across the road".a security guard then showed us to our hotel for the night. it was like a 1960s hostel,holes in curtains,concrete beds with matress on top,soaking wet bathroom floor and to top it all off we were overlooking what looked like a rubbish tip by now my girlfrenid was in tears.We were told to go back at 12pm the next day and we would be put in the main hotel.they showed us 2 rooms,none of them were 4 star more like 2 star.the lady was quite helpful at the desk and said we could have a nicer room the next day,but buy now we just wanted to unpack and start our holiday,so we just put up with it.Reception area,resturant have been updated quite nice,but the food very poor.not much choice,pork dish every day and no lables to tell you what it was.we both like trying different foods but this awful.even had to wait 30 mins some nights to get a table.anyway we ate out a lot and found a lovely sandwich shop just outside the rear of hotel,the bar was good though nice staff,plenty of choice.Theres also no snack bar.herronissos is nice and the boat trip to sissi was great fun 20 euro pp for 5 hrs. would go to heronissos again but never to this hotel.evey one we spoke to had the the same problem getting put in hostel like rooms! anyway we made the most of it weather was fantastic and made some great freinds,but PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE dont go to this hotel.needs regrading not a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: pool rooms looked to be better, sunny all afternoon.stay away from promo rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I went for a week on arrival I was told they had no rooms and I had to sleep in the reception and was asked to pay 10 euros for my breakfast even though I was all inclusive, others were sent to near by hotels to sleep only and you had to eat and drink here and use their pool, entertainment was greek dancing for 1 1/2 hours and 2 seperate karaoke nights both lasting 1 1/2 hrs and an old man playing an organ that you could not hear, (thank god) if you like fish fingers and burgers for dinner this is the place for you, there is nothing to do during the day unless you go out the beach is just rocks unless you walk for about 30 mins and is so small one wave covered the whole beach and soaked everyone on it,, I would sooner of stayed at home but if you do go the best club locally is the Havannah,,,, you have to check at at 12.00 and then all food or drinks you have to pay for,, I have never experienced such a sham in all my holidays this is the very worst,, never again will I ever go to Greece again this place put me off Greece for life, all staff are very unhelpful and miserable ALWAYS,,, good luck if you decide to go

Room Tip: don't bother asking for a certain room you wont get it I am disabled my first room took me 15 mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived at 10pm 27th August 2013, person on the front desk not very pleasant, first room we were shown to was so small the two single beds were head to head, the bathroom was very dirty had not been cleaned, the balcony flooring was breaking up and very dirty. We complained the person on the desk said for us to move to the only other room they had available, this room had mould growing on one wall, the bathroom was dirty and had seen better days, most of the staff were friendly, but I had a an item taken from our room this which was to be worn for my Daughters wedding two days later, the staff were not helpful and seen unconcern, this item could not be replaced and was very upsetting. We were under the impression that this was 4* all inclusive hotel we only ate breakfast which consisted of boiled eggs and toast, most of the food was bland and luke warm we paid nearly £1,200 for 1 week not for cheep or cheerful the Travel agents should state that 4* means location not the hotel. The town Hersonissos is a lovely friendly place to go would recommend a holiday in Crete .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArnieGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went as a couple, lovely food- thought mostly Greek so maybe awkward for children etc...
Pool area was nice though a little small, beach so close & lovely there.Go to Alia beach on the beach as the recommended strip by the hotel (No Name) is expensive for drinks & sunbeds. Alia bar gives free wifi/ laptop to use & cheap sunbeds& drinks with lovely food& staff !
Wonderful staff, very helpful, didn't have a problem with them all holiday.
Had a lovely room in the main hotel, amply size, nice balcony, small fridge, cleaned every day faultless. Can't talk for other guests who did seemed to be moved around numerous times in sister hotels which didn't seem acceptable at all.
Only complaint would be that the gym was very small so my boyfriend wasn't too pleased
Lovely excursion place just up from the hotel on the main street my rent-a-cars, good service & feel excursion if you book more than two.
Loads of great trips including day trips to sanotrini, spinalonga, boat trips, water park & herkalion market & city tour.& protected island day out in chrissi island... I did all of these with my boyfriend for about 410 euros, some including drinks & lunch well worth doing so you can explore the island &others properly. If you are up early for an excursion tell reception they will give you a packed lunch & open the breakfast room early for you which is a big bonus.
Lovely Pandora shop on the main strip by beach, cheaper than back home as tax free so well worth a look.
Definitely a value for money holiday, would recommend to anybody!

Room Tip: Refuse to move rooms, main hotel is the best sister ones are apparently horrendous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWales2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

2 women 1 child. on arrival after a long journey we were given a diabolical prison cell like room in another hotel across the street. We had to drag our luggage 800 yards to this 'sister' hotel; which was certainly not a 4*. There was no room to put our luggage, the balcony was roughly 4-4 foot, overlooking a dumping yard. Went to complain was told to come back in the afternoon, after 20 hour of waiting we were finally taken seriously & then given a s/c apartment across the road. There was no facilities we have to walk everyday to use our pool and to eat in the restaurant. This is certainly not an all inclusive hotel. There are no bar snack during the day at all, ice cream had to be paid for. the only free drinks were beer, local vodka, brandy, whisky and ouzo. only soft drinks available, lemonade, cola, and orange. juiced orange or concentrsted orange was extra, no bottles of water were available either. Entertainment in the evening was available was twice in 9 days. At 6 in the evening a danny davito lookalike a 'mr nikos salstrous' was extremely rude and arrogant. He did not know the meaning of a service with a smile. he was known to offer young females sex in the back room of the bar. his sarcasm was uncalled for and he lacked an interpersonal skills, as a barman he could not even poor a decent drink as the cup was half full. Crete is such a beautiful place and the beach tenders were ever so helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.1 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#84 of 172 in Hersonissos
850 reviews
14.4 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
18.5 mi away
Hotel LiLi
Hotel LiLi
#19 of 58 in Heraklion
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel
Golden Bay Hotel
#25 of 58 in Heraklion
45 reviews
14.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,769 reviews
14.3 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hersonissos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersonissos Hotel

Address: Filonidou Zotou 14, Heraklion, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Heraklion
#10 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $62 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hersonissos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hersonissos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hersonissos Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing